Rogue's Tale is a single player turn-based dungeon crawling game. The game takes place in a place called Frostmourn Keep and its underlying dungeons located in the World's End Mountains. The goal is to overthrow the current king of the Frostmourn Keep and become the new king. A demo version and game guide can be found on the homepage. Key features: - Classless character building where you can choose to be the kind of rogue you want. - Seemingly unfair, untimely and unforgiving deaths which are also permanent. - Ways to counter these deaths by learning the game mechanics. - Random dungeons and encounters. - 24 talents to build your character with. - 30 spells to build your character even further. - 30 heritages that make your next character stronger. - 30 challenges to complete once you get the hang of the game.

Review RSS Feed Laag9 says
10 Laag9

Jan 14th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

One of the best roguelikes I played

tacticalboss says
10 tacticalboss

Jun 29th, 2013 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

This game is the best Rogue like Ever, because is hard and it is what i want in a rogue like, the interface is very good and we can choose our talents. I like this game.

voicemse says
10 voicemse

May 24th, 2013 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

Extreme!

FalconGrey says
10 FalconGrey

May 5th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

A game that finally takes the cake of insanely addictive! You must understand that playing this game takes a little bit of being a masochist because you will die. And not just once.... hundreds of times. But you will keep telling yourself, just one more try!

You begin to measure your success not by winning but by how far you got compared to the last. Did you get better items this time... or die coming down the steps!

Awesome game and must have Rogue Clone! Possibly the best I've ever played too.

maVado99 says
10 maVado99

Apr 30th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Great Roguelike. You will die a lot, but every new try brings you one step further and once you unlock some of the heritages you have one of the best rogue-like game at your hands. I would recommend this to anyone seriously looking into some unforgiving and yet rewarding gameplay!

Entikas says
10 Entikas

Apr 26th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Tough little roguelike, well balanced and fun. Great job guys!

kmkenpo says
10 kmkenpo

Mar 7th, 2013 6 people agree 6 people don't

Yes, rated a 10. Now, before you act like "GRASPEE SAYS", and start throwing a fit about it being a difficult game at the start... DUH... it's a Roguelike!!!

Please don't get me wrong, there are times when you start a new game, where your heart sinks because you just KNOW that the snake (who is 3 squares away) AND the Archer standing next to it, is going to make a quick end to your game... only to be ecstatic that you barely squeaked by. There will be times, while walking down a corridor, you spot some baddy off in the distance. You turn quickly to try and find a narrow section or bottle-neck, in order to reduce the chance of his friend getting into the fray with you. Trouble is, while scurrying away, bottle-neck in sight, you failed a check for traps and fell into a spiked pit.

Roguelikes are meant to be difficult. They aren't meant to be a breeze, especially at the early levels. Certainly, this can differ from game to game, developer to developer... but, by and large, the difficulty of staying alive in a Roguelike, is what makes it FUN.

Now, if fighting to stay alive, isn't your thing, might I suggest something a little less stressful? Say, maybe... Havest Moon? That is unless tending to garden work or feeding livestock isn't your thing. Well, I take that back. I guess there is always Minecraft. You could just turn off the Mobs and build yourself a Soft-Serve-Yogurt-Stand, and feed the Sheep.

Explaination of 10 out of 10:

Graphics: I like the simple stuff.

Sound: Nice, creepy at times when something moans in the distance.

Game Play: Mama always said, "Life is like a good Roguelike... sometimes you just get the stuffins kicked out of you. Now, get up and quit being such a sissy!"

Overall: I would recommend it to anyone that would like a good challenge, and doesn't mind fighting for the chance to see the next whatever is just down the corridor. But, if you have the attention span of a Grapefruit, you may want to look elsewhere.

Have a blessed day,
-kmkenpo

Flameberg says
10 Flameberg

Mar 5th, 2013 4 people agree 5 people don't

This game is simply awesome, one of the best roguelike games I've seen in years (and I've seen a lot).

You start as a simple rogue, with no skills, no armor, no magic - just a dagger and some food. You can complete different Challenges and Heritages through the game to expand the starting skills and equipment (which means you have to complete the heritage/challenge and then die, which you most certainly will do).

All checks are made via D6 roll - that makes some checks almost completely random, and there are some situations you can't get out even if you're an awesome player with outstanding eqipment.

You will die a lot, in many stupid ways, and then, when you feel almost invincible, a rock falls on top of you or you just step into a spiked pit right in front of two cave bears with no polymorph scrolls/spell with you.

The main goal is to kill a King and become one yourself (see Highscores for current list of ex-kings).

I absolutely love the design: while the menu reminds me of Warcraft III (which is nice), the game itself looks simple yet thorough. I hope Nibbe will be able to expand the set of spells, items and enemies soon.

As for buying this game - you should totally do this: I mean, game is fun (I've spent more than 100 hours playing it, and I've downloaded it only a few weeks ago, lol), and it's made by ONE guy!

Doomsdayparade says
10 Doomsdayparade

Mar 5th, 2013 1 person agrees 4 people don't

I purchasedd this game yesterday, and I must say it is some ridiculous fun. The unforgiving nature of the game (I died 10 times rapidly), and the finality of death drive you to go back again and again just to try to get a little farther. There are some ridiculous ways I died (rock on head, one shot at start by an enemy), but I didn't care, I just rerolled and went back in. If you like rogue-like games, and love a challenge, give this game a shot. I look forward to future updates!

crhzao says
10 crhzao

Nov 13th, 2013

No review provided

Community Rating

Average

8.2

49 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.