OpenArena is a community-produced deathmatch FPS based on GPL idTech3 technology. There are many game types supported including Free For All, Capture The Flag, Domination, Overload, Harvester, and more. There are 17 unique player models to choose from and 12 weapons.

Review RSS Feed pg1982 says
9 pg1982

Dec 13th, 2011 3 people agree 1 person doesn't

great fast fps, a good 2nd version of quake 3 arena

alexhairyman says
9 alexhairyman

Dec 12th, 2011 4 people agree 2 people don't

yup, it's quake alright, and now that it's on the desura system, updating should be a breeze, hopefully mods will start to pop up.

risingshock says
9 risingshock

Sep 8th, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

awesome with a good variety of guns

nawwashere says
9 nawwashere

May 16th, 2012 2 people agree 1 person doesn't

Even though I've always thought that the textures in OpenArena are ugly, some of the models out of proportion and some of the maps are horrible - I still keep coming back, and I actually prefer OpenArena over q3a.

Keep it coming guys - I love this game (no matter how many times it "dies").

DarthJustin says
9 DarthJustin

Jan 17th, 2012 2 people agree 1 person doesn't

Does what it's meant to do more or less. Really, you can't complain, I've never played Quake 3 except for on the Dreamcast back in the day, but compared to Quake Live and other current arena shooters this one is severely offensively biased. It gives it a unique feel. Yeah the graphics are some of the worst we've ever seen and there are a lot of things that feel unfinished, but this charming little frag extravaganza will appeal to fans of hardcore arena shooters just fine, and it'll run on nearly any computer you have lying around in the darkest corners of your attic that nobody's been to since you upgraded your computer in 2001.

Bottom line, not for everybody, but if you're a hardcore FPS fan the learning curve isn't very steep and you can have many thrilling moments playing a great shooter. I've wasted hours in front of the screen playing Open Arena, it isn't Quake Live, but it's fun, and, like I said earlier, charming.

koyal13 says
9 koyal13

Dec 20th, 2011 2 people agree 1 person doesn't

Un juego fantastico, muy ligero, y rapido. Aunque no se lleva la nota maxima porque creo que se deberia mejorar la infraestructura online.

forgiver says
9 forgiver

Dec 17th, 2011 2 people agree 1 person doesn't

An amazing evolution of a classic! I own the originals, long operational on Linux, and now operational on all systems! Hats off to the devs!

gmh_michael says
9 gmh_michael

Dec 13th, 2011 2 people agree 1 person doesn't

Opem Arena bring back that feeling of playing quake 3 arena hours back but in a stronger and funner way. open arena is for anyone who's a fan of quake like fast paced shooters.

TriNecatoR says
9 TriNecatoR

Feb 1st, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Nice Q3-based shooter, but I just like original Q3 much more, although, in modern days Q3 lacks some features and game modes, found in OA. Although, there's Quake Live, but completely stand-alone game is much better than game dependent from browser.

CryaoticAngel says
9 CryaoticAngel

Sep 24th, 2013 1 person agrees 1 person doesn't

It's a very fun game, I enjoy it.

Community Rating

Average

7.7

419 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.