Tales of Maj’Eyal is a roguelike RPG, featuring tactical turn-based combat and advanced character building. Play as one of many unique races and classes in the lore-filled world of Eyal, exploring random dungeons, facing challenging battles, and developing characters with your own tailored mix of abilities and powers. With a modern graphical and customisable interface, intuitive mouse control, streamlined mechanics and deep, challenging combat, online stats and character sheets, Tales of Maj’Eyal offers engaging roguelike gameplay for the 21st century. Winner of the Roguelike of the Year award 2010, 2011, 2012. Key features: - Focus on tactical battles - Rich set of very unique classes - Unlocks & achievements progression - Rich world with its own history which slowly reveal during the game - No consumables, no grinding - Turn based: think before you act! - Easy modding support Buyers will get all the extra features that normal donators get. You can test for free on te4.org

Review RSS Feed Xaenor says
10 Xaenor

Jan 31st, 2013 8 people agree 2 people don't

My first encounter with ToME 4 happened around 2-3 years ago, when I stumbled upon its homepage when browsing for some free RPGs. The game stood out of the army of your typical roguelikes even then, and by now it made an even huger leap forward.

First of all, ToME features great graphics and very easy-to-use interface - which might be something that most people take for granted, but keep in mind that most roguelikes have horribad UIs that never get improved.

Second, ToME has a vast array of achievements granted for important actions made in the game, and those achievements let you unlock new races and classes. Surely it might be a bit harder for new players to understand, but such an approach gives players more challenges to beat and additional goals to achieve during the game.

Third, the world of ToME is open and allows for some free wandering, which is, in my opinion, one of the best advantages a roguelike can offer. Aren't you tired of spending your whole adventurous life in a single dungeon? And so am I! Hence I always give ToME the highest possible vote when deciding which roguelike is the best.

All in all, ToME might be not as complex as some other decades-old roguelikes out there, but it is convenient, neat and unique in many ways. Try it if you haven't yet!

eddbunny says
10 eddbunny

Feb 1st, 2013 5 people agree 0 people don't

Best roguelike game ever - can't go back to adom now, I have been spolit.

There is a free version at te4.org but this game is well worth paying for.

iliatsygvintsev says
10 iliatsygvintsev

Feb 2nd, 2013 3 people agree 0 people don't

It's totally wonderful game! I played it during 2011, from comparely early beta version and I enjoyed it a lot. It had only one minus: donations only by PayPal, which doesn't work with my credit cards. But now I could donate for DarkGod througth Desura.

In short: It's turn-based RPG game with great number of tactical possibilities and in-game secrets. In this parametres ToME between ADoM and Dugeon Crawl SS. It had very good graphics (in comarison to classical roguelike). This game constantly developing and free (you can free download it from te4.org), but some minor feachures avaible only for donators (like custom tiles for character, or ability to create red-head character, or item vault to store items from one character to another). Most of the possibilities opened only during the game (new classes, races, options...).

Try it, it's one of the best roguelikes! (Other good games in this class: ADoM, DC SS, URW, Diablo II >:) ).

edge2054 says
10 edge2054

Jan 31st, 2013 3 people agree 0 people don't

This game is great, well worth the $10 asked for here.

bossonova911 says
9 bossonova911

Jan 31st, 2013 4 people agree 1 person doesn't

absolutely amazing. The game is awesome and so is the customer service. I had a small issue and it was solved immediately through te4.org customer service, its 4:30 a.m here. Dark7god is amazing and he is doing one hell of a job. If your into rpg's or roguelikes then support him, you won 't regret it for sure.

zultor says
10 zultor

Feb 12th, 2013 2 people agree 0 people don't

Excellent roguelike with best graphics yet

FrozenSUSHI says
10 FrozenSUSHI

Feb 3rd, 2013 2 people agree 0 people don't

I played the free version before the game was released on Desura and I must say it is one of the best Rougelikes I have played in years. Sure titles like Dungeons of Dreadmor have better graphics and funny content but ToME just get's you hooked and before you realize it it's 4 AM in the morning.

The well balanced skills and items and the different character classes combined with an approachable interface are suited for everybody from the Rouglike newcomer to the veteran.

Evropi says
10 Evropi

Feb 3rd, 2013 2 people agree 0 people don't

Definitely a contender for best roguelike of all time, if not THE best roguelike of all time.

Ixscoerz says
10 Ixscoerz

Feb 2nd, 2013 2 people agree 0 people don't

Some may disagree that a game such as this deserves a 10/10 but personally, even with all of it's flaws, I still feel it is a solid 10/10 for me. Ever since I played some random game on an old Mac that had the elements of randomly generated dungeons/areas with monsters that moved with me but the movement wasn't constant, I was intrigued by the gameplay overall that I loved how it played. I wasn't sure, at the time, what the game and the gametype was called. Fast foward a few years and I, on a whim, decide to buy FTL and I noticed the tagline "roguelike-like" as the description. I played a bit of FTL and liked how it played overall, but my curiosity sparked with the "roguelike-like" description so I started looking for roguelike-likes and found out about roguelikes.

I decided to look around a bit at roguelikes themselves and stumbled across the trailer for "Tales of Maj'Eyal" and thought that I found the game I played years ago. I immediately went searching for it, found their website and downloaded; set up an account; and started playing. I fell in love with the simplicity and beauty of the effects and the tiles graphic-wise (even though most roguelikes are either standard tiles or ASCII) and found myself enthralled by the overall gameplay. Even though I haven't gotten far in the first campaign or even unlocked some of the classes and characters; it was those first few moments of gameplay that got me hooked!

I'd also say that if you're a bit new to roguelikes that Tales of Maj'Eyal is a great starting point, mainly because the "Adventure" mode that features a limited set of lives so if you do find yourself with a case of dead; you can get another chance to go at it again. On the otherhand, if you are very much so familiar with roguelikes then this game has the standard difficulty set with permadeath and the like.

tiger_eye says
10 tiger_eye

Jan 31st, 2013 2 people agree 1 person doesn't

Get this game. You won't be disappointed.

It is well worth $10. It is also worth going to the website to play the free version. Buyers and donators get perks, but the free version is still a complete game. However you get it, just get it!

The gameplay focuses on deeply tactical combat (turn based, so it's not based on how quickly you can react), yet the setting is immersive too. The world and its history is well thought out, and you learn more about it as you explore, so if you need more than just "fight fight fight!" from your games, then you're covered. On the other hand, if all you want is "fight fight fight!", then the game has you covered too!

There is also in-game chat that is generally very friendly and helpful, so if you have questions while playing the game, there is help immediately available.

Community Rating

Average

9.3

103 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.