Buy direct from Desura for single copy of standard game files. Deals for Steam keys etc must be bought via the publisher at the official website www.thecatlady.co.uk or Screen7.co.uk. Thank you & enjoy! ** VERSION 1.4 now available - with Fr, Esp & De subtitles + minor fixes. Note - v1.2 save games will NOT work with this version, v1.3 saves WILL ** The Cat Lady contains strong adult themes and is recommended only for players over 18. From Harvester Games, The Cat Lady follows Susan Ashworth, a lonely 40-year old on the verge of suicide. She has no family, no friends and no hope for a better future. One day she discovers that five strangers will come along and change everything... This suspenseful psychological horror game features stylized artwork, a simple keyboard control method and English voice acting, plus a compelling, atmospheric 70 minute soundtrack by Micamic. Windows PC. * NOTE: Unfortunately Screen 7 & Harvester Games cannot offer Mac support. TCL is for Windows PC

Review RSS Feed matneee says
10 matneee

Feb 23rd, 2013 13 people agree 2 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

An astonishing game - I've never played anything else quite like it. While this game is very much about the story rather than the puzzles - although I've got to say I loved the combination lock - the tone and sheer imagination put into that story is almost peerless. There's very little that's nice or comforting about much of The Cat Lady, in fact it can be downright nasty in parts. And yet by turns it's also moving, touching and even on occasion shows a remarkably human sense of humour. But above all, it's never less than utterly captivating.

If I had to split hairs and was forced to criticise, I suppose I could say that the voice playback quality is a little on the grainy side. I could say that the resolution is a little on the low side. But then again, the actual script and art design are truly excelent, so I frankly couldnt care less.

Ultimately this is a game that credits you with intelligence, maturity and empathy, that manages to tackle themes ranging from the fantastic to the repugnant, and yet somehow manages to do it with characters that are both down to earth and, ultimately, likable.

In short, games this good don't come along very often. If you're OK with the thematic content, it's practically essential.

shredingskin says
10 shredingskin

Dec 11th, 2012 5 people agree 1 person doesn't

Amazing game, great storytelling, good writing, the atmosphere is REALLY good. The interface is not the classic point n click that we are used to, but after some minutes it starts to feel very natural and a great choice for the design of the game.

One of the best games I've played this year, sometimes it feels a little low-budget but this game has so much creativity and "love" into it that you will just inmerse into it without thinking much about some minor flaws.

imalkor says
10 imalkor

Dec 9th, 2012 5 people agree 1 person doesn't

The author must be crazy, but he has made a really good game!

Ritaka says
10 Ritaka

Dec 8th, 2012 4 people agree 1 person doesn't

This game is a must have. One of the best indie games I've seen so far.

Stromkirk says
10 Stromkirk

Dec 11th, 2012 2 people agree 0 people don't

A really nice game, has a nice story line that keeps you on the screen until your brain can't take any more of excitement and twists. The demo was fantastic and I hope this game can get more positive reviews in the near future.

Taquito says
10 Taquito

Dec 26th, 2012 2 people agree 1 person doesn't

We need more adventure game like these. Love the art style.

BaronVonBullshit029 says
10 BaronVonBullshit029

Dec 19th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Amazing story, unique artstyle, and an overall enjoyable experience.
I'd say you should give it a try.

Dreamwalker-Software says
10 Dreamwalker-Software

Feb 14th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

I bought this upon initial release, and touches subject matter very close to my heart. It's a great game with good puzzle elements and a few scary moments, but really this game is a story of death, depression and all the dark things in humanity.

Avoc says
10 Avoc

Jan 30th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Można powiedzieć że PS-owcy mają "Heavy Rain", ale za to posiadacze komputerów mają twórców gier indie, którzy kreatywnością i grywalnymi rozwiązaniami potrafią przebijają producentów gier AAA. Panie i Panowie, oto kolejny twór pana Remigiusza Michalskiego, obok którego nie można przejść obojętnie. Mocna historia, która gdyby była filmem, puszczano by ją około godziny 24:00 lub 1:00 w TV.
Susan Ashworth to 40-letnia kobieta żyjąca samotnie w swoim mieszkaniu. Jej jedynymi towarzyszami są koty, które dokarmia. Pewnego razu nasza bohaterka będąc pogrążona w depresji, próbuje popełnić samobójstwo przedawkowując tabletki. W świecie między życiem a śmiercią Susan poznaje Królową Robaków - tajemniczą kobietę, która oświadcza, że Susan nie umrze, a będzie zabijać pasożyty - złych ludzi tego świata. W zamian za to dostaje obietnicę odnalezienia przyjaźni... Kobieta wie, że propozycja złożona jej przez tę istotę nie podlega dyskusji. Przyjmuje więc zleconą jej misję...
Jeśli mieliście jakieś zarzuty do poprzedniego tytułu od Michalskiego - "Downfalla", to w wypadku "The Cat Lady" takowych mieć po prostu nie będziecie. Już same tekstury są ostrzejsze niż w poprzedniej grze, scenariusz posiada kilka wręcz kapitalnych momentów a fabuła oprócz świetnego przedstawienia ma także kilka fanowskich nawiązań. Nareszcie pojawił się voice acting. Wszyscy zaangażowani aktorzy wykonali naprawdę solidną robotę, zwłaszcza wcielająca się w "kocią damę" Lynsey Frost oraz towarzysząca jej Brittany Williams jako Mitzi. W gąszczu Crysisów, Call of Duty'ów, Battlefieldów, F.E.A.R.-ów i wielu, wielu innych, "The Cat Lady" jest miłą odmianą i jeśli cenicie naprawdę niebanalne gry, które pozostawią w Was coś na dłużej, to ta produkcja jest jedną z nich. Co prawda w wykorzystaniu motywu depresji i samotności w horrorze "The Cat Lady" i tak przegrywa z "Cry of Fear", ale mimo wszystko i tak osiąga pułap niedostępny dla wielu obecnych gier z gatunku. Ode mnie tylko jeden werdykt - musicie zagrać.

stargazer991 says
10 stargazer991

Jan 18th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

I love this game. It shows how so many people think when they are alone and that they never really are. It just shows life and how suicide people think.

Community Rating

Average

9.3

279 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.