Hacker Evolution is a new hacking simulation game, featuring unparalleled graphics and features. You play the role of a former intelligence agent, specializing in computer security. When a chain of events sets off worldwide, leaving critical service disabled, you assume the role a computer hacker to find out what happened and attempt to stop it. When a stock market, a central bank, satellite uplink and transoceanic fiber optics links crash, you know this is more then a simple event. Something big is behind all this, and you have to figure out what is it. You hack into computers, look for exploits and information, steal money to buy hardware upgrades in an attempt to put all the pieces of a big puzzle, together.

Review RSS Feed Teresa_Chats says
7 Teresa_Chats

Nov 6th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Really unique game but doubt if many people would be into it

agylardi says
8 agylardi

Jun 11th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

I thought this game is the same with Uplink (I know you deal a lot with "Uplink" comments :D). But it turns out different. I haven't play the sequels. But I can say that I enjoyed the game.

Even though with some weird feeling towards the trace system for the original scenario. It just doesn't make any sense for me that there is fixed increase for the trace rate on types of action..

But overall it is still a challenging game to be played.

besterich27 says
10 besterich27

Jul 17th, 2011 0 people agree 0 people don't

Everything... Rocks... God...

MikeyTWolf says
1 MikeyTWolf

May 30th, 2011 1 person agrees 1 person doesn't

This game is simply annoying as hell, at least vanilla anyway.

Tutorial utterly fails to explain any game mechanics or give any advice, the first level is unplayable without ******* googling a solution as if it's a puzzle with only ONE solution, that must be done in a very specific sequence of actions.

The global trace system makes no sense, which only makes it more rediculously difficult. This is on the EASIEST difficulty, and all about I can do is steal one log file from the first level and upload it. Then I have no money, no hardware, no servers to bounce, the computer "forgets" passwords, one found in the log file is too short, and the global trace meter is just too damn high to hack anything (you start half full anyway, WTF is that about?).

Oh, and the story is awful. Packets of data causes holes in space/time. LOL

Meanwhile I only got bored with Uplink because I got lucky and stole over a million in credits, bought all the best hardware and software and ran out of story missions to do. But that game feels like it does so much better than this, even though it did devolve later on to a repetitive use of casual mouse-clicking and the occasional unfortunate completely broken randomly generated LAN systems.

I hate to say it but I guess I had more fun playing some random free-to-play browser based hacking game I played a long time ago, simply because A) it had persistent gameplay beyond a single handful of tasks and B) had the premise of co-op/competitive multiplayer thrown in.

If only I could find a hacking game that had the user friendliness of Uplink, a bit more complexity and some multiplayer I'd be happy. This game offers none of the first, none of the third and plenty of the second but in a boring linear fashion. Good thing it was only £2 for me.

PS. Oh wow, I'm the ONLY reviewer on this game? Though there is 14 votes and more than half give rediculously high scores (as you'll find on any game here on Desura, which is what I dislike about it sadly)...

Rlear says
9 Rlear

Dec 24th, 2013

No review provided

daltonhoyle5 says
8 daltonhoyle5

Nov 27th, 2013

No review provided

Ac1dCor says
8 Ac1dCor

Nov 13th, 2013

No review provided

ERA5005 says
10 ERA5005

Feb 11th, 2013

No review provided

tdlab says
7 tdlab

Jan 29th, 2013

No review provided

SenorGrande says
9 SenorGrande

Jun 19th, 2012

No review provided

Community Rating

Average

7.8

28 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.