Vault-Tec engineers have worked around the clock on an interactive reproduction of Wasteland life for you to enjoy from the comfort of your own vault. Included is an expansive world, unique combat, shockingly realistic visuals, tons of player choice, and an incredible cast of dynamic characters. Every minute is a fight for survival against the terrors of the outside world – radiation, Super Mutants, and hostile mutated creatures. From Vault-Tec, America’s First Choice in Post Nuclear Simulation.

Review RSS Feed Quogu says
9 Quogu

Dec 23rd, 2010 6 people agree 0 people don't

I have to give credit where credit is due, and Bethesda are to be congratulated on making a worthy follow up to the first two classic Fallout games, with more content in the vanilla version than you could shake a Radscorpion tail at, and especially for making it immensely modifiable, increasing the time I've spent with it from the dozens of hours to the hundreds.

That being said, Fallout 3 is arguably much more than the sum of its parts. From the mediocre game engine with its endless bugs, some of which are glaringly obvious, others game breaking, to the characters who all look like they've been beaten with the stupid stick, to the overpriced DLC that replaces the game's pathetic ending with a proper one, it doesn't sound, on paper, like a fantastic game. It's only when all the constituent parts come together that the true brilliance of the game shines through.

Fallout 3's main strength is the how it manages to capture the player's imagination, and throughout the many hours you'll undoubtedly play Fallout 3, it never lets up on the hold it has on you. It's utterly believable and engrossing, and even the most horrific of bugs don't often manage to break the spell. It's astounding how easy it is to forgive games for their many glaring weaknesses and faults when they're this much fun, as - I certainly hope - fun is what gaming is all about, and that's exactly what Fallout 3 is.Hours upon hours of fun.

Everything in Fallout 3, from exploring the wasteland tackling one of the many quests to hitting Mole Rats with a stick that makes them explode, is a delight. You want to explore the Capitol Wasteland because you're genuinely interested in learning more about it, you care about its inhabitants. This is a true role playing game, in that you feel like a real wastelander, and everything you do in game reflects that.

This is, in short, what makes the game worth playing. Its endless charm and personality more than compensate for what it lacks. Kiss your free time goodbye.

Pathartis says
9 Pathartis

Nov 13th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

A nearly perfect game, my only complaint is the amount of bugs

Gamingroach says
9 Gamingroach

Dec 18th, 2011 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Just beat this game a few days ago on the PS3. Apart from the great open world this game is, I hate the fact that after beating the game, you can't continue unless you get the Broken Steel DLC. Also theres lots of annoying bugs even in the patched version that can get in your way.

Great game overall, otherwise I'd give 10/10 if it had less bugs.

I'll be buying this game again for PC just to mod and mess around :3

newnowmusic says
9 newnowmusic

Sep 6th, 2011 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Having grown to love open world games over the past few years as they infiltrate the gaming market, it was only a matter of time before I found the glorious dereliction that is fallout 3.
The sheer size of this game in its playable map and gaming hours is close to unsurpassed. Having never been a fan of RPG's, fallout combines the skill level, NPC interaction and attribute sorting elements of a solid role player with the first hand combat and interaction of an action-shooter, providing gamers with a myriad of ways to play.
You begin life (and I mean begin from birth) in Vault 101, an underground bunker designed to protect pockets of humanity from the dangers of the Washington DC wasteland left to rot since the last nuclear war 200 years ago.
When your father goes missing and leaves the safety of the vault it is up to you to scavenge the desolate landscape outside the vaults enclosure to find your father. This is done through a series of quests which constitute the main body of the game, while other random meetings with nuclear survivors provide a myriad of additional side missions in which you learn more about life in the Capital Wasteland and the people who are claiming the last vestiges of humanity out in the ruins.
As well as human survivors, there are dozens of other factions all vying for their grip on what's left to be had since the war. Hulking, Shelley inspired super mutants, Slavers, Raiders, The enclave and The brotherhood of steel all provide insight and danger in your exploration of the desolate landscape.
Aided by your pip-boy, a wrist based navigation computer you progress not just through plot but also as a character, learning various skills and traits which will lead you to not only survival but eventually to become a Legend of the wasteland.

Nikolai_Svyslotskiy says
9 Nikolai_Svyslotskiy

Dec 10th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

The game is a blend of addictive gameplay, smart postapocalyptic sci-fi plot, great voiceacting, amazing graphics and much more. Game to proudly remember for centuries as a big humanity's achievement.

DEAD_FiSH says
9 DEAD_FiSH

Sep 30th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

I thought I was a fool for bashing this game. I regret the fact that I didn't want to try this game.
This is still Fallout, and it's still pretty darn good!
Is it "Elder Scrolls with guns?" Well, yes and no. As I said this is still Fallout. Character creation, perks and all that stuff. It's all back! Plus the creepy ambiance and humor. It's a win win from almost every angle!
I do however have some issues with it. Like with that intro!
While the idea of life in the vault is nice, it can get tedious if you ever decide to try another route, or just wanna experiment. Truth be told Temple Of Trials in Fallout 2 wasn't a warm welcome either after a while, but it was shorter.
I also don't like the fact that you must take training before you can use power armor.
You better get used to combat, it's like a FPS (somewhat). Think of it as Tactics in first person. It's fun and blowing off heads (while gibs fly everywhere with blood) is awesome.
Megaton is F3's Junktown. And the character I instantly fell in love with is Moria Brown. She's insane!
Overall it's insanely good! It's got that Fallout spirit going! And there's player choice, much like in the original!

I forgot to add for music. It was done by Inon Zur, same guy who did music for Fallout Tactics. In short, it's full of win! If you didn't hired the man, the legend Mark Morgan of course.

JustACoolGuy says
9 JustACoolGuy

Sep 10th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Really cool enemies, and environment. The mix of rpg and fps was pretty awesome.

LegionIscariot says
9 LegionIscariot

Apr 29th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

I love this game.

Growing up in a vault, all hell breaks loose and you take your first steps out into the world.

The Lone Wanderer from vault 101 they call you.

A big world to explore and alot of fun to be had.

You are equipped with the Pipboy, one of the coolest gadgets in gaming, really helps this game be even more fun.

Good or evil, you choose your path.

Marzio99 says
9 Marzio99

Apr 7th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

It have a well-constructed plot, monsters are quite interesting, but it is the same story of Oblivion, arrived at the highest level starts to get bored. But making the comparison between Fallout and Oblivion i prefer the second.
(The DLC's are too short)

Starfishes says
9 Starfishes

Oct 10th, 2012 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

So difficult that only the word "Unfair" comes to mind when playing this. The graphics were amazing for their time and still hold fairly well, this game is perhaps one of the hardest, second only to Super Meat Boy.

There are loads of problems with it in terms of bugs, I got smacked by a super mutiant and become one with the geometry but that aside an enjoyable experiences. It's biggest problem is it's fanbase.

It's too far up its own arse, well the community is anyway.
It's not the worst game I've played but this doesn't crack my top 10.

Community Rating

Average

9.3

458 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.