In the remote mountains of Colorado, horrors wait inside Mount Massive Asylum. A long-abandoned home for the mentally ill, recently re-opened by the “research and charity” branch of the transnational Murkoff Corporation, has been operating in strict secrecy… until now. Acting on a tip from an inside source, independent journalist Miles Upshur breaks into the facility, and what he discovers walks a terrifying line between science and religion, nature and something else entirely. Once inside, his only hope of escape lies with the terrible truth at the heart of Mount Massive.

Review RSS Feed ScreamScreen says
9 ScreamScreen

Oct 5th, 2013 3 people agree 2 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

I chose 9 out of 10 because of 5 things I focus on when reviewing horror games, it's Quality, Scares, Lag, Story and Length! (Atmosphere and stuff like that is included in the Quality!)

Quality: The Quality was amazing, I absolutely think the graphics looked incredible! But the graphics isn't what's most important for a horror game, it needs a good story and quite a few not cheap scares :D Other than that, the voice-acting was very well made, graphics was amazing, I loved the idea with night-vision camera, and the ambience is also very good, but the dramatic music in scares/chasing turned it down a bit for me! Scares: Awesome scares, with the Walrider ghost attacking you out of nowhere just spread fear into my body, cus I am absolutely terrified by ghosts and demons in games! Also the animations for when the fat guy kills you is also good and that the body might land in the view of the camera so you see a headless body laying there! Lag: I experinced a little lag but that was probably my computer and my recording program's fault :P Story: I really liked the story being held inside the asylum at all times and the mixed feelings in the notes about the Walrider and the patients everything kind of links to eachother and the storyline very well :) Length: I thaught 15 episodes for a game like this was pretty fine, just fine for my taste not too long, not too short, just absolutely fine :)

Quality: BIG 9 - Scares: BIG 9 - Lag: 9 - Story: BIG 9 - Length: 10 - An amazing game with awesome music, scares, ambience, voice-acting, graphics, etc. everything was incredibly well made, I really enjoyed this game alot and I wish it didn't end this quick! A well deserved 9!

TheUnbeholden says
9 TheUnbeholden

Sep 23rd, 2013 3 people agree 2 people don't

I found the story pieced together and it never really gave you any real way to fight the threat, so instead your character was thrust into the danger. Because logically your character would not try and stop the evil spirit if they have no idea how to stop it. I found this rather odd decision. 95% of players would obviously choose to run away when they get the chance. I don't see why our character can't... for dramatic purposes it does make for a sadder, more violent ending though.

+ Atmosphere is so thick you can feel it from the first few moments of the game
+ Jumpscares, eventhough a fair few are predictable. Theres a few that aren't though.
+ It feels like a evolution of Amnesia. You can hide underneath tables and beds, and in lockers. Enemies actually try and look through lockers though if they see you go in the room.
+ Story keeps you intrigued.
+ The enemies are humanlike and disturbed ugly individuals. Suffice to say, you are frightened. The fact that some of them are friendly it seems is quite

- I found the story to be a bit lacking after its all said and done. I felt like there could have been a bit more to it. Keeping you intrigued works to a certain point.
- The horror is a bit to focused on jump scares, it does shake it up a bit every now and then though.
- Game lost its fear factor in the last 40 minutes but thats ok, I was thoroughly satisfied by that point, at this point you merely want to the story to be resolved.
- Batteries (and therefore Nightvision) was quite plentiful with some bare minimum exploration but luckily I used it only when I absolutely needed to.

PortalPlayerSteam says
9 PortalPlayerSteam

Sep 27th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

It A Fun Game But Its Not 10/10 Because One Theres No Good Hack Tools I Know Why Hacking? But I Beaten The Game Two SPOILER SPOILER SPOILER SPOILER SPOILER SPOILER SPOILER SPOILER SPOILER SPOILER SPOILER SPOILER SPOILER SPOILER SPOILER SPOILER SPOILER SPOILER SPOILER SPOILER SPOILER SPOILER At The End You Die So Thats Sad

GameSomniac™ says
9 GameSomniac™

Jun 4th, 2014 0 people agree 2 people don't

Say goodbye to your innocence, you'll never be the same after playing this game again. Outlast is a highly controversial survival horror game that isn't afraid to cross some boundaries. In fact this game rapes boundaries while you're forced to watch. (Remember the goodbye innocence part?) You play as a journalist infiltrating the wicked Murkoff Corporation after receiving word from a whistleblower that the company is up to no good. Like all journalists to stupid for their own good, you trespass your way right into the middle of all hell breaking loose. From there on you're attacked mercilessly, chased endlessly through out the corroding hallways, forced to hide under tables and inside of lockers, defenseless in every sense of the word. This game feeds on fear, it thrives on it. Have fun...

WaXeN says
9 WaXeN

Dec 8th, 2013 0 people agree 3 people don't

Amazing, close to perfect, sensational for a indie game

Shadow1055 says
9 Shadow1055

Nov 18th, 2013 0 people agree 4 people don't

This game is wonderfully frightening and the graphics are amazing. The first person body really helped with the games immersion.

The only problem I found with the game is the story. Although it is interesting in its own way, being in an asylum is rather cliche.

Another great thing about this game are the characters. Although we never heard the main character talk, the notes that he had written in his notebook kind of created the character of Miles Upshur.

So all in all this game is amazing, incredibly fun and frightening.

Glasgow_Smile says
9 Glasgow_Smile

Sep 26th, 2013 2 people agree 2 people don't

It's a real shame that Outlast and Amnesia: A Machine for Pigs popped up almost at the same time, so at the end of the day this is a competition basically. Outlast was much more scarier, but AMFP was more interesting. Although Outlast scares a **** out of people from time to time, there are few negative things mentioned below. As I proceeded further in the game, I noticed that there are a lots of jumpscares and chase scenes. Obviously Outlast has its style, but I faced the same big guy-monster so many times who was coming after me that sometimes I didn't even know why he was chasing me? Basically the game is based around the chasings and jumpscares, but the scares are also so very well designed, along with the environment and sound effects, so there's not much to complain about. The ending was quite classic, no reason to mention because of the spoilers, but I do believe that Red Barrels has a very bright future with horror games.

Lawie says
9 Lawie

Dec 8th, 2013 1 person agrees 2 people don't

A fantastic horror experience. To be honest, I'm not into horror games. I don't like to be scared in games, although I do love to be challenged. In the game, you only have 3 choices. Run, Hide or Die. Great graphics, great look & feel. The feeling that you are being watched, and the feeling anything can happen at any time, makes you feel on edge. Great audio and sounds. As you continue in this crazy story, you'll discover gruesome and horrible things. But in the end, everything will be explained and everything will be clear. It is a satisfying, yet predictable ending. Not a great one, but good enough. I do hope there will be a sequel.

nowac2645 says
9 nowac2645

Dec 15th, 2013 2 people agree 3 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

The good things are that the jumpscares are well done, the graphics are great, the atmosphere is wonderful, Chris Walker freaked me out quite a lot and I'm going to make this a little bit of a long sentence, there were a lot of scares in the beginning. Then when it started to get a little boring, new scares came in to make the experience better. The music is also well done, the ambience tracks were indeed creepy. The not so great things were that things were sort of starting to get a little repetitive but the amount of scariness in the game didn't change which is what I loved about the game. So despite a few of the things getting repetitive, this was a great game.

9/10 Great!

alldatcheese says
9 alldatcheese

Nov 25th, 2013 1 person agrees 3 people don't

The scares were effortless imo, but it's just that the game's storyline, graphics, atmosphere and gameplay is what makes it look good.

Community Rating

Average

9

66 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.