Game Dev Tycoon is a business simulation game where you replay the history of the gaming industry by starting your own video game development company in the 80s. Create best selling games. Research new technologies and invent new game types. Become the leader of the market and gain worldwide fans.

Review RSS Feed TajjboMan says
5 TajjboMan

Dec 7th, 2013 3 people agree 0 people don't

A disappointing throwback to great management sims like Transport Tycoon or Theme Hospital, but it fails to impress with its lack of depth.

It's pretty similar to The Movies (2005) by Lionhead games, where your main source of income relies on you betting money on projects to earn even more money by exploiting current news events or the mainstream media, while climbing to the top of the charts.
Obviously, this game isn't even close to being as advanced as The Movies, which isn't even that advanced compared to other "tycoon games".

Overall, it's a bare minimun of what I'd expect a management sim would do, and many times feel as a quick IOS time waster. Go play The Movies, instead.

AFellowStalker says
5 AFellowStalker

Dec 7th, 2013 4 people agree 1 person doesn't

The game seems like it will be awesome at first, but quickly proves to be little more but a shallow tease at what could have been better. I don't see the point of reiterating what others have said, but I will say that the entire process of making a game or engine seems incredibly arbitrary, and the lack of any actual diversity in gameplay will make the end stages seems just as trivial and boring as the beginning.

It had some nice points, and it was always fun to imagine my 'dream game (to the limit the game allowed me)' succeeding, though of course it was difficult with the way the game decided what made a good video game. Probably the worst part (and oddly at that) is the fact everything feels so small. You never feel like you're in a huge video game corporation by the end of the game, you only have about eight programmers and around ten other people in various departments.

tdkpetrus says
3 tdkpetrus

Dec 5th, 2013 2 people agree 0 people don't

The game is horribly designed. It's underlying mechanics are way too simple to make a compelling simulation, and work in a sometimes incomprehensible and illogical manner. The tools to properly work on titles are either not present or inaccessible at the stages they would normally be available at to game developers. Pressure builds in a silly manner due to misdesigned systems interaction (workforce management versus results in a stupidly compressed timeframe). If you **** up, you can basically start over, because correcting your mistakes so that they won't hurt you two hours down the line is nearly impossible. The progression is also painfully static. It basically forces you to replay, but doesn't offer any replay value to incentivize this.

Overall, the game feels really horrible. It's unrewarding, the components are slapped together in a stupidly simplistic and obscure box with mediocre windowdressing.

You can get hundreds of current games that have a WAY better value at this price.

trun says
1 trun

Aug 9th, 2013 2 people agree 0 people don't

Game is virtually unplayable after getting to the second stage. Instead of comparing all your games made to your highest scoring game, you should compare it to other simulated companies within the game.

Once you have a smash hit game, there's nowhere to go but down.

wad67 says
1 wad67

Jul 12th, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Terrible Terrible rip of existing titles, achieves little more than sheer emulation of other, much better "Tycoon" games.

***Geroj*** says
4 ***Geroj***

Nov 28th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Simplistick browser java game for price of 9 euro
shallow and stupid, nothing to do with actual game developing
I give it 4 points for no microtransactions

gamedev12 says
10 gamedev12

Nov 27th, 2014 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

Game of the year. I would give this an 11 if i could. This game is so awesome, and It's really shows. I don't buy games like ever, and this one I played the Demo like ten times and then finally bought it and it was the best thing I ever bought. Ten bucks and I got a Steam Key. I've logged like 40 hours on it and I've only had it for a month. Go buy this game right now.

l3tr1xingame says
8 l3tr1xingame

Jul 5th, 2014 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

This game is very addictive. Also nicely simulates a real company trying to reach the top. This game deserves more.

ReallyGoodPie says
10 ReallyGoodPie

Apr 14th, 2014 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

I have wasted so many hours on this and it is one of the few games that actually makes me lose track of time in the real world.

Definitely a game worth buying.

Sir_N says
10 Sir_N

Mar 19th, 2014 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

Spent days playing this game, freaking loved it.

Community Rating

Average

8.2

54 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.