How long can you survive the post-apocalyptic wastelands of NEO Scavenger? In the near-future, supernatural activity and human warfare have fragmented mankind into pockets of civilization struggling to survive in wild and dangerous lands. You awaken alone in an abandoned facility with no food nor water, and only a hospital gown and some mysterious items as clues to your identity. NEO Scavenger is a game where you must survive in the wasteland long enough to figure out who you are. Each turn you must decide where to go, how to scavenge for supplies, and how to deal with anything and anyone you encounter. And with each passing minute, the pit in your stomach grows, your dehydration worsens, your muscles tire, and your body temperature drops in the cold autumn air. Choose your starting abilities carefully, because they and your wit are the only tools you have in the apocalypse!

Review RSS Feed twiggymouse says
8 twiggymouse

Nov 4th, 2012 3 people agree 0 people don't

A very cool rogue-like set in a post-apocalyptic environment. The fighting is brutally tough, but the scavenging aspect can be immensely satisfying.

ds39uuca says
8 ds39uuca

Jan 22nd, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

ill give am 8 for now, when its 1.0 its a 9

what can i say, try the demo, you either like it or u dont

UFO9 says
8 UFO9

Jun 19th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Fun, unique game.

General_Havok says
8 General_Havok

Jun 14th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Really love this game.Its lots of fun even for it being in alpha.A few problems I have with it are things like how you have to have a crafting recipe for basic things.Knowing how to make a campfire,put water purifcation tablets in water,even cook food in a pot.Lack of many sorts of wild animals for you to be able to hunt or encounter that are hostile also is a downer for me.Fights sometimes can take 20-30min (real life) sometimes to which I think is far to long for fighting to the death.

Worrying about food,getting sick,getting poisoned,certain types of injuries such as concussions,bleedings,internal bleeding,breaking a limb,etc are in the game.Freezing,getting hypothermic, and other weather related injuries are in the game.Not sure if there are full seasons in the game I have only seen rain so far.There are far more survival things in the game like leaving tracks,finding tracks and being able to cover your tracks which make it a solid survival game.

Game is still in alpha so many things are subject to change and these things I mentioned are more lil ticks I have about the game.Everything else about it I love and hope to see more content of.For a alpha game to get a score of 8/10 is a good sign for anyone wanting a survival sim.When its no longer in alpha and has fully released I am sure I would re-rate it a 10/10 as far as survival games go.

Cerberon says
8 Cerberon

Mar 19th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

I really like this game, its still in beta of course and its just a taste of what it can one day become.

But still, I keep coming back, even if its just to find another can of soup or to scavenge another shack.

When I first tried the beta I ended up sleeping the next day instead, even if that time was spent with mostly restarts the first 2-3 hours.

Since I've always liked games with depth in the details, I really like just how advanced scavenging actually is with all options.
And post-apocalyptic games has long been a favourite.

Its all about the scavenging, the endless puzzling in your inventory, and the feeling when its all organized and you are rested and ready for another adventure.
For that's what each hex represented, a small adventure in itself.

SterileLion says
8 SterileLion

Feb 19th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Extremly difficult, perhaps too difficult, but everything else about this game is amazing

Cock_Blockula says
8 Cock_Blockula

Nov 4th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

I really want to like this game, and still do to some extent, but it is unbelievably hard and frustrating. Mostly every NPC you meet out in the wild is hostile towards you, and the woods are jam-packed with Dogman (Werewolfs essentially) which are even worse than everything else that wants to kill you. Even with the combat skills, fighting is almost as useless as running away which NPC's (Mainly Dogman) pursue you relentlessly. I understand it's still in Beta and I hope the developer really tweeks the difficulty and combat while making other welcomed additions such as new weapons and items. Other than those gripes, this game is very enjoyable if you like old-school, turn-based survival RPG's.

t1gerdog says
8 t1gerdog

Nov 1st, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

I like this game quite a lot.. I keep running into bugs but that'll get sorted I'm sure.

Hyeron says
8 Hyeron

Sep 26th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

Review based on the latest beta as of 26th of September. :P

I'll usually rate games quite high - I won't buy something I don't support wholeheartedly. NEO Scavenger is something of an exception.

It has a lot of potential, some bugs (no showstopper - so far so good), a fugly interface, and tons of hate (or love, if you like them brutal) to give.

At this time, though, NEO Scavenger has a few things to put you off. Inconsistent art, mixing pixel art with classical drawings. A cumbersome interface. Tutorials that you cannot deactivate permanently (one may argue that it's 1 screen at a time, and concentrated at the beginning of the game, but still slightly annoying). Lack of variety in sound effects, no music. Drawn-out combat. No proper documentation, though it shouldn't be too much of a problem if you take the time to go to the developer's site. Inventory management can turn into a chore. That's for the bad news (briefly and roughly).

Now for the good news. While combat can become overly long and difficult, it's also very interesting and varied, if lacking in the "enemy types" department. There are many moves available depending on the setup, all with their pros & cons, and the log can be interesting to read if you care (hint: you should).

The game also has a truckload of characteristics to define your character, both good and bad, adding a lot of replay value, as if the random world wasn't enough.

The crafting system is the most elegant I've seen in a while, discarding the stupidity of Minecraft while still allowing you to try and be creative with your items AND SKILLS (and that, dear dev, is simply awesome). Plus you can learn recipes in game.

The risk vs. reward system of scavenging is also well thought out. The medication and survival aspects, which will hopefully grow even further, are instinctive and devious (PURIFY YOUR WATER, DAMMIT).

And there's much more to say, gimme more space, Desura.

tl;dr - like survival? MUST BUY. Probably a 10 by release

DarkMajor21 says
8 DarkMajor21

Sep 20th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

Very superb game quite unique and special.

Community Rating

Average

8.9

417 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.