Survivors of Ragnarök is a city-building-management-survival game inspired by Dwarf Fortress. Manage, create, and survive through dynamic and deadly worlds. Losing is a fundamental core aspect of design.

Review RSS Feed McGlu says
2 McGlu

Dec 9th, 2011 10 people agree 0 people don't

From a quick and uninformed session, I see some real potential. But lots of control elements are either not obvious or just broken. I've had workers just completely stop what they are doing and refuse to do anything else. I've seen workers phase in and out of solid terrain.

Given this is a pre-alpha, I would assume that is to be expected. I look forward to raising this score as the project continues.

Also, not sure what all these 10s are about. This game is clearly not a 10. Maybe one day, but nowhere near it at the moment.

UPDATE: A few months have passed. New game updates released, and I still see nothing new. Same broken game. Pixel art is nice, but that's about the only good thing I can think of. When is this going to be an actual game?

UPDATE UPDATE: Little to no progress since this "game" was made available for funding. Waste of my money. Was hoping to support an indie develper in creating what appeared to be something special. Turned out to be smoke and mirrors. No game here, move along. Good luck devs.

TTT-Chris says
2 TTT-Chris

Feb 5th, 2012 5 people agree 0 people don't

Nice graphics and music but I had absoloutely no idea what I was doing without reading up on it.

I understand it's in alpha but some sort of in-game tutorial or explanation would be a good start for people who want to help you test.

Bashful says
2 Bashful

Jan 21st, 2013 2 people agree 0 people don't

To be honest I cannot give a fair review of this game. The reason for this is I have only played an extremely small amount of it... 5 minutes to be exact. The reason for this is I have tried on many occasions to get the game working but everytime I start a game my survivors will not move, everytime i press to dig or level the ground the dirt just disappears whilst my survivor seems frozen in time. You can verify your files, uninstall and install countless times but nothing happens. The game has bugs but to have one that makes the game totally unplayable is one that is seemingly being ignored.

The reason I gave it a score of two is because I gave it one point for at least starting to make a game and another because I do like the concept of it and hope this gets fixed at some point. If you look at the comments though you will see some kind of game breaking issue has been going on for quite a while.

The people who have given it a high score are either people so bitter that they downloaded this 'game' that they want others to make the same mistake or the devs have got people that they know to score it to try and take our money.

If you must try it only get the free chicken edition for now then you can upgrade to a paid version once it is playable. I warn you not to pay for this yet, I feel sorry for us that have bought the settlers edition but pity the ones that may have bought the valkyrie edition.

I shall change my review accordingly once I know it is working and playable again. Desura should not have allowed it to have been released in the state it is in at the moment.

leekz says
2 leekz

Dec 11th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

so I tried the Demo (the first time many months ago - I couldn't even get it to run).
It looks interesting, looks like it might be a good bit of fun, and replayable, and worthy of a much higher rating.
However, the interface is a bit clumsy and not very intuitive. It's not entirely clear how you should use some of the in-game tools. Your workers sometimes freeze up, for the duration. It's buggy as all get out, crashing without error messages. And finally, if you are thinking of building up something, be prepared to play the demo many times to get the hang of it so you can work fast.
How it gets higher than a 5 much less someone to actually spend money on it in it's current state is beyond me.
HOWEVER... it IS worth keeping an eye on. Maybe things will get better, and it will be worth the amount they are asking.

Fry539 says
2 Fry539

Mar 13th, 2012 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

dev has died

XerxesPST says
2 XerxesPST

Jun 13th, 2012

No review provided

hemebond says
2 hemebond

Apr 15th, 2012

No review provided

rokkenrol says
2 rokkenrol

Mar 16th, 2012

No review provided

Eccles12345 says
2 Eccles12345

Feb 14th, 2012

No review provided

CaitSidhe says
2 CaitSidhe

Feb 8th, 2012

No review provided

Community Rating

Average

7.1

340 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.