In the puzzle oriented expansion Penumbra: Requiem long lost friends will return and aid Philip on his quest, but can they really be trusted? In the bizarre world of Penumbra: Requiem players will experience another psychological thrill on a level unheard of. This time telling what is real and what is not will be even harder and not always trusting your senses will be essential in order to survive.

Review RSS Feed REENIGAV says
8 REENIGAV

Mar 4th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

No scary parts :(, anyways, good game

Crypt says
7 Crypt

Sep 12th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

It's marketed as a horror game, and expansion to Black Plague, however this is not a Penumbra game. It's an eerie puzzle game. The only real fear presented in this game is the paranoia you get simply from knowing it's supposed to be a horror. Other than that, you've just got a puzzle game with some very minor Penumbra story sprinkled in. And the bits of story actually ruin it, in my opinion.

The puzzle aspect however is pretty spectacular. Many puzzles leave you with a great feeling of accomplishment, and some even make you feel like a genius. They're well executed, pretty, and the atmosphere is wonderfully executed.

The story is negligible, and best if you just ignore it. Trust me. Pretend this game never happened in Penumbra canon.

stjohnj says
10 stjohnj

Apr 22nd, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

My favorite out of the whole series. Regardless of what people think,this game is very good. It focuses on the whole philosophical portion of this game and tells Phillips life in his mind. This game really had me thinking about freedom and life. Plus the ending theme in Black Plague and Requiem are my favorite with so much serenity to them. "It's better to have story and end it, then to never know it has begun"

DJBeastBoy209 says
8 DJBeastBoy209

Feb 15th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

i cant play this game after i bought says it cant load some bitmap file and wont let play how do i fix

boredgunner says
8 boredgunner

Sep 27th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

A one-sided, puzzle based expansion for Penumbra. There is no real enemy contact, and it's totally unnecessary. As far as I know, this expansion was only released due to people not being satisfied with Black Plague's excellent, but semi-open ending.

Theevina says
8 Theevina

Aug 29th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

Keys, keys, and more keys.

This game has no monsters, no horror, and a very linear puzzle-based gameplay. It's very unlike the others. Its main purpose is to finish up the story of the series and it does that fairly well, although it may still be up to your interpretation. The new things include a bunch of dialogue and some new places and puzzles to try.

iNCRiMiNAT3 says
7 iNCRiMiNAT3

Jul 6th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

Penumbra: Requiem suffers because it doesn't try to be scary like the previous installments. Rather then fearing for your life while playing, you're left with only a creepy atmosphere that is thrown out of focus by the numerous puzzles littered throughout.

Instead of having enemies around every corner and nothing to defend yourself with, you're left solving puzzles the entire map, which becomes quite repetitive after a while.

Not only this but a number of the puzzles are extremely confusing and make no sense at all.

The only thing going for Requiem is its immersive environment.

It is drawn beautifully, attention to detail here is magnificent. You feel like you're actually solving the puzzles for real.

If you're into repetitive puzzle solving, then this is the game for you.

If not, give it a shot just for the creepy environment, which can be ruined if you're too busy solving the puzzles to notice it.

If neither of these suit you, forget it even exists.

7 out of 10.

spycose says
10 spycose

Nov 7th, 2011 0 people agree 0 people don't

awesome game !

Dreamer_E says
7 Dreamer_E

Oct 16th, 2013

No review provided

guerira says
9 guerira

Sep 23rd, 2013

No review provided

Community Rating

Average

8.2

44 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.