What does the American dream mean today? For Niko Bellic fresh off the boat from Europe, it is the hope he can escape from his past. For his cousin, Roman, it is the vision that together they can find fortune in Liberty City, gateway to the land of opportunity. As they slip into debt and get dragged into a criminal underworld by a series of shysters, thieves and sociopaths, they discover that the reality is very different from the dream in a city that worships money and status, and is heaven for those who have them and a living nightmare for those who don't.

Review RSS Feed arieas says
9 arieas

Feb 19th, 2012 3 people agree 0 people don't

One of the best GTA's so far.
I was playing the missions more than messing about, as I felt there was not too much do in between them, but exploring the city was fun, evading the police and doing the police jobs etc from time to time after accessing the different parts of the city.
Money, like the previous games, seemed too easy to acquire. I had thousands and nothing to really spend on very early in the game or throughout.
Dislike the dating and constant nagging from people calling to go out, while they do have benefits eventually, be better if they did not call you quite as often, the responsibility would ideally been yours.

The missions were not too difficult, though the finale in the air was somewhat difficult with the mouse control.
The atmosphere is much more immersive, and the physics and interaction of vehicles was very enjoyable, it made crashing not so bad, and even quite enjoyable at times for really big pile ups.

It only leaves little to do after you complete the game, as pretty much you only earn money it does not really offer much drive to do any odd-jobs. Whereas previous GTA games you could earn the best cars or weapon pick-ups at your safe houses.

I will have load it up again and replay through with some major mods.

Armydude says
9 Armydude

Nov 4th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Fantastic game however it has very high system requirements so you need a good PC if you want to play the game with decent FPS.

Crystar5000 says
9 Crystar5000

Aug 12th, 2011 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Grand Theft Auto 4 is a game that shows the reality of our world. Hidden beneath the various different life-risking jobs you are forced to do in order to make a living,is the meaning of a struggle in today's world. Grand theft auto also shows players moral values such as being in position to kill someone for money or kill the damn employer yourself. Liberty City also closely resembles New York - from Brooklyn,to queens to the various landmark and company resemblences. Whoever says,Grand Theft Auto is just about shooting and running from cops has no sense whatsoever.

Dejson says
9 Dejson

Aug 7th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

It's GTA.What else to say??

justinpatrick1011 says
9 justinpatrick1011

May 1st, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

GTA 4 is a almost perfect game, but GTA 5 is the best and perfect.

The story is almost like a drama, but i almost spent time on free roam always, the cover system unlike in its rival Saints Row and its prequels. The vehicles are some kinda like in 2001 because there are few sports cars, and the Infernus is a great replacement to be replaced as a modern sports car such as Gallardo, and when Roman says that you cannot cross the bridges in the early game this is due to 9/11!!

I recommend you to mod this game to enjoy with! The graphics are ok to me but it will be good when you use ENB Series, it will be outstanding and a (almost) perfect views!

Some say that aircrafts should be pilotable in the game but the map is small for it, but no offense if you hated me because of this. :(

The ending is so very dramatic, there are two decisions, one is to make Jimmy to kill Kate or a hitman hired by Dmitri to kill your cousin.

LordPiet says
9 LordPiet

Aug 19th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

It has lots of bug but still a Good game awsome things to do and a realistic storyline

vasiel13 says
9 vasiel13

Aug 7th, 2014

No review provided

systemguy9 says
9 systemguy9

Apr 24th, 2014

No review provided

R2051 says
9 R2051

Feb 1st, 2014

No review provided

humourprince says
9 humourprince

Jan 1st, 2014

No review provided

Community Rating

Average

8.8

255 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.