A fully dynamic haunting-simulator. Experience the horrors of a haunting that's never the same twice. SEE THE SYSTEM REQUIREMENTS BEFORE PURCHASING. Test out the beta to make sure the game will work on your computer. Features: Free Content Updates: New scenarios, locations, characters, gameplay mechanics, and more! Sleep System: Switch to static cameras to watch the house as you sleep. Creepy Sound Design: Headphone users rejoice! Controller Support: Xbox 360 controller and Mouse & Keyboard support. Dynamic Hauntings: No haunting is ever the same thanks to the complex action-reaction and randomization system I made. First-Person Camera: Much like Paranormal Activity or Blair Witch Project, the view is that of the camera. Intricate Ghost Story: Uncover the mystery through journal entries. Graphics: Unreal Engine 3 makes Paranormal look amazing, implementing many of the latest graphical advances. Push your computer (and sanity) to the limits!

Review RSS Feed wally1980 says
2 wally1980

Aug 1st, 2013 2 people agree 0 people don't

lack of support

xSs_I_NeRD_RaGe says
2 xSs_I_NeRD_RaGe

Aug 29th, 2012 6 people agree 4 people don't

I really wanted to like this game, it's such a brilliant idea, maybe so brilliant that it's a little hard to pull off. Now I'll be the 1st to admit that this review is a little bias in the sense that I only played a few variations of the old beta builds. However those builds were all so similar in the way they played, the scares, the sound design and level design that I kinda figured that that's what they want the game to be. While I respect that, I will say it wasn't scary... which kinda defeats the purpose. Was it a total fail? No, it made me uneasy a few times, but it's basically the same effect as watching a Salad Fingers episode while tired. The whole setup for those of you who are yet to play is that you aimlessly meander around your tiny house and stuff just sort of happens around you, what kind of stuff you ask? Well it ranges from pieces of furniature moving in the dark where you can't see it moving, little wooden dolls getting in your way and trapping you until the game decides to let you move again, stuff happening behind you and yes everyones favourite; cheap jump scares. I feel kind of let down, like this idea had so much more it could give and instead I got to walk around some guys house waiting for the next thing to shout boo at me. Maybe the newer versions have a little more to give, but I'm not paying to find out. By all means go and check out the beta builds that you can find free on google but I make no promise that you'll like what you find.

2/10 Disappointing at best

Contemplar says
2 Contemplar

Aug 11th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

Buggy, nonsensical and full of cheap cop-outs.

Even if I overlook the times I was randomly glitched, unable to move until my batteries died out and I was given an arbitrary poorly explained/shown floating "insanity" death, the game has nothing to offer in the way of horror but poor startle-scares and screamers.

I'm all for suspending disbelief for the sake of immersion, but when some of the jump-scare is literally a tiny mannequin on a crucifix sliding in front of the camera like a flash motion-tween anchored to your face, and completely unexplained? It's hard to overlook. It's not really unravelling the mystery of the house when there are pieces of paper just laying around with the whole details on them, without any triggers to revealing them and no effort needed to find them. The dude lives there. The papers are sat around the house from day 1 in the open. This isn't a mystery, it's a farce.

The promise of "a new haunting every time, never play the same twice" is false in the most blatant sense. You can trigger many of the events manually just by doing something as complex as simply walking into the room it occurs in. Every game, from the first moments of day 1, if you walk into the garage the car will start on its own. Zero variation in this. The rest behave like they're attached to a RNG. On top of this, most events have no sense of timing, and it isn't unusual to have several things randomly trigger and overlap each other, making it impossible to focus on them. For example, you can receive a phone call from an associate talking about the haunting, but during this several other events can randomly happen, and you will be unable to attend them as you cannot pick up the phone and move with it (it's just a stationary object left on the kitchen table that plays a sound file when you answer it).

It had so much potential but the total lack of pacing or logic ruined any sense of horror or intrigue. It feels like I was given an alpha, not a game worth paying for.

Eroyal says
2 Eroyal

Dec 13th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

***PLEASE READ IF YOU ARE A MAC USER!***
taken from my posts so that's why it has the update, if you wanna track the updates on my experience look there

It runs buts pretty darn laggy. The beta had a bit of Audio cut outs every here and there but wasn't THIS bad. The game force quit at the beginning of the 3rd day at the bottom of the steps. Also I could stream this and screen record this fine before but now when I try it is EXTREMELY laggy. Like I'm walking every other second having to wait a bit. Hoping updates can reduce this effect. Also the toggling on settings really doesn't help as it doesn't show a difference in the menu meaning I can't tell if it's on or not. I've also check my system requirements as well and they have everything requested. (Also I'm a Mac User so you know)
Now to the game itself. THE FULL GAME IS SOOOOO... MUCH BETTER
Having access to all the new rooms, the voice acting, the scares. I can't believe how much it evolved. But this is amazing and I can sure say that this game is beyond what I thought my money was getting me.
In conclusion this game would get a 10 but it doesn't run on my system well at all even though it worked with Beta and has the right requirements.

UPDATE: I decided to give the game another try Yesterday. I knew it was gonna be laggy but I thought why not. Well now when I start it up it crashes every time. It won't even go past the loading screen. The game basically is just sitting there. I wanna play it because although it lagged when I did previously it was still fun. Now I don't know what to do. It basically is broken after playing it the 3rd time. If you have a Mac I HIGHLY recommend you to buy with caution as the Beta ran without crashing (it lagged but currently it lags every two steps I take) and my system meets the requirements. If there is a way to fix this that would be great but until then I'm out 10 bucks.

Game Itself: Solid 9
Issues Make It: Solid 2

r-n-diego says
2 r-n-diego

Sep 7th, 2013

No review provided

lemaheux says
2 lemaheux

Jul 20th, 2013

No review provided

properbo_ says
2 properbo_

Jun 24th, 2013

No review provided

mm2441 says
2 mm2441

Oct 3rd, 2012

No review provided

Tomo350 says
2 Tomo350

Aug 29th, 2012

No review provided

Kman418 says
2 Kman418

Aug 21st, 2012

No review provided

Community Rating

Average

8.4

633 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.