It is the year 2084. You control a secret organization charged with defending Earth from a brutal alien enemy. Build up your bases, prepare your soldiers, and lead them to victory in turn-based tactical combat.

Review RSS Feed Andrew_C says
8 Andrew_C

Jan 4th, 2013 1 person agrees 1 person doesn't

An excellent recreation of the X-Com and UFO games, with pretty good multiplayer added. It still lacks a few features such weapons platforms and destructible buildings, and the endgame is IMHO incomplete. Other than that it is IMHO the best of the various X-Com recreations out there and best of all it is free.

One major caveat. 2.4 is heavily outdated. I strongly recommend downloading a build of the 2.5 development branch from the project website, ufoai.org , as it contains many updates improvements and bugfixes and is normally quite stable.

Ianpichu says
8 Ianpichu

Oct 27th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

I give this game an eight of ten because it was practically a remaster of X Com: UFO Defense. Polished graphics and different mechanics set it apart from the original X Com, and I think this is pretty good.

coleslaw35 says
8 coleslaw35

Oct 15th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

Great game! Similar to X-Com, which was frickin' amazing. Plus, IT'S FREE. COMPLETELY FREE. WHY ARE YOU NOT GETTING IT. If you have gotten it, hats off to you.

RyuShinomori says
8 RyuShinomori

Sep 27th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

Great adaptation of a classic with more options and a graphics overhaul. Even with the new release coming I would reccomend this to anyone who enjoys this type of experience.

DarkMajor21 says
8 DarkMajor21

Mar 14th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

It is a very fun game. The bugs got to me after awhile tho.

DaCruise says
8 DaCruise

Feb 7th, 2012 1 person agrees 1 person doesn't

Having played pretty much every X-COM game as well as the UFO-series, Aftermath, Aftershock and Afterlight I was unsure of how to approach Alien Invasion cause I hadnt heard of it before and the developers were new.
To be honest I didnt expect much, thus the pleasure of playing this fine game is much greater.

It does have issues, mainly crashes that appers to be pretty random and the ai is not the best imo. That being said I think this game has a lot going for it.

I started playing on hard settings, just because I like a challenge and every single modern game is easy as hell. Needless to say I got schooled pretty hard and had to reduced the difficulty to normal.
In order to make this as short as possible I will just highlight what I personally think is its strongest force:

-The soundtrack!

Its freaking awesome. Even after 30+ missions you still come across new tunes and they are all great, whether its some cool guitar riff or some weird remix of soundtracks from the old Doom game of the movie Aliens. Am I the only one who paid attention to those?
But its not only the music thats great. The combat sounds are fantastic as well and most weapons sound excactly like you want them to sound.

Incredible detail has been put into giving the players multiple eargasms.

Speaking of detail the last time I came across a game with so much text to be read was Planescape Torment. Whenever you research something it takes you 5 mins to read about it. Personally I love it.

picchiopc says
8 picchiopc

Jan 15th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

Gran bel gioco, personalmente mi è molto intrippante tuttavia mostra delle carenze nei comabbitimenti, la dinamica di battaglia non è molto intuitiva e il principiante fatica ad abituarcisi.

Drizzt_ says
8 Drizzt_

Oct 31st, 2011 1 person agrees 1 person doesn't

Game is nice, funny. I remember the fun playing the "original" X-COM. But the crashes will decrease the rating

10 Points for fun
10 Points for nostalgia
2 Points for game stability

pg1982 says
8 pg1982

Dec 23rd, 2010 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

not as good like first ufo, but looks better graphics, good music, great strategy game

tenthspeedwriter says
8 tenthspeedwriter

Dec 13th, 2010 1 person agrees 1 person doesn't

A true soul successor to the X-COM series, and a boon for all of thus who were disappointed with everything after TFTD. It still seems to be in development, but is already incredibly deep and, despite a few bugs, elegantly built.

Community Rating

Average

9.1

492 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.