VVVVVV is a retro styled 2D platformer by Terry Cavanagh, creator of dozens of free games. You play as the fearless leader of a team of dimension exploring scientists who inadvertently crash, and are separated. The game involves exploring the strange world you've found yourself in, and reuniting your friends. VVVVVV explores one simple game mechanic: you cannot jump - instead, you reverse your own gravity at the press of a button. The game focuses on playing with this mechanic in a variety of interesting ways. The game is designed not to artificially gate your progress. In VVVVVV there are no locks, no power-ups, no switches, nothing to stop you progressing except the challenges themselves.

RSS feed infinateeff says
10 infinateeff

Nov 26th, 2011 6 people agree 0 people don't

Challenging, frustrating, and insanely evil...Yet probably one of the best games I've played in a long time. It will kill you over and over again, but without leaving you with the feeling of lacking in accomplishment that most repetative deaths do. My only complaint is the controls can either be too sensative, or not enough.

Otherwise the game is fun and simple, the way games used to be. I generally dispise gravity runner type games, but the scenery, simple yet fun plot, combine well with the challenging puzzles with excellent music and graphical presentation.

A must buy!

Goetten says
10 Goetten

May 21st, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

So damn good game! First: The history is simple but very nice, second: The soundtrack is one of the best I've listen in a while... third: The puzzles itselfs are really good!

b3nderz says
10 b3nderz

Apr 10th, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Very good platformer.

Renusek says
10 Renusek

Mar 11th, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Great adventure, nice plot and awesome soundtrack.

andreihaiducul says
10 andreihaiducul

Nov 7th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

It's surprisingly difficult, considering the simple controls, but extremely satisfying. Loved it!

theJar says
10 theJar

Oct 10th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

The first time I played this game, I fell in love with it. The fantastic music and the awesome style of the game are just two of the major reasons I love it so much. The gameplay is fast paced, difficult, and a ton of fun. I have yet to try more custom levels, but from what little I've played around with the level editor it's easy to use and functional. I very highly recommend this game and it is very easily worth the $5 you would be spending on it.

ShogunPlus says
10 ShogunPlus

Sep 14th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers


Mimness says
10 Mimness

May 14th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

This is an amazingly addictive, engaging game! It makes me alternatively want to hug the creator, or hit him in the head with a hammer.
Fantastic! 10/10

Timilon says
10 Timilon

Mar 9th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Fantastic platformer. Simple yet challenging and fun.

robobenklein says
10 robobenklein

Aug 23rd, 2015 0 people agree 0 people don't

So basically it's almost as good as Super Hexagon, but with an actual plotline, characters and brilliantly designed challenging levels.

Play the whole thing through and you won't regret it.

Community Rating



331 votes submitted.

You Say


Ratings closed.