Trapped in a shadowy, underground complex, intrepid explorer Philip continues the search he began in Penumbra: Overture, to discover the truth behind his father’s disappearance. Surrounded by enemies and assaulted by terror from all sides, Philip must collect clues and solve vexing puzzles while combating the gnawing psychological terrors that assail his mind and threaten to strip him of his sanity. Can Philip master his fear and finally uncover the truth behind a mystery that has haunted him for a lifetime? Only you can decide...

Review RSS Feed Crypt says
9 Crypt

May 14th, 2012 2 people agree 0 people don't

The game is a great blend of adventure, action and horror. The game focuses significantly more on the story than Overture, which was very nice, especially since it managed to do this while still being a bit more scary than Overture. The game messes with your head in a variety of ways, which emphasizes the puzzle aspects. Overall, this is a great game, definitely worth the money.

arsh2010 says
9 arsh2010

Jul 3rd, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

really really good game man

kolito says
9 kolito

Jun 16th, 2011 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Excellent game, the best of the three

ScreamScreen says
9 ScreamScreen

May 22nd, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

I ranked this 9 because this game is just amazing I chose 9 because of 5 things I focus on when reviewing, it's Quality, Scares, Lag, Length and Story (atmosphere and stuff like that is included in the Quality!)

Quality: Great Quality! The atmosphere is creepy and the monsters look really good (isn't that thing in their stomach something you get when your born?) Some bugs here and there, just good graphics aswell :D Scares: Some Jumpscares and Scares here and there quite good ones, I liked it and how the monsters had random items in their hands like flashlights, fireaxes, pickaxes, etc :D Creepy! Lag: experienced some lag here and there but that was because of my GFX card so :P Length: Pretty good length, could be enough for like 15-18 episodes long :D Story: Ah, yes, the best of the whole game! You start off getting a letter from your father from a mine in Greenland, but this is Overture! Black Plague! Still looking for your father you venture around with monsters around you or so called, the infected, they are human! Only the infection spread and made humans into disgusting creatures! As you venture you will have another person around with you, just this one, is in your head, his name is Clarence and he absolutely wants you dead! You find your father dead later on! You also find this woman Amabell which you kill because of Clarence made you see things! In the end Clarence gets out of your head, since you made a cure but as I expected, Clarence now became whole, he found a dead body of one of those creatures and tries to kill you, but not for long! Some ancients of them comes to the rescue and kills him for good! The ending of it is rather odd and just time taking... But good puzzles, EXTREMELY hard for my brain to handle on it's own xD HUGE 10 I wanted to add Overtures story aswell, just not enough letters!

Quality: 9 - Scares: 8 - Lag: 9 - Length: 9 - Story: 10 Therefore I choose 9, lovely game one of the best stories I have ever seen in a game ever, good job!

iNCRiMiNAT3 says
9 iNCRiMiNAT3

Jul 6th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

Like its predecessor, this game is utterly terrifying.

Hallways are long and twisted.

Dialogue is creepy and complex.

Suspense isn't as high here, but it's still present. You can still feel like there is no way to escape and that you've just dug deeper into hell.

There are no weapons this time, making you vulnerable to anything put in your path.

The developers don't mess around.

It isn't fun when you don't have a gun.

There is only one fault, and that is the enemy. The enemies of the first game were cleverly designed and very realistic.

These enemies aren't realistic, at all.

This removes some of the suspense.

Plus, the way they are designed is laughable. After your first playthough, it's quite fun toying with them and laughing like an idiot while you do it.

This removes some of the terror.

Great game regardless.

Don't play if you don't want nightmares.

milzou says
9 milzou

Jul 26th, 2014

No review provided

Dreamer_E says
9 Dreamer_E

Oct 16th, 2013

No review provided

theweeknd123 says
9 theweeknd123

Aug 29th, 2013

No review provided

ray900x says
9 ray900x

May 16th, 2013

No review provided

☣Kaernk☣ says
9 ☣Kaernk☣

Nov 22nd, 2012

No review provided

Community Rating

Average

9.4

105 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.