Long ago, the Dark Lord Dredmor was bound in the darkest dungeons beneath the earth by great and mighty heroes. Centuries later, the magical bonds that hold him in place are loosening and his power grows ever stronger. The land cries out for a new hero, a powerful warrior or a mystic wizard like those spoken of in the prophecies of yore. What they have, unfortunately, is you. Step into the Dungeons of Dredmor! Embrace your destiny! Face evil of the likes the world has never known - the terrifying Swarmies, the undulating Thrusties, and the adoreable nest-building Diggles. Wield shoes decorated by the Dwarven Glittersmiths, all of whom have now committed suicide because of their shame, and embrace the joys of destroying giant moustache-wielding brick demons with a mace decorated with tawdry, delicious bacon. While you’re at it, be prepared to die. A lot. In hideous, screaming pain that makes you throw your keyboard out the window. The Dungeons await. Are you ready for them?

Review RSS Feed QuixoticRocket says
8 QuixoticRocket

Dec 13th, 2011 4 people agree 0 people don't

Very fun and funny roguelike.
Pokes fun at other roguelikes and the whole fantasy genre in general while also creating a plausible and solid game out of it.

I also hear rumours of an expansion soon.

cyberkiller40 says
8 cyberkiller40

Dec 23rd, 2011 3 people agree 0 people don't

A newbie friendly roguelike. For an experianced roguelike player it's quite easy and relaxing. The parody part is quite fun ;-).

VirgyLiam says
8 VirgyLiam

Sep 4th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Excellent modding community, good game, fun, highly recomend

monkeynohito says
8 monkeynohito

Mar 2nd, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

As someone fascinated by roguelikes, but -seriously- turned off by the traditional 'leave no key untouched' control interfaces and eye-searing ascii, Dredmor really nails the formula and presents it in a viable format. With all the loot, mobs, crafting, skill sets and exploration, there's a lot of territory to explore too.

The only downside, which could really be more down to personal taste, is the absolutely unrelenting wackiness. It's definitely possible to build a solid character, but a world with the humor permanently dialed to 11 1/2 doesn't exactly provide the most context for a total badass. It's a fun place to die in, but excelling doesn't necessarily give you the most satisfaction. That said, the humor is there for those that appreciate it and is usually pretty clever and well done.

mcnnowak says
8 mcnnowak

Dec 14th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

Fantastic as far as items and skills go. Maybe branching skill trees or something would be nice. The quest system has so much potential. I crashed a few times on Linux but otherwise the game has worked perfectly.

I can't stop playing x.x

fontefrancesco says
8 fontefrancesco

Dec 11th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

Nice game that stayed with me for many hours. nice humor and many reference to lots of classic (and not only classic) fantasy stuff. gameplay can be improved, e.g. making easier the use of the inventory. lovely sense of might when a terrible and almost infinite horde of minions is to be fought and eventually exterminated.

jorlin says
8 jorlin

Dec 19th, 2011 0 people agree 0 people don't

Dungeons of Dredmor is a delightful game filled with humor, sporting a nice combination of Roguestyle Dungeon crawling with skill development.
I love the number of references to books, movies, TV series and games.
The music is very atmospheric, with a bit jazzy feel to it; I really like it. The soundeffects fit right in and can be funny as well.
The graphics ooze fun, but the interface is not always clear.
-Dragging windows around can be a pain. It is impossible to see which part of a window function as drag handle.
-The tooltips of various items tend to overlap with opened windows making them impossible to read.
Another niggle I have with the game is the ratio between the vast number of different standard items available when compared to the number of inventory slots. What can I say, I am a hoarder in roguelikes.
That said, the game seems really stable and offers an incredible amount of fun for your money. Definitely recommended, but can do with some updates to make the experience even better.
I do see updates quite regularly, I was focused on them when I had multiple crashes. After a kernel upgrade, those problems were gone for a moment, so they seemed unrelated to the game itself, but now they are back. Deducting point, but in full confidence that the team will work on this and allow me to restore that ratting.
One point subtraction for a fiddly interface, the rest is solid gold.

Hayst says
8 Hayst

Oct 23rd, 2011 0 people agree 0 people don't

Great for those what should I play moments.

Burzmali says
8 Burzmali

Oct 22nd, 2011 0 people agree 0 people don't

This game takes a decent idea and executes it well. It reminds me alot of Shiren the Wanderer with the humor better tuned to Western Internet audiences but a bit thinner on content. The amount of vendor trash/junk a player acquires in a normal playthrough is staggering. Overall a good game that can be enjoyed by newcomers and veterans of the roguelike genre that needs a hair more polish on the equipment front.

eNTi says
8 eNTi

Oct 15th, 2011 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

fun game and they fixed the 64bit crashes.

Community Rating

Average

9.3

426 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.