Project Zomboid is an open-ended zombie-infested sandbox. It asks one simple question – how will you die? Whether surviving in Knox County free-roam or controlling Indie Stone mascot Baldspot in his quest to save his injured wife Kate – death is always a certainty. Quite how long you manage to put it off is another matter…

Review RSS Feed benwilkins says
2 benwilkins

Jun 19th, 2013 0 people agree 3 people don't

Way too hard and too many bugs. Good idea but still too early to be any good.

dakial says
2 dakial

Jun 8th, 2013 0 people agree 2 people don't

Still very very rough. The idea is good but it is not enjoyable to play. Also the controls are only comfortable with people with a proper mouse. As most people have notebooks this game should be adapted to be keyboard only (it is totally possible)

rawrieatchu01 says
2 rawrieatchu01

Oct 10th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

Still waiting for it to update out of the Tech Demo.

intergang says
2 intergang

Sep 1st, 2012 0 people agree 2 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

You need more than a hunger, health and a sleep system with zombies chasing you to claim your making the first realistic zombie game. I was expecting World War Z in isometric, instead I am getting Minecraft isometric in a realistic setting.

What exactly about project Zomboid's engine merits praise for adding a female character? Do you expect a Nobel Peace prize for adding different skin color to NPC’s and players?

The game simply doesn't deliver what it promises and the developers make arguments, with all due respect, they are not in big enough waters to take arms with. Silent Hilll had a two headed baby that walked on arms. Your game is nowhere near as scary or as controversial as that one. Sorry but get over yourselves if you think zombie kids in your game will make a stir with anyone who isn’t an idiot and aware of the type of game they are playing.

The developers say the game takes place at the start of the zombie outbreak, yet, they want me suspend belief that there will be no kids, old people, pets, service workers (firefighters, cops, paramedics) and other things that should be present.

In Project Zomboid you can rob an innocent NPC, set his house on fire and leave him dead in the street to be eaten by zombies. Yet the developers go on to state before anyone made an argument against it, that zombie kids would be too emotional to handle in a game that features mass violence. There is not only something wrong with the empathy in these individuals but also grave errors in logic. A scenario I expected before I jumped into the wrong water here, was a NPC trying to rob you for food to feed it’s family.

For that to have a realistic tone, the environment needs a scale akin to Dwarf Fortress where as a history of events is generated, so when your player takes control into the world, you are only a part of history.

Lastly, the sandbox mode feels kinda lame. I wish I could create my own character in sandbox rather than being bound to what feels templates.

WaveyDL says
2 WaveyDL

Mar 16th, 2013 1 person agrees 2 people don't

Very slow updates and nothing much to do yet

twist34 says
2 twist34

Nov 17th, 2013

No review provided

Beatlejuicey says
2 Beatlejuicey

Aug 14th, 2013

No review provided

dinnma says
2 dinnma

Jul 24th, 2013

No review provided

ZeNoodles says
2 ZeNoodles

May 30th, 2013

No review provided

killermonk266 says
2 killermonk266

Apr 4th, 2013

No review provided

Community Rating

Average

9.4

9641 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.