Quake 2 is another classic from id software.While not modded quite as much as it's predecessor or Q3A, it is still a blast to play and the mod's on offer are bundles of fun. Just step into Quake 2 Rocket Arena, armed with the new and almighty rocket and rail gun and you will be gibbing for hours on end.If you dig fast paced action, then load up the good ole Quake 2, fire up a mod or two and have some fun!

Review RSS Feed Font4na says
9 Font4na

Nov 18th, 2011 1 person agrees 0 people don't

An excellent Single player FPS
This is my first quake, i play it when i was ten years old.
I still remember when i blown up an enforcer's head. My onli reaction was scream IT STILL ALIVE!!! and the rest was just shoot to his dead body xD
IMPRESSIVE

junbug says
9 junbug

Aug 11th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

not as good as first

poshgaloo says
9 poshgaloo

Jul 3rd, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

Ditto.

newnowmusic says
9 newnowmusic

Jul 12th, 2011 1 person agrees 1 person doesn't

Quake II was for me the very pinnacle of a great FPS. Quake I had the slow medieval ambience and spooky nine inch nails provided soundscapes but the lost marine storyline of Quake II took the game leaps and bounds further.
From the very offset there is no let-up in action, you were sent to fight and even though the mission has now gone to hell, fight you must.
The landscape and wealth of visual treats the gaming environment provides never gives up and it is clear to see that most other FPS's (half-life) included looked to quake to as the basis for a thrilling and involved gaming landscape.
The ubiquitous arsenal of weapons is never really better kitted out than any other game and, as always, the shotgun (or rather super shotgun in this iteration of the quake universe) should be the discerning strogg-smashers choice of weapon.
But let us not forget the amazing force of the now reverential 'rail-gun', this thing turns your enemies to goo at the simple click of a mouse, pure gory brilliance! Past this should you find it there is fun-yet-mostly-useless BFG (That's big effin' gun to you and I) which packs more punch than Mike Tyson's home-made chilli sauce but is about as palatable.
The enemies are varied, strong and often difficult and their AI is surprisingly advanced for a game of this age.
In essence this is (you'll notice I'm attempting to ignore the Doom franchise) the quinticential godfather of FPS, great visuals, good story, awesome arsenal. What more could you want?

Ghostbreed says
9 Ghostbreed

Oct 16th, 2013

No review provided

luiz0regis says
9 luiz0regis

Feb 9th, 2013

No review provided

XF-Alien says
9 XF-Alien

Oct 2nd, 2012

No review provided

M_Macho says
9 M_Macho

Jun 24th, 2011

No review provided

mxtomek says
9 mxtomek

Feb 24th, 2011

No review provided

Jevuner says
9 Jevuner

Nov 1st, 2010

No review provided

Community Rating

Average

9.4

105 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.