Wing Commander Saga is a free game based on the Freespace 2 Source Code Project. It is based upon the popular Wing Commander series by Chris Roberts and Origin, and features a new story line during the final portion of the Terran Confederations deseprate fight for survivial against the Kilrathi Empire. You assume the role of 2nd Lieutenant David Markham, a recent OCS graduate in an accelerated flight training program. Victory and survival for humanity can only be bought at a terrible cost. Gather your wingmen and your courage and prepare to play your part in humanity's desperate gambit as you face the Kilrathi foe. It is a time where even average men must reach inside themselves and become heroes. Answer the call. Face the enemy. Make your mark as the Confederation faces its darkest dawn.

Review RSS Feed BudokaiMR2 says
10 BudokaiMR2

Mar 26th, 2012 4 people agree 0 people don't

Wing Commander Saga is probably one of the most polished indie releases I have ever seen. I have only played through about half of the campaign(I think) but so far it has had a large variety in the mission structure with very solid combat mechanics. The characters and voice work can be spotty at times but overall it is superb especially considering the sheer volume included in the game.

Any Wing Commander or Space combat sim fan would be silly to miss out on such an amazing free release.

thereneas says
10 thereneas

Mar 24th, 2012 3 people agree 0 people don't

awesome

kuadziw says
10 kuadziw

Apr 29th, 2012 2 people agree 0 people don't

This game is perfect in technical and gameplay terms. If you're fan of Wing Commander universe, you're at home again. Looks like one of my dreams came true - new Wing Commander on polished FS2 engine.
Go and play it, don't waste and more time reading this review :)

Leogracer171 says
10 Leogracer171

Apr 22nd, 2012 2 people agree 0 people don't

It is a master piece, made completely without promise of wealth or fame (well maybe a little fame)and this is what these people have given us, a game that should set a standard for all other games, a game that not only entertains you but immerses you in the galaxy of Wing Commander Saga: Darkest Dawn. YOU ROCK!

FW:ToW_Sushi says
10 FW:ToW_Sushi

Aug 7th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Excellent game. Love the voice acting. Thought that this was brilliant job!!

vfn4i83 says
10 vfn4i83

May 24th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Really bring back memories.

DoctorRoXo says
10 DoctorRoXo

Apr 4th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Do i really need to explain why i gave this a 10, its Wing Commander and....it's free.

TaShadan says
10 TaShadan

Apr 2nd, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

great oldschool Wing Commander game! If you liked the Xwing and TIE Fighter Series or Wing Commander, play this game!

rerive says
10 rerive

Jan 23rd, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

as a first time space sim player, this is is an eye opener for me.
a free game, with story line, action, playability and much much more fun tha anything available for you in the "market" - IN SPACE;)

this universe is immense, storyline and pace of things happening made me actually DREAM about me being a pilot in WCS, and dialogs are movie worthy.
as someone playing since 1993 - best game of my life..will play again, would buy, and do ANYTHING to support projects like that.

don't get me wrong, i do have a job,a family,house and all.and still i believe playing WCS was worth every and each second i spent on it:)

turtleman101 says
10 turtleman101

Dec 24th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

i like space ships

Community Rating

Average

9.6

30 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.