Survivors of Ragnarök is a city-building-management-survival game inspired by Dwarf Fortress. Manage, create, and survive through dynamic and deadly worlds. Losing is a fundamental core aspect of design.

Review RSS Feed Aarkreinsil says
1 Aarkreinsil

Sep 18th, 2011 42 people agree 5 people don't

FrenchRiceGames, I am disappoint D:

This game is in development for almost one full year. The last updates added gimmicky nonsense like pumpkin patches and candy, rather than adding to the base of the game itself. Other games in a similar state of development offer much more actual gameplay and potential. (Project Zomboid, Towns, heck even Kenshi)

Reading the update logs makes me feel like the developers don't even care about the game. I mean sure they pump in tons of self-made pixel art of things not really in the game and unrelated videos, but the updates didn't change the gameplay in any way for me.

All I can do is dig around for unusable minerals, move my dwarfs around the map by awkwardly evening the impassable landscape and wait for them to die by the hand of goblins or by starving. Since the option to save the game has yet to come, there isn't much point in building anything elaborate either, IF it were possible.

Better check it out for free and wait for the gold release, if you ever live long enough to see it.

Edit 3/2012:
It looks like there's actually being some critical content in development now. Let's see how that works out for the game in the long run.

Edit 12/2013 (Yeah, really)
Playable? Perhaps. I mean it runs on my computer. Barely.
No official articles or updates for over half a year, I don't see any real content being added at all, and even the useless gimmick updates like jack-o-lanterns for halloween have subsided. This is several years old, one of the very first Desura alphafunding games and still in a pre-alpha Tech Demo stage. Go figure.

mhughson says
1 mhughson

Feb 12th, 2012 9 people agree 2 people don't

How do you even review this? There is nothing there...?

Osli says
1 Osli

Feb 22nd, 2013 3 people agree 0 people don't

I was seduced by the decor, but i regret paid for this game...

gebeorscipe says
1 gebeorscipe

Feb 3rd, 2013 3 people agree 0 people don't

Seems mostly abandoned at this point.

Jenzel says
1 Jenzel

Mar 17th, 2013 2 people agree 0 people don't

I see that there could be a lot of potential in this, but I honestly don't see the devs doing anything with it. I understand there's a small development team but I haven't seen a useful update in far too long. I can't play for more than five minutes before either the whole game closes or I'm slaughtered by enemies I have no means with which to fight.

This could be an extrememly popular game if it only had devs who care about it. Even if it had been free I still wouldn't feel I got my money's worth.

Hokororo says
1 Hokororo

Dec 22nd, 2012 2 people agree 0 people don't

I don't think it's a playable game.

PedroKoF says
1 PedroKoF

Nov 10th, 2012 2 people agree 0 people don't

developers do not care about the game, an update every six months to put 4 things and worst of all pay for the game. I put a 1 I can not put a 0

FlyingShisno says
1 FlyingShisno

Sep 8th, 2012 2 people agree 0 people don't

I purchased this game quite a while ago, but updates far between, and while this usually isn't the problem, I find the quality of said updates low. It's been over a year since I've purchased and very little has been actually done.

ZephaniahGrey says
1 ZephaniahGrey

Aug 14th, 2012 2 people agree 0 people don't

This has been in alpha for years and is still a buggy, unplayable mess. The creators need to stop adding content and get the core game working. The UI is a joke (the Esc key should NOT shut down the game) and it crashes and hits game breaking bugs on such a regular basis, I don't think I've ever been able to play for more than 10 minutes. Oh, and declairing losing as a "core game mechanic" is not an out for crappy balance and design. Also, I think most of the 10/10 rating are fake.

MMAx001 says
1 MMAx001

Jan 1st, 2014 1 person agrees 0 people don't

A waste of money, this project has long been stuck in its current state with no effort on the developers to improve it or even update the buyers. Keep away from it as your money is better spent elsewhere.

Community Rating

Average

7

340 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.