In R.U.S.E., players use their brain as the ultimate weapon, fighting a war of perception, where the ability to deceive and mislead the enemy determines success. A first in a strategy game, R.U.S.E. reinvigorates the genre by using deception to give new-found depth to the game play.

Review RSS Feed FlySpyGuy says
10 FlySpyGuy

Feb 19th, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Loved this game! I wish more games were like it! I love how you can only build buildings on roads, and how you can only get supplies via supply trucks. Makes it so much more strategic than most games. It's WAY more fun.

lolwulf says
7 lolwulf

Sep 22nd, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

a good and intense game but sadly not mod friendly

wangrin says
5 wangrin

Sep 16th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

A good game but absolutely not mod friendly. A shame !

Techiastronamo says
10 Techiastronamo

May 9th, 2015 0 people agree 0 people don't

The game has great controls, a great story, and the gameplay is so magnificent! It cannot be beaten by any other WW2 RTS game as of 2015, and surely won't be surpassed any time soon.

From the start of playing the game to the completion of the campaign to the rising of the leaderboards, the game is addicting and difficult to fully master. It provides a challenge for both diehard strategists and casual gamers who are seeking a fun WW2 strategy game!

It is perhaps my most favorite game of all time, not even words can describe how much I love it! I recommend 10/10, purely because I have such great memories of playing the game, and because it has great content and a great community (on most parts, minus the 5% of the cocky level 100s who have the skill of an incompetent mouse)!

In a nutshell, I love it and it has great value, 10/10, I'd play infinitely!

Gothii_Imperator says
8 Gothii_Imperator

Nov 6th, 2012 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

RUSE is a mixed bag, but instead of having a variety of things wherein you can just get rid of what you don't like, you are stuck with the bad and the good is all opinion based. Let's get the bad out of the way first. The biggest issue with this game is the lack of mod support and the ignorance towards the positive effects mods have. The entire reason most people buy Valve games or Paradox games or, even further on the pedestal, Bohemia games, are the mods. No-one buys an ARMA game for the actual game, and the ARMA series is one of the highest grossing realistic shooters right now. But I'm just rambling now, so let's move on to the second problem, that being the campaign. It's a boring, generic story where the hero disagrees with a commanding officer but slowly starts acting like the officer until eventually something happens to snap him out of it. It's a generic 2edgy4u shonen anime/American tween 77edgy99u plot line that wears out it's welcome the second you guess the ending. It's also really easy to cheese this game. Just camp the resources and you'll be fine. Well, I'm half kidding about that. The French and the Germans are really the best factions to do that with so use them if you want to do that, but otherwise there's a building generates money so spamming that should be your third priority after the initial resource building and the barracks. It sounds like I hate this doesn't it? I don't, I actually really like it. The good aspects of this game are that the A.I. is both ruthless and intelligent without being cheap. The ruses the game is named after are both useful and fun without feeling necessary. The unit rosters feel natural for each faction, though I feel they could have done better here and there. The best part though, has to be the way units beat each other. It isn't rock-paper-scissors but it also isn't a dice roll. It's actually based on the individual units stats and experience and I adore it. There are tanks, vehicles, and units that never saw combat past prototypes or designs and even they feel like a portray'll of the units stats and experience. Did I mention it's fun? As generic as the story is, it's not trying to be Shakespeare so I won't judge it like Shakespeare, and any flaws with the story are made up for by the fun and interesting situations the story puts you in. Which brings me to the conclusion. Even though it is an RTS, there isn't much replayablity other than the skirmish and multiplayer and sadly both of those get pretty repetitive or boring after you've played on every map with every faction. There are challenges and yes those are fun too, but it doesn't change my opinion. Mod's could have saved this game and maybe they could have gave it a sequel, but it's a crying shame that something so interesting with so much potential go to be forgotten by many. I recommend that you try get it for cheap or wait for a steam sale.

MechaKat says
8 MechaKat

Jun 24th, 2012 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

No official mod tools and that the 30 day Beta was a lot better than retail, but still an exciting game and intense.

tandat45 says
7 tandat45

Apr 13th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

If it is a modern war game (not the WW2) like cold war or the future wars i will give it 10

FrostTemplar says
10 FrostTemplar

May 11th, 2015

No review provided

Giulio_116 says
10 Giulio_116

Apr 25th, 2015

No review provided

TrueHerio says
10 TrueHerio

Mar 21st, 2015

No review provided

Community Rating

Average

8.6

23 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.