The galaxy is trapped in an endless cycle of extinction. Every 50,000 years an ancient machine race invades and with ruthless efficiency wipes out all advanced organic civilization. They leave behind only the scattered ruins of technology, destroying all evidence of their own existence.

Review RSS Feed Kaonis says
9 Kaonis

May 18th, 2012 3 people agree 0 people don't

The plot is incredible, and the gameplay is well done! A must-have!

Gamingroach says
9 Gamingroach

Dec 28th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

I'm gonna say this but this game was one of the first major Science Fiction RPGs I've played years ago on the 360....I got this game twice on Steam during the Holiday sale and it was worth the 10 bucks..

Gameplay: 8/10

Although most of the time you'll find yourself just walking around and chatting with other NPCs when in noncombat locations like the Citadel...I believe there wasn't much to explore since there was very little featured locations as opposed to what was said by the codex. Apart from this the Combat system was in a okay/good range since I liked how overheating mechanic they done with the weapons...but I find melee combat very lacking and only projectile weapons.

The Bad: Well what really hit a thorn on my side was the EVAs (Extra Vehicular Activities) and Mako....Exploring the planets was a cool feature but I feel it wasn't well done and concentrated to the final product of the game...The lack of interesting locations and horrible Mako controls made planetary exploration limited on my end...only enemies I'd run into would be Bandits and Thresher Maws, Surveying Rare Earth and Natural Resources made exploration short and tedious...I'm hoping they improve this in the future..

Sounds: 9/10

Soundtrack was grand...I love the menu music...and pretty much everything else
from voice acting to ambient sound effects...The major weakness comes from repetitive voice clips played by the enemy when in combat...other than that I don't see any other issues that bothered me...

Background/Story: 10/10

I love how much literature work they've done on the Codex and overall background of the game, as I can remember sitting back listening and reading the codex for hours after exploring as much as I can from completing Missions to Assignments. I love it when games has detailed information of their universe background, it helps alot on creating its own atmosphere after knowing so much from after hours of play...

Marth8880 says
9 Marth8880

Apr 22nd, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Pros:
- Fantastic, intense, deep, thrilling, emotional story.
- Huge sprawl of weapons.
- Thousands of algorithms and choices that change gameplay elements.
- Difficult gameplay, but also not difficult at the same time.
- Gameplay is very immersive.

Cons:
- Aggravating overheating bug.
- Graphics are totally unoptimized.
- Textures seem low-res.
- Music tracks can be buggy.
- Squad A.I. is unintelligent at times.

noian says
9 noian

Nov 29th, 2011 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Some recycled maps is the only downside.

SV7 says
9 SV7

Jul 4th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

It pretty good game but the elevator teleports suck

Nahki5 says
9 Nahki5

Jun 14th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Best game saga

LegionIscariot says
9 LegionIscariot

Jun 12th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

A great game.

You can customize your characters appearance and personality. Level up your abilities and skills. You can be nice or mean.

Good plot: takes place in outerspace, ancient beings are coming back to destroy civilization as they always did in the past and its up to you to stop it.

Great characters, you can even start a relationship with some of them.
Not only are there humans but also aliens.

Great dialogue, there is alot of talking, this game is not just shooting.

Great enemy, this may be the first time in a game where the boss was actually able to make me wonder how am i gonna win, can we actually beat him.

Great conclusion, but its only the beginning.
A great trilogy.

Nwodatek says
9 Nwodatek

May 29th, 2012 1 person agrees 1 person doesn't

+ Epic B.S.O
+ Lots of secondary quests
+ Good character customization
+ 25+ hours of game-play
+ Mature plot
+ Semi-linear game-play

- Chaotic combat
- Sometimes gets repetitive
- Confusing cover system

Rodman49 says
9 Rodman49

Aug 29th, 2011 0 people agree 0 people don't

Mass Effect is the best RPG I have played since Knights of the Old Republic. It is in the same ballpark but certainly not the superior of the aforementioned Star Wars game. It has very engaging gameplay and an A+ storyline and voice cast. The game also looks great and plays smoothly. It does have some minor downsides – atrocious inventory system and some tedious missions but overall is a great game that blends traditional rpg elements and 3rd person shooter mechanics.

Certainly worth purchasing and playing, however the vast improvement of its successor shows that this was not a perfect game.

ajdaman666 says
9 ajdaman666

Feb 16th, 2014

No review provided

Community Rating

Average

9.5

166 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.