Dwarf Fortress is a single-player fantasy game. You can control a dwarven outpost or an adventurer in a randomly generated, persistent world. The world is randomly generated with distinct civilizations spanning over 1000 years of detailed history, dozens of towns, hundreds of caves and regions with various wildlife. Command your dwarves as they search for wealth in the mountain. Play an adventurer and explore, quest for glory or seek vengeance. Extended ASCII character set rendered in 16 colors (including black) as well as 8 background colors (including black). Although Dwarf Fortress is still in a work in progress, many features have already been implemented. Please post all support issues in the forums for the game.

Review RSS Feed Nathant18 says
1 Nathant18

Aug 30th, 2012 0 people agree 11 people don't

Didnt understand the game at all, the loading of the game was to slow.

TamElbrun says
1 TamElbrun

Aug 30th, 2012 0 people agree 11 people don't

i can't stand ascii graphics. i was hoping there was a way around them, but i guess not.

triboost says
1 triboost

Apr 29th, 2012 0 people agree 20 people don't

this game gave me 13!!! trojan horses

awesomeman2424 says
1 awesomeman2424

Mar 13th, 2012 0 people agree 19 people don't

this game sucks

l0rdmuffin says
1 l0rdmuffin

Mar 13th, 2012 0 people agree 16 people don't

I Couldnt run it, I Didn't Know what to do.

LSWolf says
1 LSWolf

Jun 21st, 2012 1 person agrees 14 people don't

I need to point out first that this review is a mix of fact and opinion. I understand not everyone will agree with my "whinning" but I felt a need to do so.

I have no idea why this game has a 9.5! I downloaded it because it was free and I wanted to get into Desura. I wanted to understand why people gave it a good review, I tried reading some of the review but all I found was people saying it's "awesome and great" game. To me however, this game is unplayable, it's not even a game in my definition! It's hard to figure out what your selecting. I went to the key binding option and spent 5 minutes trying to get out of it because I couldn't see what option was highlighted.

The game states that you use -+ key to change attribute but they take it litteral! I actually have to press shift = to do increments. To bring out ther help option you also have to press shift /. It's unnecessarily making it hard to understand the keys in my opinion.

I know that good graphics don't make for a good game but the graphic interface in this game, makes it extremely hard to understand and get into. I did youtube a video that made trees actually look like trees and your character actually be distinguishable from all the ASCII in the screen but I feel modding a game to understand it is unacceptable.

I guess what really bothers me is that I feel this game may be a hidden gem but it's definately not for casual gamers. I feel it's complexity is high for such low visuals making it hard to approach. In the end it may be a gem but one I feel make will take too much tme to unearth. So I'll do myself a favor and stick with The Elder Scrolls as my fantasy world... even Powder was way more understandable than this!

tunghlo says
1 tunghlo

Sep 28th, 2013

No review provided

reapermanQ says
1 reapermanQ

Aug 30th, 2013

No review provided

primelegend97 says
1 primelegend97

Nov 10th, 2012

No review provided

awettcatt says
1 awettcatt

Sep 3rd, 2012

No review provided

Community Rating

Average

9.4

708 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.