The AMC Squad is a paramilitary group formed by a man whose identity is unknown to all but a select few in the EDF and EAF. Using funds from both of those agencies as well as his own, he hired an old friend to track down 7 of the best and most skilled fighters on Earth. This squad was formed to tackle the most severe threats to Earth's safety, including fighting off the notorious Cycloid race of aliens. However, events soon unfold that dramatically increase the scale of conflict, and the AMC squad must soon deal with a new paranormal world that is new to even the most supernatural members of the team.

Review RSS Feed alec498 says
10 alec498

Jan 5th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Have been eagerly awaiting for this release since the first time i heard about it many moons ago so I went in with fairly high expectations. Many hours and a couple plays through and I can only say that my expectations were completely blown away. The AMC TC has given me quite the feeling of nostalgia while still managing to keep things fresh and new with all of its cool features. A word of warning to those who have never played any FPS from the 90s there is no hand holding other than a basic training course, and you will have to do a little thinking and explore the environments especially in the later level's. Can't wait to see what happens in the next episode although there is still a lot of things left for me to do with this. Great job!

NESfag says
10 NESfag

May 12th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Amazing Total Conversion; a whole new retro FPS to play with lot's of replay value

CyberP says
9 CyberP

May 12th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Short Review of Episode 1:

A very interesting and ambitious mod to say the least.

My absolute favourite aspect of the mod is the additional gameplay depth granted via new mechanics: sliding, leaning, sprinting, wall kicking, karate kicks, alt fire modes, alternate ammo, weapon upgrades, rolling/dodging, weapon reloading, melee weapons, temp weapons, basic loadouts, interaction with more object types, PDA/scanner & inventory.

These mechanics are what drew me to the mod in the first place but I was disappointed to find a notable portion of these mechanics were not utilized in the level design to their full potential, but they all had their uses at some point regardless.

There are new effects also such as dynamic skyboxes, footstep sounds, new sprite anims, camera effects, ridiculous but very welcome cutscenes and so on.

The level design is a mixed bag of quality and style, more good than bad, and when it is good it's top-tier, but when it's bad...it's Duke Nukem: Forever bad. The level design's low moments is the primary reason I have scored this mod/TC a 9 rather than a 10.

Voice acting is bad for the most part, the story however is very developed for Duke Nukem, the writing at times is good enough and it's worth reading all in-game text if you care for a fleshed out world, What is unique about the story is it is told from the perspective of the AMC team, all of which you control (all at least in episodes to come), sometimes even in the same level. Other FPS games have done this (Project Eden) but AMC TC does it well.
A problem with this concept is standard aspects gameplay you'd expect in a FPS such as ammo conservation, and long-term reward for finding secrets are non-existent due to constant switching of characters.

Sound design and music...well...it's all good, fitting, but...no comment.

This is better than some professionally designed FPS games, and I wish James and crew luck with releasing the mod in it's absolute entirety...they'll need

artemneva says
10 artemneva

Feb 25th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Great!

dyrvere says
9 dyrvere

Sep 30th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Really good throwback to the old-school with the modern features tossed in with both new and old content. The character selection makes it replayable. Good mod indeed so hopefully Eduke32 gets the new network functional, because it would be super fun to go all co-op!

Nefar says
10 Nefar

Oct 26th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

Nice job:)

Isaiahere says
10 Isaiahere

Jun 15th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

I can safely say that this is one of the greatest first person shooters that I've ever seen. Although the storyline itself is short, there is so much replayability. The amount of weapons, upgrades, and unlockables shocks me. I hope there will be more updates.

Taamalus says
10 Taamalus

Dec 31st, 2011 0 people agree 0 people don't

This is one of those mods, that are truly a new game, or Total Conversion. Hopefully, you guys make more ...

Taamalus

Mikko Sandt finally wrote a fair review of this TC. I agree with his essay below 200%!
Msdn.duke4.net

WilliamGee says
10 WilliamGee

Dec 27th, 2011 0 people agree 0 people don't

The best Duke3D TC ever made.

andrea89 says
8 andrea89

Jun 25th, 2014

No review provided

Community Rating

Average

9.7

31 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.