Realm Explorer will be a computer game about creation in the fantasy universe of Gnostaria; your creations. In perhaps the most dynamic sandbox world yet to be conceived you will be able to dig the soil and mine ore, precious metals and gems all in a beautiful and dynamic 3D world. The terrain will shape and form to your actions. Drive a shovel into the ground and watch the earth give way. Heave your pickaxe into a cave wall and see the stone disintegrate before you; revealing the treasure beneath. Go on adventures alone or with friends via internet multiplayer and craft weapons, armor, tools and other items. How you play is up to you. The possibilities are limitless.

Review RSS Feed Proteus123 says
4 Proteus123

Jan 1st, 2013 11 people agree 4 people don't

I wrote my first short "review" of this game in January 2013. At that point the game was FAR from ready. Most notably in single player mode. UI issues, world issues and not much to do. Quite alot of bugs and other things not that good. But it showed promise of something a long way away in the distance...
It has now gone a full year. It is december 2013 and I try this again. The UI issues remain (but are being worked upon). The single player world has gotten very much improved. You actually have one to speak of now. But it is still quite boring. Ground, sky, clouds, stones, grass, a few greens and trees. A couple of diffrent biomes but artificial borders between them. It does not look natural. Not much to do. Basic digging with patchy result. Graphical bugs and a VERY, VERY small inventory. The promise of something better is a bit clearer to see. Still present. But still long, long away. Next year perhaps? I'll be waiting....

xolomommy says
10 xolomommy

Dec 4th, 2012 11 people agree 6 people don't

Amazing!

IvarX says
10 IvarX

Dec 4th, 2012 13 people agree 8 people don't

Ever since the first footage of this game got released, I've thought that it had great potential. Now that I have gotten my hands on the Alpha, I am sure about this. If I look at it correctly, I can tell that in the realm explorer as how it's planned to be in the future, you can do whatever you please to do whenever you want to do it. If we look at future plans, we can tell that server administrators have endless possibilities to shape their realm. Settings will allow you to create your ideal realm. For players who like to join other realms instead, there will be tons of options, as everyone is able to host his or her own realm.

I have seen that the developers are working on this game a lot, this is why I am certain that it will go into the right direction.
All I can say is that I can't wait to see this game progress.

graspee says
1 graspee

Apr 19th, 2013 6 people agree 2 people don't

Updated: Dec 2013:
(Score lowered due to almost total lack of progress in the last year)

This game was in a groupees bundle in April 2013. On the bundle page and on desura at the same time was this trailer dating from november 2012:
Youtube.com
It shows a sandbox rpg game with character customization, mobs, combat, npcs, furniture, buildings, all this stuff. What you actually got was a basic generated landscape that you could interact with in a minecraft way but using polygons instead of blocks. No mobs, no character customization, no npcs or rpg game type stuff like the trailer showed.

But still, all that stuff would come soon right? With the money from sales on desura and from the bundle they would go on to develop this into the full game from the trailer, right?

Well no It's now December 2013 and there hasn't been a single update to the game since the groupees bundle in April. There have only been two updates in the whole of 2013 in fact and basically we haven't moved forward at all. It's still just a landscape with glitchy digging and building (seriously, the selection cursor on the tools is very difficult to control). You can see through the world, the digging is very inconsistent and hard to control. In fact the challenge in the game (and it's not a game) is digging a hole and then trying to get out of it.

The full price of this game on desura was always set to £30 but they were giving a 75% off "it's alpha!" discount. This was still way too expensive. Now the discount is gone. They are asking the full £30 for this tech demo which is proceeding at a glacial pace.

I cannot stress this enough: Do not buy this. I can't see it turning into a real game at all. Ever. You are just throwing good money away.

Beechlgz says
4 Beechlgz

Feb 11th, 2013 4 people agree 1 person doesn't

It's got a long way to go, is too overpriced for its current stage in development and you can't do much more except mine and build in a very bland, basic world. I don't think they should be charging $9.99 this early on. I sincerely hope that the next few patches bring this game to life, but I can only rate what I currently see which is... not much at all, actually.

For a demonstration though it looks extremely promising. The game as it is would be better off as a demo. It has massive potential, potential enough I believe to pioneer the next generation of Minecraft-like games. Definitely keep an eye on this game, even if it does need a lot of work at the moment.

aramis07 says
3 aramis07

Dec 16th, 2013 2 people agree 0 people don't

Not worth it at all. firstly you pay $10 for this game which is barely in alpha at the current playability, it is optimized like a potato. they have promised so much more than they can deliver at this point, once you get into the game the graphics are disgusting and gameplay is horrid. you can pretty much just mine craft and build but even then, very, very limited.

I regret my purchase of this game, it has proven to be a waste of money to me, it looked great on kickstarter and desura but once you play it, it is truly crap. although it is still in alpha but i see no future for this game.

mcquillinjd says
2 mcquillinjd

Jun 1st, 2013 3 people agree 1 person doesn't

Way overpriced for the current stage of deveolpment. Needs quite a bit of work. I hope they take my 9.99 and put it to good use. Can't wait to see this game flouish.

megaflux says
1 megaflux

Sep 3rd, 2013 4 people agree 2 people don't

shows video of a game, delivers a tech demo. development is moving at a snails pace, they are censoring the hell out of the posts on desura particularly if ANY criticism is given.

avoid it like the plague!

how can any of you be giving this a 10? i mean we get like 1 10 a year if we are lucky, and this "game" is not even 1/4 the way through development. you are all just liars plain and simple.

krudemon says
10 krudemon

Mar 5th, 2013 4 people agree 2 people don't

if this game stays on the path its following it will be epic

jquicka says
2 jquicka

Dec 16th, 2012 6 people agree 4 people don't

I don't know what to say... Based on the screenshots and video i was expecting a playable game and not some kind of minecraft-like square shaped world without npcs, objects, anything much to do. Long way ahead before this becomes anything close to a game... I agree that this can be anything at this point.

Community Rating

Average

7.8

170 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.