Slender: The Eight Pages, formerly known as Slender is a free experimental game developed by Parsec Productions. It was released as a beta in June 2012 for Windows and Mac OS X.

Review RSS Feed pixl_man says
9 pixl_man

Apr 1st, 2013 6 people agree 0 people don't

First of all, let's make something clear: this is not a full-fledged game. It's an experiment. A ground-testing for the sequel, 'The Arrival'. I know you've read all those "it isn't scary" reviews, but, believe me, experience it yourself first.
So why all the fuss? Because it reminded players from all around the world how survival horror changed the videogame world. When I think of this game, Silent Hill comes to my mind. Neverminding the fact that SH is a far more complex game, it has something in common with Slender: it gets under your skin. Slender: The Eight Pages made me feel like the first time I played Silent Hill. This kind of psychologic terror is incredibly effective. Even though the games uses cheap scares, the sense of being alone, defenseless is amazing.

It's a once-in-a-life-time-experience, and I say that because, after you collect that goddamn 8th page, you probably won't play the game again. There's no real incentive. You'll recommend it to your friends or whatsoever, but that's it.

If you want a story, or more variety, more 'enemies', locations, gameplay mechanics, go play it's sequel, 'The Arrival', which really manages to keep the same feel, even adding more elements to the formula.

Don't look at this game for what it could have been, for what it doesn't have. Play it for what it is.

The Eight Pages is pure concept and terror. And that's where lies it's beauty (?) lies: in its simplicity.

Mr.Grindor says
8 Mr.Grindor

Feb 16th, 2013 3 people agree 0 people don't

This game has a simple, yet effective formula, meant to scare even the bravest man in the world. This game is great (nor excellent neither epic. Just great. And not even close to "Best Scary Game Evah!"), but it's so overrated and already boring to play it doesn't make sense to play this anymore. After you get the last page, you lose your motivation to play Slender again.

Yes, the graphics are a little bad, but who cares anyways. Still, it made me jump many times and the atmosphere absorbs the player instantly.

For an experiment, it worked quite well.

Nargual26 says
10 Nargual26

Apr 27th, 2013 2 people agree 0 people don't

Scary game! Simple but it is amazing!

PublicSeaLion says
10 PublicSeaLion

Jan 26th, 2013 3 people agree 1 person doesn't

I know this game is overrated, I know the graphics are meh, but it's the way it is able to genuinely horror the player that makes this game excellent. This game was so scary it has inspired dozens, if not hundreds, of spin off games. The simple yet effective formula for gameplay is now being used in TONS of games. This game laid the framework for a new set of horror games and that is why I believe it deserves a 10/10

rinko_lover88 says
10 rinko_lover88

Sep 27th, 2012 4 people agree 2 people don't

I just heard about the sequel, and I am excited. I can't wait to see what these guys do when they go all out!

DarkeningDevelopment says
10 DarkeningDevelopment

Apr 28th, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Very nice game,and sacry...10 can be very high rating for some people.But i really liked the game like that.Just very good.

GameSomniacâ„¢ says
8 GameSomniacâ„¢

Apr 4th, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Slender was a game released by Parsec Productions as a social experiment to see if gamers would hop onto the first person survival horror medium. Needless to say, it worked. Shortly after the release of Slender came an updated version known as Slender: The Eight Pages which was pretty much the same as the previous version however the Slender Mechanics were upgraded slightly making the game a lot more intense and challenging. Since then, there have been dozens, maybe even hundreds of Slender copies out there including Parsec Productions recent project Slender: The Arrival and Slenderman Shadows, HOWEVER, the original Eight Pages is still the most fun and terrifying game of them all. In fact the scariest part of this game has to be the suspense it brings in knowing you're downloading the game and once it's done, you'll have to try and survive Slendy on your own. Can you collect all 8 Pages before the Slender Man gets you? Play it for yourself, just don't look behind you....

Hades714 says
10 Hades714

Feb 11th, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

One of the rare games that scare me at night.

ShouldBeNew says
2 ShouldBeNew

Mar 16th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

What is this? A horror game. Very scary... since it is scary i wan't to tell you that the gameplay is COMPLETELY boring! Not kidding. So what happens after you find the eight pages? Why do you need them? Do you get killed by slenderman at the end? Then that makes no sense playing this game since you're going to die easily.

SuperNormalful says
8 SuperNormalful

Mar 7th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Slender, the classic horror game we all know and love, but is it really all that great? I had to ponder on this for a while, but I think I've come to the conclusion that, as popular as it is, it still has some flaws that get in the way of the experience. If there's one thing that Slender does best, it's atmosphere. Slender knows how to tell you danger is lurking around, and as you make progress the music becomes more irrational and odd, much like the monster that is chasing you. The feeling of being stalked is clear and fresh, and the feeling never truly goes away. The main flaws I found in Slender involve the question, is he always going to stalk me from behind? Well, yes, he only stalks from behind so at least you know where he is almost all the time. There have been instances where he appeared from the front, but those were rare. I feel like the game would be much scarier if you never knew where to expect him, like he could be hiding behind the very tree you're walking next to. I feel like just having him approach from behind kind of makes the experience more like a game of red-light green-light. Either way, Slender is a great game to try and I hope it evolves even more at some point.

Community Rating

Average

7.7

55 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.