In 1986, the world's worst nuclear disaster occurred at the Chernobyl power station. Soviet authorities established a 30km 'Exclusion Zone' around this nuclear wasteland, but in 2006 a second explosion rocked the stricken reactor, obliterating all living things and causing the Zone's boundaries to ripple outwards. From this epicenter came waves of mutated creatures, deadly radiation, and a strange, anomalous energy. The Zone was cordoned off by the military, who would shoot on sight anyone foolish enough to brave the horrors within.

RSS feed OkuLaRis says
9 OkuLaRis

Dec 4th, 2012 3 people agree 0 people don't

I picked this game up on the date of release after anticipating it's arrival for many years. It had a less than stellar launch to say the least (couple of patches and mods later) It became obvious that S.T.A.L.K.E.R. SoC is one of those unique experiences that no PC gamer should miss out on. From the unique lighting, to the eerie atmosphere, to the now infamous locales (Chernobyl NPP, Pripyat etc..). Once you get into it, the immersion is unlike any other game. So much to explore, see and do, it will keep you coming back for more. Once your done with vanilla, make sure to grab some weather/gfx overhauls & mods etc. to enhance this already fantastic game. Mods: ZRP, Priboi story, Super Mod Pack, L.U.R.K., OGSE, ABC Inferno, Oblivion Lost + many more and my personal favorites Narodnaya Soljanka: DMX 1.3.2 : dkz-02 & STALKERSOUP. Just to name a few... This game is in a league of it's own. Thanks to GSC & the fantastic modding community!

(WiT)DerpyHooves says
9 (WiT)DerpyHooves

Dec 21st, 2011 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Buggy and unoptimized. Yet, quite easily one of the best games that I've ever played.

Attila1945 says
9 Attila1945

Jan 16th, 2011 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Very good game. Little buggy, little unoptimized, but the feeling is fantastic.

Vitrix999 says
9 Vitrix999

Oct 18th, 2015 0 people agree 0 people don't

Not quite finished my playthrough of STALKER SOC but i can assure you that this game is very interesting , unique, and immersive experience. I guess i am lost in the zone for the foreseeable future. if i ever get out i will update this review

Kovolsky says
9 Kovolsky

Apr 6th, 2015 0 people agree 0 people don't

Very perfect game as other players say positive points of it.
The only problem I saw in the game exept graphics and some gameplay bugs that can be omited is the scale of locations wich is small!

Beerfloat says
9 Beerfloat

Feb 24th, 2015 0 people agree 0 people don't

There's something about the atmosphere in this game series which is unique, and although each of the episodes have something or the other that makes them stand out, this one is still the complete package that captures that feeling best.

The game can be very gritty and somber, but also charming and funny, and even though it is more science fiction than fantasy, there's a pervading sense of the possibility of something magic happening just around the corner.

I keep going back to it.


Feb 28th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Great game indeed, original story and a huge set of secondary missions. Too bad for little bugs...

subderrame says
9 subderrame

Jun 4th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't


spazmodog says
9 spazmodog

Mar 23rd, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

What can I say, one of the greatest games ever made, ill be playing this for years to come. Mods are totally vital if you want the best of what the engine can support and multiple features developers left out due to deadline pressures etc and more.

svirr says
9 svirr

Sep 19th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

Game that deserves to be played over and over again.

Community Rating



813 votes submitted.

You Say


Ratings closed.