Thirty-two years have passed since the Lucifer was destroyed. Its reactors were breached causing it go nova as it exited the SOL jump node. Since then the Earth has been cutoff from the rest of the galaxy. A group of rebels, the Neo Terran Front (NTF), have been putting a huge strain on the Terran-Vasudan relations and the new Galactic Terran-Vasudan Alliance (GTVA). Due to a discovery made by the NTF, an ancient device created by the "Ancients," a portal has been opened leading directly into Shivan space. The Shivans from "The Great War" are back and they are pissed off. You, a member of the human "Lost Generation", will have to answer the call to war.

Review RSS Feed AndrewofDoom says
10 AndrewofDoom

Sep 16th, 2012 3 people agree 0 people don't

Probably the best space sim I've ever played. Despite its age, it holds up to the test of time in terms of gameplay.

rapine13 says
10 rapine13

Sep 16th, 2012 2 people agree 0 people don't

Best. Damn. Space-fighter game. Ever!

Rokth says
10 Rokth

Jan 18th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

This is one of my all time favored space combat sims. It's held a place in my library for more than ten years.

rubleep says
10 rubleep

Nov 18th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

When I played it I thought it was awesome. I liked the first one, the second one was better by far...

darthdoull says
10 darthdoull

Sep 20th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

I have played Freespace 2 since I was a little child. I bought this game when it first released in 1999. I started modding it in 2002. It's grown on me ever since. I can still play it today and have just as much fun if not more fun than todays games. There's no space combat simulator that matches Freespace 2. Nothing compares to the reality, excitement, enjoyment, adrenaline rush, and awe of this game's beauty and artistic approach to brutal space combat.

MikeFrett says
9 MikeFrett

Sep 15th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Fantastic Game! Runs great on Xubuntu 12.04.3 and an AMD 6670 GPU.

David_Rose says
9 David_Rose

Jul 4th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

One of the best space combat sims ever made. The game is fabulous, the story keeps you entertained, the graphics are still pretty good today.... and the mods. My God, the mods! If you're a fan of this genre of game and don't already own this, what are you waiting for?

aloysioc says
10 aloysioc

Feb 22nd, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Simply the BEst Sci-Fi, space combat simulation, and required to use the amazing SCP project...

Xarastier says
9 Xarastier

Jan 13th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

I bought & played the original game years ago as it along with Wing Commander, Freelancer & Starlancer were my introduction to the 3D space sims, and still drive my space sim facination to this day I look forward to experience whatever tech & cgi have been added to maintain the original idea.

CharlieOneThree says
10 CharlieOneThree

Dec 9th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

LOVE LOVE LOVE but still not as good as wing commander.

Community Rating

Average

9.4

58 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.