Project Zomboid is an open-ended zombie-infested sandbox. It asks one simple question – how will you die? Whether surviving in Knox County free-roam or controlling Indie Stone mascot Baldspot in his quest to save his injured wife Kate – death is always a certainty. Quite how long you manage to put it off is another matter…

Review RSS Feed QuixoticRocket says
7 QuixoticRocket

Nov 14th, 2011 34 people agree 15 people don't

This has lots of promise to be a real gem once all the functionality is completed and the content and polish is applied.

At the moment it's an enjoyable but rough game (to be expected as an alpha) that'll leave you wishing they were closer to finishing it.

This would be a 9 review except: lack of content drops the score a point and lack of polish drops the score another point.
I find it very difficult to rate a game 10 unless it has something really special but once this is finished the retail version could easily be a 10. Definitely worth keeping an eye on this.

Andrew554 says
7 Andrew554

Oct 5th, 2011 6 people agree 0 people don't

Its a great game, I find it hard to rate it a 10 at the moment considering it is only just got the concrete down.

It can be a great game and i look forward to seeing new features are the game developes.

At the moment however, it is a little to repetative due to the simple fact there is not that much to do.

I would recommend in the future to give more funtionality to items and make the interface easier to navigate, as I have come across items that I find have no use at all, and I have died many times trying to find bandages in my inventory or trying to swap from the shotgun to a melee weapon, It would also be great to have a function that when you click an item it goes to your inventory instead of dragging or bring in the right click. I am sure however these will be fixed as the game progresses.

I will wait, eager to try out new features.

Teamfortress2452 says
7 Teamfortress2452

Nov 18th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Currently, I think this game is too hard. Not because of its metagame or any of that but because of the number of bugs. Of course, this is still an alpha and my score will increase as time progresses :)
Combat is not the best right now and controls and item organization (And taskbars) are complicated.
Lots of bugs including and not limited to zombies nocliping through walls and invisible walls that block the players.
Overall, the quality is nice and I trust the devs to do a good job. 7/10 is a good score for this game. Good luck devs! :)

BulimicCannibal says
7 BulimicCannibal

Mar 28th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

I have a lot of hope for the future of this title, but in its current state there really isn't much to do after completing the tutorial, the game is a bit too easy and you can't yet interact with NPCs.

However for me to give this game a 7/10 at such an early stage really speaks a lot for the quality I see this game achieving in the future.

Global_Meltdown says
7 Global_Meltdown

Feb 18th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

I love Project Zomboid so why 7?

Pro's:

-Refreshing new take on Zombie Games
-Very dynamic gameplay
-Works on a variety of PC's from low to high end
-Great storyline in the works
-Hours of exploring Muldraugh and West Point Kentucky
-Map tools just released to allow player created environments
-Multiplayer is in testing now

Cons:

-Steep learning curve
-Still in development so some features remain broken not implemented
-Gameplay at times feels like a Sandbox game like Minecraft I guess some would call that a pro.......
-Dev's sometimes leak spoilers of future updates prematurely
-Fear that Dev's will succumb to the steam/bandwagon customers and n00bify the game or make it too much about crafting/farming and much less survival horror driven singleplayer.

Intentions are great, lets hope they stay true to their original fan base and make a good game wonderful.

Eulenetui says
7 Eulenetui

Oct 30th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

I would love updates

PacManiacDK says
7 PacManiacDK

Oct 27th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Game still in ALPHA. Anything can happen so no review yet.

AWEsomeConnor says
7 AWEsomeConnor

Oct 8th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

A very good game ecspacily since it is still in early alpha but the bugs this game contains are brutal, it pains me to say it but I just can't give this game a higher score until they fix it. There are a number of bugs such as the invisible walls smack dab in the middle of the street, I have run into these countless times and they have even gone so far as to get me killed, but other issues are simply that the game itself is not finished like the sprites for the majority of the blunt weapons, and the fact that for the sprite of the pistol you hold it upside down! And that when your gun has run out of ammo you won't do any thing but try to fire an empty gun, you won't even try shove the zombies, a thing thats killed me on survival, many times.

But if they can fix these issues than this game is definitly 9/10 material and if they add a simple story ( even a bad one ) its istantly 10/10 in my book.

pikminkid10 says
7 pikminkid10

Jul 26th, 2013 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

hi

Leetgrain says
7 Leetgrain

May 13th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

It's a good game, but I can't rate it well yet as it's in alpha/beta/zeta and I run into a heck of a lot of bugs at the moment. But even so it's still a genuinely fun game.

Community Rating

Average

9.4

9627 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.