The Curse of Blackwater is a survival horror game which puts you in the shoes of a paranormal investigator. He visits the abandoned Blackwater Maternity Hospital, and discovers there's more to the place than meets the eye. The game has been designed from the ground up to provide the most immersive and horrifying experience possible. It has been developed over a period of 6 months by me (Marc Steene, Project Lead), and Wray Burgess (Level Designer). We have poured months of time, effort, and sleepless nights in to this project, so we hope you enjoy it :) The release date is scheduled for July 1st 2013 at midnight GMT. The game is available for pre-order at our website for $9.99.

Review RSS Feed endosine says
1 endosine

Oct 5th, 2013 4 people agree 1 person doesn't

Another piece of **** ripoff scam by marc steene. stop ripping people off you jack ***!

Wolfyboy says
2 Wolfyboy

Jul 16th, 2013 3 people agree 1 person doesn't

There's a certain level of disappointment when you see a indie game that has very little story, and straight up rips elements from other more popular games. Unfortunately, The Curse of Blackwater is this kind of game. The entire design is stock, only using a couple of jumpscares, and one patrolling monster AI that looks exactly like a necromorph monster from Deadspace.

There's a classic saying, that when a game doesn't pull you in with either its story or originality, the game stops being a game and becomes labor instead. However, I wouldn't judge a game this harshly if it wasn't for the fact that this is a product you have to pay ten dollars for, while there are free games and even Amnesia custom stories on the internet that are way better designed than this game.

I can only hope that the creators are learning from their mistakes, and take on the advice and tips from the indie community.

NewsmanWaterpaper says
1 NewsmanWaterpaper

Aug 2nd, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Five years olds have more talent than marc steene.

Falsh says
5 Falsh

May 23rd, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

So I liked this game. During protagonist cannot fight with monsters (what I don't like) it gives atmosphere of insecurity like in Penumbra and Amnesia. We should search doors' keys, solve quests.

The game has little story. Story isn't originality. 'Cause game isn't intrresting.

Monsters are scary and look like dead space's enemies.

Unity Engine looks like... I can't explained how it looks like.

aerhx says
1 aerhx

Jan 18th, 2014 1 person agrees 1 person doesn't

The game was too short, almost as short as The Arrival. Contained little effort, even for an indie game. Even the main menu uses Unity default buttons. All the monsters except for the little girl look stolen, and the little girl didn't have any animations at all, what's up with that? Tons of errors with textures, like the backs of doors being reversed with the front of the door's textures. Wacky controls. Pausing continued the music, so I couldn't pause if I needed to for any reason. I didn't pay the ten dollars, and i'm glad. If I were Marc, i'd open source the project and let someone with desire to fix it.

alldatcheese says
3 alldatcheese

Oct 12th, 2013 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

Painfully bad game. Also charging $9.99 for a game using stolen assets. How cute.

JasonTGamer says
7 JasonTGamer

Aug 15th, 2013 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

This is a very good indie game! There are so many indie games that try to go for horror but just fall flat on their *****. This game did good for the teams 2nd game! Good job DP! Unfortunately, this game has very little story, not many good scares, and the monster AI I don't even want to get into. The gameplay was mainly ripped from other games as in "You need a number of this to continue", "You need a key for that door", and so forth. Gameplay was exactly what I would expect from a typical Slender styled indie game: Flashlight, forever sprint, well, you get what I mean. But I am glad these guys are really trying to make something we can all enjoy, but for 10 bucks, this wasn't all too worth it. It was indeed a good game nonetheless, and I would recommend it to any fan of horror games!

cryptid85 says
7 cryptid85

Aug 9th, 2013 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

The gameplay is fluent for the most part, the research lab levels are the most enjoyable parts of the game. However, the end stage monster's agro is too high. I get Marc wants the final boss to be hard and likes challenging his players (i.e. Slender Carnival) but since it's hard to detect the monster, it will never stop chasing you, and often times the chase music will play after the chase is over, the Sewer level is too hard for the game. This is a big improvement on using the Unity engine after the recent Slenderman's Shadow release. So, the hospital part is the scariest, the research labs are challenging but very enjoyable, and while the last level is flawed it is still okay.

DrummerX7 says
10 DrummerX7

Jul 30th, 2013 0 people agree 3 people don't

Extremely atmospheric and well executed. As a first title and two man collaboration, it is very impressive and extremely fun to play. If you haven't, go Greenlight these guys on steam so they can hopefully find some additional success and move on to even better titles.

dragonredux says
5 dragonredux

Jul 16th, 2013 0 people agree 1 person doesn't
This review may contain spoilers


I might be over-critical about this review. Keep in mind this is my opinion.

First, this game have a creepy atmosphere. The game starts to decline when reach the research labs, because of the story clearly explaining on what is going on or why you are here. The only monster i was crept out by was the little girl but the second monster i swear look like a necromorph from dead space. The mechanics are kind of weird. You cannot crouch, and your "lantern" is a flashlight in a cloak because the beam of light and the batteries in the game. After a while the game gets repetitive with the collection mechanic. Overall, I moderately enjoyed this game and got me a few times with the jumpscares and such but I feel it was not worth the $10.

Community Rating

Average

6.7

23 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.