Project Zomboid is an open-ended zombie-infested sandbox. It asks one simple question – how will you die? Whether surviving in Knox County free-roam or controlling Indie Stone mascot Baldspot in his quest to save his injured wife Kate – death is always a certainty. Quite how long you manage to put it off is another matter…

Review RSS Feed Heliad says
9 Heliad

Aug 28th, 2011 30 people agree 8 people don't

Though still heavily in development, Project Zomboid is a wondeful breath of fresh air in the zombie genre. Contrary to more action-oriented games with a lot of guns and a lot of gore (ex. Left 4 Dead and Nazi Zombies), Zomboid is more like a fusion of Dead Rising and The Sims, takes a step towards survival sim where players avoid confrontations with the undead and are thrilled when they find a loaf of bread, let alone a weapon. If you've been waiting for a game that challenges your zombie survival plan (because everyone should have one), rather than how many chainsaws you can fit inside of a zombie's chest, Project Zomboid is going to thrill you.

rosimdark says
9 rosimdark

Dec 30th, 2011 7 people agree 1 person doesn't

When we get the multiplaying goodness you will get a 10/10 from me!! You are doing a great job on this game!

kielov says
9 kielov

Sep 4th, 2011 4 people agree 0 people don't

I absolutely love this game, there is just something about it that makes me come back for more every time i play. I am amazed that this game hasn't sold many copies as yet, but I'm sure in the near future it will. The idea for this game is a fully explorable sandbox zombie survival. The player can rummage through houses and sheds looking for items of significance. The gameplay is fantastic and its hard to stop playing, although it does get frustrating when someone barges into your house and cracks you over the back of the head with a hammer. Along with there being an endless supply of ravenous zombies, there are also survivors scattered across town, they can be equipped with anything from a hammer to a shotgun and it's up to you whether to kill them and steal their goods, or let them go free, but i warn you, if you let them go free, it may come back to haunt you. There are quite a few things that need to be fixed in this game, such as the accessibility of items in your backpack, or crafting, or the character spontaneously taking his clothes off every few minutes. They could also add a lot of things which would make this game a lot better, things such as cars, new weapons, and a larger city/town/area to explore.
Overall I would definately recommend this game to anyone out there with the time & money, you will not regret buying this game.

9/10

ThisPlatypus says
9 ThisPlatypus

Aug 20th, 2012 3 people agree 0 people don't

9, just because I can't give a 10 in good conscience yet or you wouldn't be driven to do any better ;P love the game, this is my alternative to Day Z, when I don't feel like dealing with the intricacies of that.

mrjesus321 says
9 mrjesus321

Aug 29th, 2011 4 people agree 1 person doesn't

I LOVE IT. I'm just waiting for more updates for this game, I guess that's the only problem though... Waiting for the updates can be kind of a game of chance, sometimes they release one after one week or after a few months! I purchased this game as soon as they let me and have been playing it ever since, I forgive the stale gameplay since it's only on version 0.1.5c I think. Really great indie game that takes what the community says into account and has so much ******* potential. BUY THIS GAME NOW WHILE IT'S ONLY $8! (Free updates for life, just like prepurchasing minecraft)

TheGoodPlan says
9 TheGoodPlan

Dec 20th, 2012 2 people agree 0 people don't

i like this game it has the right mixture of horror and survival

Waddlesticks says
9 Waddlesticks

Aug 6th, 2012 3 people agree 1 person doesn't

Play it! That is all you need to know to be frank!

Gameplay: 8/10
Sound: 8/10
Graphics: 9/10
Story: 5/10 - Isn't complete so ignore this one

Dimittri says
9 Dimittri

May 20th, 2012 3 people agree 1 person doesn't

Awesome game, slow development but still great. Cool pixel graphics and features! A nice game for zombie game lovers!

Kergar says
9 Kergar

Sep 11th, 2012 2 people agree 1 person doesn't

I never saw an alpha beta with so much potential in it. The game itself is a of the fallout-two-style graphic with the gameplay of a good real-time rpg, so nothing exeptional on that front. What makes Project Zomboid unique is the way everything is set to make you feel like you are not playing just an rpg, but a full-spectrum zombie apocalypse simulator. Tnx to the mechanic of the game and the simple -but functional- graphic engine, all the needs and impulses a true survivor would find himself to face in the struggle to stay alive is implemented and taken into account. Something that makes the experience absolutly worth the time it takes. I have to say that the game itself is not for evrebody, and the developers are proud of it. Running and shooting, for example, can be the wisest (only?) choice in left for dead, but in PZ such a tactic will probably end up with your character too tired to run, out of ammo, or cornered by the mob of zombies lured by the gunshots (Most likely, the three things at the same time). Even if you manage to get out of the situation with only a scratch, it wouldn't mean you are safe. I mean..the whole game is about the "Realistic" experience of a survivor. How realistic would it be, if there wasn't the chance that the fever you cought a few days after running from a nasty situation with just some scratches was to be Only a fever? it's zombie apocalypse, my friend, and you are not more immune to the virus then the bunch of guys punching at your door.

DaveyJay1984 says
9 DaveyJay1984

Dec 22nd, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

An excellent concept. Fun to play and can be made exceptionally challenging or very easy depending on what you like.
The direction that this game is heading makes me very excited.
Obviously this is a work in progress so this is a review based on that fact and some little minor gripes get a free pass as they are slated to be corrected.

Community Rating

Average

9.4

9645 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.