You should have acted. They're already here. The Elder Scrolls told of their return. Their defeat was merely delay until the time after Oblivion opened, when the sons of Skyrim would spill their own blood. But... there is one they fear. In their tongue he is Dovahkiin; Dragon Born!

Review RSS Feed Estiahn says
8 Estiahn

Feb 15th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Really cool mods !!! makes Skyrim more fun if you get bord of the DLC's ore gameplay

TheUnbeholden says
8 TheUnbeholden

Feb 9th, 2013 1 person agrees 1 person doesn't

Improvements: Graphics, Physics, AI, Combat seems alot more visceral and interesting, Superflous Class system so that you can naturally grow your character then being constrained to some predetermined skills.

Dumbing Down:
Out of the box magic is really limited and frankly poor by RPG standards set in the past,
Complete ripping apart of the alchemy,
removal of certain skills like without athletics/acrobatics there is no way to increase running speed or jump height,
Removal of attributes so that we cannot make our character stronger in certain ways rather it makes broader changes to your character and removes a element of roleplaying,
Handholding... you can't fail any quest, theres no disadvantages for joining a faction (so you're not making enemies ect), you make little to no impact on the world so its not dynamic in any way, conversations are heavily reduced so that alot of the depth is gone, and the puzzles are alot simpler then they have been in the past.
The biggest for me though is the handholding for how you get around... in the past NPC's would give you directions on how to get where you need to go punctuated by land marks or road signs and you'd have to use your knowledge of the world to make your way there.
So Skyrims (and oblivions) quest markers and even a quest arrow on the hud ruining alot of the immersion by essentially giving you a medieval GPS device.

I suppose I should mention the blocky user interface but that can easily be fixed so let the real problems speak for themselves.

RumBakats says
8 RumBakats

Feb 6th, 2013 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

Without mods and various community improvements my vote maybe was lower...but i vote what i play so...

CaptainLagfail says
8 CaptainLagfail

Nov 12th, 2011 4 people agree 7 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

Hear me out before the downvote brigade arrives.

This is not Elder Scrolls.

It may be made with the same IP, it may have many similar attributes, but this is NOT Elder Scrolls.

The graphics are beautiful, the soundtrack is half new and half ripped directly from Morrowind. Unfortunately that's all they took from Morrowind.

What I loved in the older games (Oblivion included) was the sheer freedom afforded to the player, especially in the silly spells you could come up with. You could do anything in Morrowind. Oblivion dumbed it down quite a bit but there was still something good there.

Spellmaking is gone. 90% of everything outside of destruction has been simply removed. Gone.

There are about 80 spells left in the game, total. Half of which are just destruction spells (damage stuff) and half of the rest are restoration spells (heal stuff). There are one or two conjuration spells and the rest simply cast lights on the walls.

The lore has gone way too dark. High Elves have gone from snarky westerners to cloaked nazis. The blades are nearly all dead. The only decent sized city in Skyrim is destroyed. Morrowind was apparently blown up by a flying city, a rock and Red Mountain going up. There is no respite from the grey color scheme anywhere.

It's too damn depressing.

Weapon smithing has been added, but it seems in a form directly ripped from Nehrim, and then somehow made worse for the hell of it.

Sneaking is no longer really useful. Some sneaking missions involve enemies literally LEANING on the ******* door you're meant to go through. I snook past all the other guards, snook up to the door, the guy there says something about me being at my post then attacks immediately. It seems they designed that mission to only be possible for High Elves.

The game still deserves a high score simply when compared to the rest of the current fare. In comparison to all but Minecraft and Dark Souls it deserves 10/10. But I can't give it that knowing what has been removed.

jackraccoon21 says
8 jackraccoon21

Dec 21st, 2014

No review provided

Moein-Fathinia says
8 Moein-Fathinia

Jun 26th, 2014

No review provided

krewoldt says
8 krewoldt

Dec 19th, 2013

No review provided

c0ncho says
8 c0ncho

Jun 19th, 2013

No review provided

Android818 says
8 Android818

May 1st, 2013

No review provided

zorist says
8 zorist

Apr 28th, 2013

No review provided

Community Rating

Average

9.4

379 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.