World of Tanks is a team-based massively multiplayer online game dedicated to armored warfare in the mid-20th century. Throw yourself into epic tank battles shoulder to shoulder with other steel cowboys to dominate the world with tank supremacy! An advanced system of vehicle upgrade and development allows you to try out the vehicles and weapons featured in the game. Whether you prefer to exhaust your foes with fast and maneuverable light tanks, punch deep into enemy lines with all-purpose medium tanks, use the power of heavy tanks to eliminate opposing forces, or become a high-powered sniper using long-range artillery, each unit type is extremely lethal and effective when commanded by a true tank ace. It takes more than just being a great tank commander to win. In World of Tanks, it's all about teamwork. Victory can only be achieved through the combined efforts of every member of the team, each playing their own role on the battlefield.

Review RSS Feed ComradeWinston says
5 ComradeWinston

Nov 4th, 2013 3 people agree 0 people don't

A relatively ****** game that was only good because there was nothing else like it.

They ingeniously shoved mobile artillery in it, higher tier tanks are nigh impossible to maintain due to extreme repair costs, and well... meh. There's just nothing good about it.

λpone says
7 λpone

Apr 26th, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Pretty fun

Cody17 says
10 Cody17

Feb 26th, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

best mmog i ever played

HTRK74JR says
10 HTRK74JR

May 6th, 2012 3 people agree 2 people don't

excellent game. i have almost 1000 matches in it, and im still considered new to the game. the graphics are amazing, but the atchmaking could use some work.

Sgt_Prof says
9 Sgt_Prof

Feb 18th, 2012 2 people agree 1 person doesn't

good game, but not very easy.

Rambo987 says
10 Rambo987

Dec 30th, 2013 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

Great game, MM could use a bit of tweaking, but definitely worth playing.

strike_07 says
10 strike_07

Oct 23rd, 2013 1 person agrees 1 person doesn't
This review may contain spoilers

this game is excellent, from any point of view
since I began to play it (for several days) has left me "hooked", and I have not stopped playing

POORBOY13 says
10 POORBOY13

Jan 13th, 2013 1 person agrees 1 person doesn't

Great game. What I love is the balance. I don't pay a cent and I can still manage to defeat a premium tank. Graphics are good. Gameplay is fun. What else do you want? You just have to make sure you're playing for fun, not to win. If you play to win, you're going to be very mad most of the time because whether you win/lose depends entirely of whether you have a good team or not, and that is more or less random. Just have fun, and you will.

Admiral_Breaker says
9 Admiral_Breaker

Apr 11th, 2012 1 person agrees 1 person doesn't

The game is amazing but a battle can become very one-sided. It happens but I have seen and participated in battles where my side thought were were going to lose but we won!

Shoot_me says
4 Shoot_me

Dec 12th, 2011 3 people agree 4 people don't

World of Tanks is an XP/credit grind based game that has more in common with your basic first person shooter game (i.e. Counter-Strike) than what it is advertised as being: MMO. What is worse is that unlike even your average shooter, balance is thrown out the window in this game, either to promote what is essentially a pay-2-win model this game has, or to weed out all but the most diehard enthusiast and paying customers.

Unlike what you might expect from an MMO game, this particular “MMO” basically revolves around getting plopped into a map with a handful of tanks against another handful of tanks. Last team standing or the first one to capture the other team’s flag wins. Map ends, repair/upgrade/refit and start all over again. Maybe the developers think this is a MMO because you can see how many people are logged into WoT and how many games are running.. like, eh.. Counter-Strike on STEAM, which if we go by WoT’s logic is also an MMO. Or maybe Battlefield BC2, that’d probably be a better example; as you have to level up in that game to gain access to weapons and gadgets as well.

Eh, I’ve put too much effort into this already. Basically, it’s a first-person-shooter style game with tanks. You are able to play for free, but at every corner are heavily encouraged to pay money to “enhance” your experience. For what is a free-2-play game (and what you get for your cash), said purchases ARE NOT cheap; you can easily end up spending much more on this game than one with a one-time upfront cost.

If you are looking for a true MMO, skip this game. You are not going to find epic tank battles being waged set in some huge online world. It’s CS with tanks, and a match maker substituted in for a server browser, not much else (that’s meaningful).

Community Rating

Average

8.4

46 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.