The sequel to F.E.A.R. continues the supernatural suspense story of a powerful psychic named Alma, whose rage against those who wronged her caused her to begin an escalating paranormal crisis that threatens to devour and replace reality with her own. Players will encounter Alma as they explore the city that was annihilated by the cataclysmic explosion of the previous game. Instead of playing as the Point Man, the game's protagonist is Michael Becket, a special forces operator whose squad is sent in to arrest Genevieve Aristide approximately thirty minutes before the ending of F.E.A.R.

Review RSS Feed LegionIscariot says
8 LegionIscariot

Aug 4th, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

8.5/10
A very fun game.

Instead of Playing as the Point Man from the first game you play as Sergeant Michael Becket.

The first problem i had was playing with a new character who also has super reflexes (slow mo). That was what made Point Man unique. But too many people have this ability, im including the FEAR Sergeant from FEAR Perseus Mandate.

But because of how great the game was i grew to like Becket.

The gameplay is good, weapons are good and interesting, the sound is good, the game looks good, the enemies are good and interesting, levels are good, you even use mechs or turrets at some points.
And the plot is better than the first FEAR.

However, like FEAR Extraction Point, FEAR 2 follows a very similar road as the first FEAR.
By that i mean it feels very similar, too similar, right down to squadmates, communications, who dies, when they die and how they die.
So the game is predictable because it follows the first FEAR so closely.

Also, throughout the game you gather 'intelligence': information through text that explain certain things, i think.
I say "i think" because i dont actually read them which is a shame, it would have made the story better. They should have put it in the form of audio diaries.

I think mainly what makes FEAR 2 so great is Alma's obsession with Becket, which also gets me interested in Becket, and makes him such a great character.

Its too bad in the 3rd game he is treated with no respect and they screw it up, what they do to him.
****** me off.

+DLC F.E.A.R. 2: Reborn
Although very short, its also very sweet.
You play as a Replica soldier. Paxton Fettel summons you so he can be reborn in you.

AudioGhostX says
8 AudioGhostX

Oct 31st, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Love this game, it's pretty fun, level design in this game is very very good, graphics are nice, overall pretty fun.

Rick_Dagless says
8 Rick_Dagless

Aug 19th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Most negative reviews I've seen for this game are written by driveling idiots and this site is no different. Seriously, complaining about no walking mechanic in a relatively fast paced shooter? I'm guessing that guy wrote his review during lunch time at the mental asylum. Anyways, if the only thing you liked about the first FEAR was the horror, then yes, you'll probably not like FEAR 2. If however you loved everything about FEAR then you'll most likely enjoy FEAR 2.

The story isn't quite as good but it has its moments and still beats out the stories of the majority of FPSs out there. The AI is noticeably worse but again is still more than you'll usually find in an FPS and on the plus side the enemy doesn't randomly give away their positions by screaming "****". The solid gun mechanics and weapon variety are still there, along with the fantastic graphics and effects and level design. Also the mech section of the game is actually fun and doesn't make you want to stop playing the game forever, like the one in Quake 4.



****

flippedoutkyrii says
8 flippedoutkyrii

Jul 16th, 2011 1 person agrees 0 people don't

FEAR 2 is certainly a great edition to the FEAR series :>

However, the scares are not as intense as they were in the original or Extraction Point, but the atmosphere sucks the player in and the intense firefights are as fantastic as ever, even going so far as to give players the chance to jump into the Mechs we all fought in the first game.

It lacks in some areas, but makes up for it ten-fold in others :)

poshgaloo says
8 poshgaloo

Jul 10th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Nowhere as good as the original, but still a good game.

TheUnbeholden says
8 TheUnbeholden

Aug 6th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

+Level design is fantastic, I mean really good. More games these days need to take some pointers here because I was intrigued to play just to see what comes next.
+Visuals are stunning obviously.
+Gameplay is still fun and fast, never short on ammo, wide variety of weapons/grenades.
+-Story is a bit all over the place but I enjoyed the readables alot. The main storyline I feel is tad stale now that we basically know everything of importance from the first game. I think they should have gone the X-files route. A government funded squad that deal with paranormal threats.. that opens so many options, why has the game been limited to the same town, the same group of 10 people, following the same story?

-Sound to low volume. Apparently the game has issues with 2.0 speakers and headphones because it was designed solely for 5.1 surround sound speakers. So it sends sounds to the center speaker (which does not exist) so sounds that are in front of you are quieter than usual and it sends less sounds to the left and right speaker (a workaround is to set windows sound setup to 5.1 surround sound).

-No lean keys means enemies are unusually hard to fight, they can lean around corners but you can't.
-AI is significantly less intelligent in this installment. The game is still fun but there was alot less resources used for the AI in order to make the game more "visually appealing".

-The original was scary in some moments (but it still had this weird feeling of how the game switches from horror to action), ie knowing that you are basically safe from being killed during the horror moments and knowing that nothing scary will happen during the shooting moments. FEAR 2 makes the scares even more by the sideline, almost bored with it. Actual scary moments that aren't a jumpscare are so few that I can only think of 2 that really had me feeling genuine fear.
-Ending was worse than bad.. it was anti-climactic, made no sense and was just a rather lazy/rushed hacked together mess

SonofX51 says
8 SonofX51

Oct 25th, 2013

No review provided

THRASHness says
8 THRASHness

Aug 27th, 2013

No review provided

RequiemLux says
8 RequiemLux

Sep 29th, 2011

No review provided

DaggerClassStudio says
8 DaggerClassStudio

May 30th, 2011

No review provided

Community Rating

Average

7.9

84 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.