To the Moon is an RPG/adventure game about two doctors traversing backwards through a dying man's memories, in order to fulfill his last wish of going to the moon. *** Dr. Rosalene and Dr. Watts have rather peculiar jobs: They give people another chance to live, all in their head. But due to the severity of the operation, the new life becomes the last thing the patients remember before drawing their last breath. This story follows their attempt to fulfill the dream of an elderly man, Johnny. With each step back in time, a new fragment of Johnny's past is revealed. As the two doctors piece together the puzzled events that spanned a life time, they seek to find out just why the frail old man chose his dying wish to be what it is. And Johnny's last wish is, of course... to go to the moon. [The game is an unconventional RPG/adventure game hybrid with no battles/grinding. Game-play consists of acquiring mementos to travel through memories via various means.]

Review RSS Feed Henley says
9 Henley

Nov 1st, 2011 9 people agree 0 people don't

Fantastic title, both the music and story are first class. Would recommend To the Moon to everyone with an ounce of humanity!

cobaltfang says
9 cobaltfang

Jul 4th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Absolutely phenomenal game; the story was well written, the nerdy humor was a high point for me, the soundtrack never seemed out of place, and the game was highly visually appealing to me. It was also nice to play an rpg without a heavy emphasis on combat for a change; I would love to see a similar style of play in more story driven games in the future.

The only reason I didn't give this a perfect score was that at times, the controls felt awkward and clumsy; having the option to switch between mouse and keyboard walking would have been nice.

All in all, a wonderful game that I feel anyone who believes that video games are an art form should play at least once. Excellent work, development team!

nosef says
9 nosef

Apr 14th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Really incredible game, I absolutely loved it.

The game doesn't have a replay value which is why I'm knocking it down a point, but games like these are meant to be a one time shooter and are meant for the story so I didn't knock it down incredibly.

Other than that the story was superb, I don't want to spoil anything but it really is great. The music was awesome and the characters are just as awesome.

Toploader says
9 Toploader

Feb 27th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

You'll laugh (a lot), you'll cry (more then you'll ever admit), you'll say 'wtf wast that about' (very often). You'll even at points question if this is actually good on not, until something happens later that makes those bits make sense and pay off. A simply awesome game / bit of art / interactive movie, whatever. Just make sure you give it a chance, it takes time to get going and even after that you’ll sometimes think it might be going off track, but it’s always for a reason.

Very few low points, I’d say the only time this game fails is when it tries to be a game (you'll see what I mean), which is few and far between thankfully.

heartborne says
9 heartborne

Nov 6th, 2011 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Wonderful story and gameplay. Support it!

dangergerbil says
9 dangergerbil

Nov 15th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Fantastic story with intrigueing plotline and atmospheric music, Only played the forst 20 mins and im already addicted.

Only thing stopping me giving it a 10/10 is the 640x480 resolution (I understand this is a limit of the engine not the designers choice).

I have made a first impressions video of the game so you can see for yourself if this is the game for you.

Youtube.com

pabbajita says
9 pabbajita

Jun 2nd, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Très belle histoire.

Corelliz says
9 Corelliz

May 10th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

The word 'delightful' comes to mind when I think of this game. It's sweet, but not sickly; cute, but not cutesy. The story was very well delivered as often with time jumping plots, the story can tumble over itself and get confused, but To The Moon executed it perfectly. The graphics were 'old-school', but they didn't detract from the game as the storyline was so strong. I felt a little wistful at the end and recommend this game to anyone who has a heart.

onelamefrog says
9 onelamefrog

Dec 14th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

A compelling story and a wonderful soundtrack makes this game well worth playing at least once.

That being said, it's more of an interactive story really.
I cried manly tears.

ChrisGendo says
9 ChrisGendo

Nov 3rd, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

a thoroughly enjoyable point-and-click adventure. while straightforward and often not really containing any strong puzzles (you'll never really get stuck for longer then a few minutes during a couple occasions, if at all. the game is often given the RPG label however i personally fail to see how it recieves this aside from how the game was made with the RPG Maker engine (and i must say, this game makes the best use of it that i've seen, aside perhaps Yume Nikki).

this game entrusts the player will enjoy it for the plot as that's the main reason to play, and i can at least say that i, like many others, enjoyed the plot thoroughly, and like a good movie i would already like to reexperience it. if a story-centered game sounds unappealing period though, this title probably will not change your mind.

aside graphical limitations with RPG Maker the game is in itself beautiful with great sprites and backgrounds. the soundtrack is absolutely beautiful and fits the game wonderfully. the dialog is sharply written and was able to pull off having quite a bit of very silly humor without ruining the serious tone of the story.

the game is also considerably short and won't take you more then 5 hours to complete. it's one of those games i wouldn't mind playing through on more then one or two occasions though (once again, just like any good movie), which i think makes up for it.

overall, i highly recommend this one. i just cannot recommend it to anybody who wouldn't think this title is interesting in the first place. to those curious about it however, i'd say it's worth a purchase.

Community Rating

Average

9.4

254 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.