You've patched in to the enemy's security system: get ready to make your plan. Frozen Synapse is the ultimate strategy game: you have full control over your strike team, directing their every movement. At the same time, your opponent is plotting to defeat you. Plan your moves, then hit the "Execute" button: both you and your enemy's turns are executed simultaneously. Bite-size, hardcore strategy with a striking sci-fi aesthetic.

Review RSS Feed doncortio says
10 doncortio

Apr 27th, 2012 5 people agree 1 person doesn't

Thats amazing! Very important tactical game! I like it! But i purchased in a bundle version and i cannot have a CD-key to play online, and the developers dont responding...

kry says
10 kry

Oct 9th, 2011 1 person agrees 0 people don't

I give the 10/10 for multiplayer. Great unique way of playing and the tactics you have to learn make this an exelent game easily worth its price tag.

I haven't played single player much and don't know if I will. The multiplayer keeps me enterntained well enough. For what I have played so far, 7/10 because I'm comparing it to multiplayer and it is so much more interesting to play against real people.

Why are you reading a review of this game when you should already be playing it?

Gn0meSlice says
10 Gn0meSlice

Sep 22nd, 2013 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

Excellent tactical combat game with a really interesting and beautiful aesthetic. The gameplay is great and there are tons of missions to play through, as well as online multiplayer (which is where it's really at). And the soundtrack is probably the best I've ever heard in a game, and suits the style to perfection.

Gorgeous game, good gameplay, a great time all around.

oversoul says
10 oversoul

Feb 22nd, 2012 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

Judging by the many games I have going right now, including a few against some of my closest friends. And also considering that my finger nails are very short as my tense decision time reaction is to bite them. I feel that this game has accomplished all of it's goals and then some. Fantastic game.

Astorek86 says
10 Astorek86

Jan 5th, 2012 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

Frozen Synapse hat ein interessantes Grundprinzip: Nur eine Handvoll Einheiten (Schütze, Raketenwerfer etc.) muss man durch zufallsgenerierte Levels scheuchen. In der "Planungsphase" gibt man den Männchen Befehle, die man ggf. simulieren kann (auch die Züge der Gegner kann man simulierte Befehle erteilen - extrem nützlich wenn man testen will, ob die eigene Taktik aufgehen könnte, wenn der Gegner wirklich so ziehen würde). In der "Ausführphase" ziehen dann alle Männchen (also die eigenen UND die des Gegners) gleichzeitig. Nach 5 Sekunden landet man, sofern eigene Männchen noch überlebt haben, wieder in der Planungsphase...

Das Besondere an dem Spiel ist also, dass alle Gegner ihre Züge gleichzeitig durchführen. Was sich zunächst als "kaum planbar" anhört, entfaltet es schon nach kurzer Zeit seinen Reiz: Wie könnte der Gegner vorgehen? Was, wenn er nicht diesen, sondern den anderen Weg geht? Es macht enorm viel Spaß zu sehen, wenn der Gegner tatsächlich in die eigens geplante Falle läuft.

Das Spiel hat zwar auch einen Singleplayer-Modus, ich muss aber gestehen, dass ich den kaum angerührt hatte. Der große Spaß beginnt im Multiplayer mit menschlichen Mitspielern, in denen man wirklich Freude und Ärger im Chatfenster teilen kann ;) . Überhaupt bietet das gesamte Menü einige Funktionen, die ein wenig an das Battle.net erinnern - u.a. lassen sich Statistiken und Replays von jedem Mitspieler ansehen. Auf Wunsch können eigene Spielfeldschlachten auch z.B. direkt vom Spiel aus auf Youtube hochgeladen werden.

Besonders erwähnenswert ist noch die Musik von nervous_testpilot, der zum Spiel einen grandiosen, absolut passenden Soundtrack komponierte und die zur Atmosphäre deutlich beiträgt.

bedauerlicherweise gibt es keine dt. Übersetzung vom Spiel, sodass man wenigstens rudimentäre Englischkenntnisse mitbringen sollte.

Alles in allem kann ich das Spiel jedem, der auch nur minimales Interesse an Strategiespielen hat, uneingeschränkt empfehlen.

Waffleking says
10 Waffleking

Dec 9th, 2011 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

Simply one of the best indie games I have had the honor to play.
It is also one of the most tactical games currently on the market. I also have to mention that the soundtrack to this game is absolutely gorgeous.

If you like Strategy games or just want to try something new and original, then this is for you! A must buy.

pinguiniv says
10 pinguiniv

Nov 17th, 2011 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

I was waiting for this game for over a year and when I got it... It was one of the best days in may life :D

Dathknight says
10 Dathknight

Nov 15th, 2011 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

Awesome game and soundtrack, for me clearly the game of the year!

icepick37 says
10 icepick37

Oct 28th, 2011 0 people agree 0 people don't

Tactics distilled. the game design here is flawless.

Only quirks are in the level generators not being fair every time. Can ruin a match or two, but not spoil the game.

Have fun, learn from mistakes, and read the wiki for the details on combat. This is a must own.

Gruenerapfel says
10 Gruenerapfel

Oct 20th, 2011 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

Nice indie game!!
Very good for Price.

Community Rating

Average

9.1

192 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.