A terminal-based hacking game, following the story of a recently deceased hacker Bit, whose death may not have been the accident the media reports. LAN Multiplayer allows you to go head to head hacking competitively, to compromise the other's computer first.

Review RSS Feed fictitious says
10 fictitious

Jan 29th, 2012 8 people agree 0 people don't

Awesome game

maxovitsj says
10 maxovitsj

Feb 5th, 2012 4 people agree 0 people don't

Very fun game.

Didn't work for the first version, but the updated one works, kinda.

Tried to download the Entropy file, crashed the game :(

Few other problems.
: Alt tabbing returns you to the main menu.
: No save feature

I know it's still in alpha, but I hope those get fixed soon :)

Also, in what language is this coded? I assume C# (seeing the XNA is required). Wish I could help, games like these are so much fun! But it's a lonnnng time since i've used C# :P

Fengshen says
10 Fengshen

Mar 2nd, 2012 2 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

I'm rating this 10/10, because it's plain awesome. I know this game is still being developed and that some shortcomings were to be expected (like alt-tabbing makes the game return to the title screen), but the intentions are there and it plays smoothly so far.
The jokes are funny as well, even though I remembered all of them very well, good old bash.org ;)
Nice trick/joke: open-/closeCDTray brings just that small bit of immersion I miss with most of these hacking simulators. :)


I must admit, though, that I'm stuck right now... I've completed the assignments at Entropy and am now busy with the "Final" quest (or so it's called in the Mail), but whatever I do, I can't get into the mainframe... all executables are nagging about the proxy and some programs aren't completely clear...
For example, Entropy_Induction_Test... What are the required parameters to use it and what does it do? Passing it a port tells you Incompatible Port Number for this Executable and passing it a program (e.g. FTPBounce, with or without port (21)) produces Target Port is Closed.
So basically, I'm stuck :(

Small addition: Why does alt-tabbing bring you back to the main menu, but are there no other means to get back there? Using the Quit function in the top-left corner just completely closes the game and found no other option to get back to the main menu ;)

Korywon says
10 Korywon

Feb 25th, 2012 2 people agree 0 people don't

Beautiful game to entertain the l'il beginner programmers!

Jack5500 says
10 Jack5500

Feb 18th, 2012 2 people agree 0 people don't

better than any commercial alternative!

dadey60 says
10 dadey60

Jan 29th, 2012 2 people agree 0 people don't

GREAT GAME MANY HOURS OF FUN ;)

liamadam08 says
10 liamadam08

Jan 30th, 2012 3 people agree 1 person doesn't

this is an amazing game, the aim is obvious, to hack other computers, but there is also a story! the only problem i have encountered is the game crashed for me, then i realised that there a no options to save your game (yet) so i had to restart all over, but that doesnt matter because this game isnt even finished yet so i would expect some bugs, just add a save option please!!! but every second made me feel like i was actually hacking and it made it so easy to learn! (p.s in tutorial explain a bit better where to get the port for SSHcrack.exe because i had no idea until i looked at the locked port. derp)

Kaerigan says
7 Kaerigan

Apr 18th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

A very enjoyable hacking simulator. A tad repetitive, though.

kevinatoranator says
7 kevinatoranator

Apr 17th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Review @ Desura.com

Alonimo says
10 Alonimo

Mar 20th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Very good game, I`ve always dreamed of this kind of fun. Really interesting, enjoyed the every second, but I wish the game will evolve and turn into what we all expect: A freaking huge game with hundreds of hours of gameplay.

I really want more of Hacknet!

Community Rating

Average

9.2

231 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.