Experience all the sights and sounds of fabulous New Vegas, brought to you by Vault-Tec, America's First Choice in Post Nuclear Simulation. Explore the treacherous wastes of the Great Southwest from the safety and comfort of your very own vault: Meet new people, confront terrifying creatures, and arm yourself with the latest high-tech weaponry as you make a name for yourself on a thrilling new journey across the Mojave wasteland.

Review RSS Feed OrangeNero says
8 OrangeNero

Jan 21st, 2012 2 people agree 0 people don't

Much improved since Fallout 3 which I didn't like much. Now why can't it be less buggy?

Really well done, the world is interesting same with the characters. Guns are also good, look bad but I don't mind it much, and the leveling is fun. The graphics are great especially the textures look sharp, a lot sharper and better than rage and mw3.

Now how to enable that nude patch again hmm...

ALL HAIL THE LEGION! seriously they rock.

Orzie says
8 Orzie

Nov 25th, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

This game served as a small excuse for the work of modern developers and their products. Many of us know that in the present time the majority of games are made and sold with the use of standard business model.

FNV was a really nice dive into the old retro-scifi atmosphere of classic Fallout series. The return to orange gamma after FO3 (which does not fit to Fallout IMO), old Fallout OSTs by Mark Morgan, new vaults with horrible and nevertheless exciting settings, dialog options with similar variety of humor in some cases...

However, as we sometimes say in Russia, if you want to make good for a person, make bad things to him/her instead, and then return the things in the previous state.
When you proceed to the very end, the game tends to be more and more like a post-apocalyptic FPS. The turn-based mode (named VATS here) is suitable and convenient only for fighting with Deathclaws. I even did not manage to complete the game, because I figured out that my biggest interest was in completing side quests, not finishing the main storyline.

The four addons coming in Special Edition can give some more hours of gameplay, but they don't save the game either.

And when I completed them all, and discovered all the locations on the map, I even was not able to start the game from the beginning again, because everything is learned by heart.

Still, I think that this direction for the modern Fallouts is more suitable than this of the Fallout 3.

Too bad we will not ever see Van Buren.

oVCallum says
8 oVCallum

Dec 14th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

ITS GOOD!

Takistaniofficer says
8 Takistaniofficer

Oct 5th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Has lots of new content and references to the original games, but can actually become kind of boring at higher levels when you're trekking through the wasteland with 2 dozen high level guns looking for enemies to kill. It should've brought back more weapons from fallout 1 and 2.

TheUnbeholden says
8 TheUnbeholden

Dec 29th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

Like its predecessor it looks outdated and runs even worse, FO3 was old graphics wise when it came out, 2 years later even more so. Subsequently after its numerous patches its runs decently and you'll find yourself enjoying yourself.
Its story is more interesting than the abysmal FO3's and the environments are more realisticn, the gameplay has many new features (alot taken from the mods we used in FO3 so its nice to see developers taking criticism on board literally), like the hardcore mode which adds a "needs" system, good loot (like ammo or chems) being more rare, and fixing crippling injuries require doctor bags and a decent medicine skill. Same goes for the companion system which feels alot more involving, there are some tactics that you can order them to use like be defensive, or stay back, or wait in lie for an ambush but its still pretty bare bones compared to the other fallout games...

VATS still has its lovely slow mo kills, although it has this issue where it does not take into account the effective range of the weapon so you'll find yourself not being able to shoot faraway even though you may have a highly accurate weapon like Cowboy Repeater or a sniper rifle.

Fun side quests and a really beautiful location, Vegas lights and gambling bring enjoyment to those weary of the wasteland.
Although its quite small and not at all as big as Vegas should be, so in that sense the game suffers from the same issue the original had... the level design is lack lustre in cities.

I recommend playings with mods as this really gives the game a lift to greater heights.

+Visuals
+Voicework
+Side quests are more entertaining than before
+DLC don't add as much as I would have liked, but the main character of Lonesome road is so interesting it makes up for it.
+Modding support
-Ending is still rather lame, and prevents you from playing anymore
-Buggier than FO3
-New Vegas location isn't as big and pretty as I expected

☭Evanp☭ says
8 ☭Evanp☭

Aug 18th, 2011 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

pretty great but.
everything is to strong (I shot a gun in the head point blank and nothing happened)

Two litte mutants can drain you health faster then you can say "I'm Dead!"
You can't see anything past two feet.
NPCs attack you when you can't see them.

It would be fun if it more realistic about dammage to NPCs. Or maybe a little like S.T.A.L.K.E.R

Derb says
8 Derb

Jun 22nd, 2011 0 people agree 0 people don't

I waited until the price dropped to twenty dollars to buy this game, thinking it would disappoint me like Fallout 3 did. I'd heard of bugs making the game a nuisance to play, and that scared me off for a while. But from the time I awoke and saw "Doc Mitchel"s wrinkled face, the game was amazing. It was like Fallout 3 in the sense that the title had "Fallout" in it and that once again your goal is to find someone. Other than that, the game was original, and set to be a hit. The conversations choices were, like always, often humorous, and fun to do. The decision making, seemed to actually make a difference in the outcome of the game. Ive played it through twice and on my third play through i am still finding things i hadn't noticed before. From start to finish Fallout: New Vegas will keep you entertained with eye-candy, action, and a great sense of humor.

Pros: New story, new weapons, more ares to explore, more things to kill, more action-per-step than Fallout 3, more creative characters, more in-depth quests.

Cons: Often buggy, Iron-sights were obviously done hurriedly for its early release(if you play you will see what i mean), no upgrade in graphics that i can see.

Firepunk says
8 Firepunk

Apr 27th, 2014

No review provided

Sarge198 says
8 Sarge198

Nov 30th, 2013

No review provided

gagetf says
8 gagetf

Nov 1st, 2013

No review provided

Community Rating

Average

9.3

190 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.