A classic role-playing game experience that will take you across massive outdoor environments and deep into sprawling dungeons as you seek to uncover the mystery of who – or what – you are.

Review RSS Feed llewmawr says
10 llewmawr

Jan 3rd, 2012 3 people agree 1 person doesn't

Outstanding RPG, #1 for Linux! It's even better that I can support a local (Indianapolis) company by playing the game. I wish more quality games would be released with native Linux support.

Eschalon Book I features many hours of exploration, character development, and fun. With many character options and quest threads the game may be played and replayed.

hero1900 says
10 hero1900

Dec 16th, 2011 2 people agree 1 person doesn't

this game is a fantastic game for me

rufferson says
10 rufferson

Jul 19th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

I was nursed by homm & ultima (in respect to this game) in my youth and not a bit disappointed with my purchase.
The game is really fresh breath of the old air. It is a perfect representative of its genre. Absolutely nicely balanced, vintage looking, i just play it with my highest attention. I suspended even my new flirts with space RPGs.

crazysciencebloke says
6 crazysciencebloke

Mar 6th, 2013 1 person agrees 1 person doesn't

I generally like turn-based RPG's and Eschalon not only falls into the category, but it also has a number of other things going for it. The fact that enemies move at the same time as you choose to move means that the game can be as fastpaced or as slow as you want. Character customisation is great and really let's you create the character you want to play, including choosing a class, statistics, skills, a background and a religion (or lack thereof) and all of these choices make a difference.

The main problem with the game is that since you only control one character, you have very limited options in combat, which means that strategic thinking doesn't play a major role in gameplay. Instead I found myself killing a few enemies, running away if necessary, resting, killing a few more enemies and so on. More strategic options and challenging battles which couldn't be beaten by taking a few enemies out at a time and then running away would have made the game more fun.

Toyotame says
9 Toyotame

Dec 4th, 2012 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

Great game! Great setting, interesting plo, nice and smooth firghts, very flexible RPG .
But have only one bad point - 800x600 resolution

alexbel says
10 alexbel

Mar 23rd, 2012 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

Awesome game!

norolim says
8 norolim

Feb 9th, 2012 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

An excellent classic RPG featuring a realistic skill system, interesting story, diverse world and above all challenging gameplay. If you are tired of pseudo-RPGs that limit your experience to repetitive A button pressing and want character customization, inventory management and freedom of exploration back in your role-playing, Eschalon: Book I is a must buy.

textpainter says
10 textpainter

Jan 1st, 2012 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

Excellent game.

flatage says
9 flatage

Dec 18th, 2011 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

good oldschool stile

kenoxite says
9 kenoxite

Feb 25th, 2014

No review provided

Community Rating

Average

8.9

37 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.