Dungeon Prospector is old-school dungeon crawler/roguelike. You're in infinity dungeons (in length and width) full of monsters and treasures. How far can you go and how long can you survive? In game implemented: dungeon generation, leveling, permadeath and other. Right now game in alpha stage, it receives updates with new features and content (about one-two per month).

Review RSS Feed graspee says
5 graspee

Apr 18th, 2013 5 people agree 0 people don't

I'm reviewing the game as it stands now. If it gets better I will upgrade my score.

Issues:
1 When you go into options then back out it resets the size of your screen to small whether you are windowed or not.
2 The option to set controls does not work and the controls are not mentioned anywhere. For other people: **E** is take web or open chest.
When you look at a slime/blob on the floor you get a dotted line at the top of it horizontally.
3 Personal preference but I prefer retro chunky pixel games to stick to retro pixels rather than using polygons for some things as are done here.
4 The dungeon generation algorithm is broken and will frequently generate a level where you cannot get to the stairs down.
5 Thankfully I suppose, given the above, when you go up or down stairs the level is regenerated.

If this were a 7DRL (7 day roguelike) it would be quite good (there were several this year that were this good) but as a paid-for alpha, especially when the author's twitter has a message in the past saying he is going to stop working on it, well...

Toyotame says
3 Toyotame

May 19th, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Unfrtunately, this game is very very raw in current state. You just exploring maze with no goal untill you die.
Feels more like tech demo, then game, I hove it will be improved as times and developement going but for current state...

foadiron says
3 foadiron

Apr 20th, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

I'm glad this game is still being worked on because in its current form it is frustrating and pointless. All you do is walk around a largely empty map hitting the same few monsters until you die. There doesn't even seem to be a map (although I could be wrong because it doesn't have any instructions).

The combat is awful, just click until they die (you can't even hold the mouse button down, you must click 2-3 times each monster). You can pick a few things up but what do you do with them? There are doors but they are just 'for decoration' and can't be opened. There is a 'load' function but there doesn't seem to be a 'save' function, not even a checkpoint autosave (or maybe there is and I just never found it because I got rather too bored to try).

The whole game feels somewhat ridiculous.

drelbs says
8 drelbs

Mar 5th, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Solid base gameplay, this one is a lot of fun even in it's current (alpha) state!

casimirsblake says
8 casimirsblake

Mar 3rd, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

It's early days for this game, but Dungeon Prospector is one of the few first-person "free-look" Dungeon Crawlers in the style of King's Field or Ultima Underworld. There's not a lot to do just yet, but it is tremendously pleasing to see such a game being developed. Updates look promising, let's hope this game continues to grow!

Exotius says
10 Exotius

Dec 22nd, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

It's cool but it's hard to get deeper. And there's no tutorial and i don't know what i have to do with the stuff which i find in the dungeon like worm heads. After the update there's no always when you go a "rumble" like if you go in real life but it's too strong and it gets on the nerves.

Diazchris850 says
9 Diazchris850

Sep 7th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Reminds me of Daggerfall, but all the good parts instead of the aimless wandering. Brought back good memories.

Gesspar says
1 Gesspar

Sep 7th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

shut

TwiloMancer says
10 TwiloMancer

Jul 21st, 2013 0 people agree 4 people don't

Best Indie ever! EVERYTHING 100%

tapletti5 says
7 tapletti5

Jul 15th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Otherwise good but no music and the price is kinda high

Community Rating

Average

7.3

104 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.