Penumbra is a first person horror adventure focusing on story, immersion and puzzle solving. Violence and combat is hardly an option - the player has to use wits to guide Philip through his final test, and this makes the series unique in offering a truly dangerous and terrifying experience.

Review RSS Feed chainer8472 says
10 chainer8472

May 10th, 2011 2 people agree 0 people don't

Game
One of best games I have ever player. Horror atmosphere have been freezing blood in my veins all the time. This horror game is not based on heard attack moments like other else. Player experiences constant thrill during playing - I will never forgot moment I was crouching behing boxes and trying to pass though hall guarded by that evil undead dog.

Engine and graphics
Graphic is pretty good, you can see some nice light transformations, textures are good looking, models too. Physical engine is top even now, possibility of manipulation with objects is extraordinary and you cannot find something like this in other games. Only Source engine limits to Penumbra's HPL1Engine.
Sometimes is criticized presence of weapons in game or strange fight system. Fighting with enemies is chalenging and if you cannot beat them, still you can fool them. For me, it works fine.

License and distribution
You can buy version directly from Frictional and this way obtain version for Linux, Windows even for Mac. And it is DRM free and now even opensource. Son do not hesitate to buy.

ADTeamâ„¢ says
9 ADTeamâ„¢

Feb 18th, 2011 2 people agree 0 people don't

Just amazing. One of the best games I've played.

cyb3rk19ht says
10 cyb3rk19ht

Nov 16th, 2010 2 people agree 0 people don't

Amazing game, it will have you jumping out of your seat!

BadcatDoesAmnesia says
10 BadcatDoesAmnesia

Sep 8th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Hmmm what game has very good puzzles? "ummm"

What game has, you know what **** this, all I wanna freaking say is this ******* game is AWESOMEMMEMEMEM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

alldatcheese says
10 alldatcheese

Aug 10th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

I had fun with this game. It's scary, badass and fun at the same time. I LOVE IT!

Although either the puzzles are EXTREMELY HARD, or I'm just really stupid.

0b1der says
10 0b1der

Jun 28th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

The only game alive that does this ****, and has this plot, and like the setting to it is comfortable!

OneManStudio says
10 OneManStudio

Jan 26th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

One of the best games I have ever played. For me it is THE definition of the Horror Adventure Genre.

Level Design:

++Balanced Details
++Enough Object Interactions
++Perfect Dark Ambient Lighting
++Clear level structure
++Scale Perfect (neither long times to walk)

Gameplay:

++Physics Interactions(Door Physics)
++Easy operable HUD(Inventory)

-Playtime could be longer :P

Story:

++Enough Background Information
++Well narrated with the notes

-More other mediums to narrated the story(Maybe short movies on tv screens)

Sound Design:

++Plain and realiable sounds
++Not to much background music
++Terrifiying melody if the monster chase you

But for the first project as a gaming company (if my informations are right) Well done! :)

Piacesigamers says
10 Piacesigamers

Jul 29th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

what is t.. o no ... ooo nooooo!. Run!!!

VJM148 says
10 VJM148

May 25th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

I only played the demo but, I will tell you what I liked from it. The story was interesting, the puzzles was challenging, and through the demo, I was close to the screen waiting for something scary and when it did, I jumped. This a definite competitor to amnesia, great game!

ScreamScreen says
9 ScreamScreen

May 22nd, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Never have I been so fascinated by a game from Frictional Games :D Penumbra is also one of the coolest first person games you can find, if you ask me :D I rated it 9 out of 5 things I focus on when reviewing, it's Quality, Scares, Length, Lag and Story (atmosphere and stuff like that is included in the Quality!)

Quality: I really love the voice-acting in this game it's epic nuff said! The atmosphere is creepy and dark when having to walk through caves with giant spiders, my god xD Scares: Honestly this is more of a puzzle game than a scare game in my opinion but I really like that the only threat is, well Im not gonna spoil it for the ones who hasn't played it yet :D Not many scares, a little sad but I didn't make the game, and it's still a really good game eitherway :D Length: OK length of the game I suppose, took 16-17 episodes to finish (16-17 since I ended episode 16 right at the ending xD) Lag: Very little lag, it lagged a little bit, but not much ;) Story: SO MANY NOTES! When you find a note it is super long xD I didn't read any of them because I dont have time, but I know the story, it's really good going to Greenland and stuff freezing to death is probably better than being eaten and slaughtered by monsters xD

Quality: 9 - Scares: 7 - Length: 8 - Lag: 9 - Story: 9 It actually ended with a 9 instead, not an 8 :D Good job!

Community Rating

Average

9.3

229 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.