Limbo is a puzzle-platform video game and the premiere title of independent Danish game developer Playdead Studios. The game was released in July 2010 on Xbox Live Arcade. Limbo is a 2D sidescroller, incorporating a physics system that governs environmental objects and the player character. The player guides an unnamed boy through dangerous environments and traps while searching for the boy's sister. The developer built the game's puzzles expecting the player to fail before finding the correct solution. Playdead called the style of play "trial and death", and used visually gruesome imagery for the boy's deaths to steer the player from unworkable solutions.

Review RSS Feed Admiral_Skeybar says
8 Admiral_Skeybar

Dec 20th, 2010 3 people agree 0 people don't

LIMBO, A brilliant game! Try the demo, you will not regret it.

PS, if you have a fear for arachnids, maybe you shouldn't play it... Not to mention, many times while playing this game you will remember those, now famous, words spoken by Admiral Ackbar: "It's a trap!"

Snorklefiend says
10 Snorklefiend

Nov 16th, 2010 2 people agree 0 people don't

Fantastic!

Emeldor says
10 Emeldor

May 23rd, 2014 1 person agrees 0 people don't

One of the best indie games I have played and without a doubt damn close to perfect! Amazing!

Maplestrip says
8 Maplestrip

Jun 19th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

I don't think I could really do this great game justice yet - perhaps I should replay it sometime for that.

However, I did want to ask: Am I the only one who found this game too long for its own good? It started out very strong (in particular the spider, but also the other children, the gears and the false ending), but it just went on and on at times for seemingly no reason. Were those anti gravity boxes really necessary? I felt it lost some of its value at that point...

Also, I guess I am also the only one who isn't a fan of the ending? I'm still not sure what they were going for there, but it felt anti-climactic.

Alright, complaints aside, this is a really good game and if you like games with a good atmosphere: play it. The shock horror elements at the start are incredibly well done too. Definitely recommended, but I just felt I needed to balance out what others had said...

AsylumBoundGames says
10 AsylumBoundGames

Sep 8th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Great game with a great concept. I never thought I'd have so much fun falling up.

Nerv3 says
10 Nerv3

Dec 26th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

The atmosphere, the gameplay - simply amazing

Theevina says
10 Theevina

Jul 19th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

Dark, ominous, eerie, complex, quiet, creative, unique, amazing.

naruyume says
10 naruyume

May 5th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

less color, better games? this is win.

Treviso says
10 Treviso

Mar 3rd, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

This game is amazing!
Well worth the price!

oversoul says
8 oversoul

Feb 22nd, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

I guess it was a bit too short for my liking, and I also didn't like the factory theme that developed over time. I felt the game did better in the jungle with the scary things that hunt you. Overall, it was well worth the experience though.

Community Rating

Average

9.1

49 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.