Hard Reset is an action-packed, single-player shooter. Set in a beautifully realized cyberpunk city, it emphasizes over-the-top destruction and gives you a large variety of weapons to dispatch hordes of enemies. Featuring a cyberpunk plot that drawis inspiration from William Gibson, Neal Stephenson, and Philip K. Dick, especially Blade Runner and Screamers. The world as we know it ceased to exist. Humanity is at the verge of extinction, living in the last closed city of Bezoar. Mankind wages war against the machines controlling vast areas of what became the 'Barrens'. Machines want to control and assimilate 'The Sanctuary' a network that holds billions of digitalized human minds. Our hero, Maj. Fletcher, is a soldier of CLN - a corporation combat unit, established to protect the city. Machines are constantly assaulting the walls of Bezoar. Fletcher moves in when Bezoar's protective barrier is breached.

Review RSS Feed irogue says
8 irogue

Mar 18th, 2012 3 people agree 2 people don't

The gothic futuristic type scenery is well thought out, the enemies you face are terrifyingly fast at times and can be a real edge of the seat nail biting moment or two when trying think of the best way to combat them which makes it alot better than most linear shooters.

The cutscene cartoon style while not my cup of tea fits in well with the theme of this game, i think its good the devs didnt spend thousands of hours rendering cutscene movies and instead put the quality into the monsters and other objects etc in the game for an indy company on a much smaller budget than a AAA dev or ublisher they have exceeded my expectations.

Game play wise it is a linear fast paced shooter with a few puzzles along the way and you decide also what items / armor or weapons you will upgrade. The only thing i wish was in this was a Co Op mode perhaps, but given the price and the fun i have ahd in single player i am not complaining ratehr i just enjoyed it so much i would loved to have had an option for co op.

Worth the price, and i give it 8/10

foadiron says
8 foadiron

Apr 12th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Lovely graphics and lots of explosions detract from the awful save system. Small areas though and not much scope for exploration. That won't stop you from coming back to it though because it's satisfyingly difficult.

chihwahli says
8 chihwahli

May 23rd, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

Pro:
- play style depends on the weapons upgrades you choose.
- nice graphics
- very Huge bosses! Excellent!
- cartoon, voiced cut scenes. Awesome.
- destructable structures / items

Con:
- not many enemy types

Cunin says
8 Cunin

Apr 30th, 2012 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

This game is hard to review. Despite the developers wanting to make an old-school game, this ended up not being completely true, mainly because of the checkpoint system and no manual save which can make higher difficulty level more challenging than fun, but also because of the sprint key. They also decided to pick a bad (for me) old-school feature, or lack of, which is the inability to crouch. It feels kinda weird to not being able to crouch when it could save you from death sometimes.

Yes, graphics, this game's best selling point probably. It's simply awesome and certainly it doesn't look like an indie game on this side. It's actually much better looking than many, if not most, of the mainstream FPS games released in the last years.

Gameplay is not bad at all, but the lack of crouching and of a proper save system kinda ruined the fun. The game's also kinda slow for my tastes, and sprinting is definitely not enough as it only lasts a very few seconds.
There are a big amount of weapons, though, which has some interesting alternate fire mode that can cope with the inability of the character to move decently enough to counter enemies, and that's probably the part that requires the most learning in this game, as the enemies are easy to learn.
Being able to use the right mix of weapon and their various alternate modes will be essential in some parts of the game, especially at higher difficulty levels.

The audio compartment is nice, with proper sound effect and a good soundtrack.

Replayability is also decent, to beat your friends' scores in the main campaign or in the survival levels. More content coming soon will make it even better.

So a good game for its price, and that's the main reason for my score (more expensive and I would have lowered it), but the lack of a real multiplayer mode (coop would be awesome) and the sudden end of the single-player campaign while in the middle of the story really makes this game feel incomplete.

Dominhiho says
8 Dominhiho

Mar 28th, 2012 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

It's fantastic to see quality like this without looking at AAA mainstream titles.
It's fun to quickly load up this game and kill some time/enemies.

It does tend to get a bit boring though, that's probably just me not generally liking fast paced shooters like this.

I do think Hard Reset is worth a purchase though, you will get your money's worth!

t1gerdog says
8 t1gerdog

Mar 18th, 2012 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

Wow! I got way more than I was expecting from this game so far. It's got great gameplay/sound fx/graphics.

Shooting the **** out of robots with satisfying chunks and explosions everywhere. Way awesome. I like the upgrade system, remniscent of Red Faction: Armageddons'.

I got this in the St. Paddy's Day bundle and it's definitely the best of the bunch. Think of it as a Terminator style Painkiller.

Leftya says
8 Leftya

Oct 7th, 2013

No review provided

canadianaidan64 says
8 canadianaidan64

Aug 26th, 2013

No review provided

Wolfborn8 says
8 Wolfborn8

Aug 15th, 2013

No review provided

diegol32 says
8 diegol32

Jul 25th, 2013

No review provided

Community Rating

Average

8.5

99 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.