“A deserted island…a lost man…memories of a fatal crash…a book written by a dying explorer.” Two years in the making, the highly anticipated Indie remake of the cult mod Dear Esther arrives on PC. Dear Esther immerses you in a stunningly realised world, a remote and desolate island somewhere in the outer Hebrides. As you step forwards, a voice begins to read fragments of a letter: "Dear Esther..." - and so begins a journey through one of the most original first-person games of recent years. Abandoning traditional gameplay for a pure story-driven experience, Dear Esther fuses it’s beautiful environments with a breathtaking soundtrack to tell a powerful story of love, loss, guilt and redemption. Winner of 2012 IGF Excellence in Visual Art. Supported by Indie Fund.

Review RSS Feed Uppland says
9 Uppland

Nov 7th, 2013 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

9 / 10.
Jag älskar stämningen i det här spelet. Men som har diskuterats i otaliga recensioner är "spel" kanske inte rätt ord, men det får andra fundera över. Du följer ett ganska utstakat spår på en ö, tittar på omgivningarna och lyssnar till en berättelse som kanske har med spelaren att göra. Kanske är det man ser, eller det man hör, en metafor för det andra.

Ett spel i ordets rätta bemärkelse är det inte, det har sagts av flera som recenserat Dear Esther på nätet. Det är en upplevelse. Underhållning för de som tycker att Bioshock Infinite hade varit bättre om det varit mer som Myst och mindre av FPS. Man klarar spelet på en timme, och spelar man om det kommer man få se och höra samma saker. Kanske lägger man märke till någon ny detalj eller så, men i stort är som att se om en film.

Ett spel som appellerar mer till känslor och medkänsla än intelligens och logik. Medelpoängen 8,7 är nog för hög sett till hur pass annorlunda Dear Esther är. Förväntar man sig mer av spel och interaktion så blir man nog besviken och ger det ett lågt betyg.

"Come back".

Robbin505 says
9 Robbin505

Aug 10th, 2013 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

I'm not sure why the game makes me constantly start over, if I could play it more episodically I think I would like it more. It appears that there is a system supposed to be in place but I always have to start over. Now to the good stuff. I feel that games are so stuck in this model of player choice and instant reward that people forget that a story told without anything but the ability to explore is just as viable. I'm tired of most action games, I have a hard time differentiating one shooter from the other anymore. I'm sick of retrieval quests with the only break in the monotony being waves of enemies to gun down. Life is an experience and I think games should be too. This is probably the most interesting medium for story telling around yet so often it only serves to grease the palms of large corporations. This is one of the most refreshing experiences I've had the pleasure of taking part in. I'm sure this isn't most peoples cup of tea but that's why I'm here at Desura instead of Steam or Origin or Uplay. I don't want run of the mill, I want exceptional and this game delivers.

kevinbeynon says
9 kevinbeynon

Jun 13th, 2013 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

An amazing experience that had a profound emotional impact on me. This beautifully crafted game pushes the industry forwards and should be on everyone's must-play list.

ENP says
9 ENP

Jun 1st, 2013 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

Excellent crafting in both audio and visuals

KooBlu says
9 KooBlu

May 2nd, 2012 0 people agree 3 people don't

I won't re-hash what others have said RE: Dear Esther. How you experience the game will be unique to you. What I CAN say is that for myself, Dear Esther has been an experience like no other: I found it by turns calming, eerie and quiet - the perfect alternative to first-person shooters and other violent computer games. If you're willing to keep an open mind about what a PC game "should" be, and you want to unwind, I recommend Dear Esther.

oversoul says
9 oversoul

Feb 22nd, 2012 4 people agree 4 people don't

Stunning. Not a great deal of innovation over the mod though, so I couldn't give it a perfect score. But this is my new "chill" game.

Hayst says
9 Hayst

Feb 14th, 2012 3 people agree 3 people don't

If you were a fan of the mod I would consider getting it. It has an obvious graphical upgrade and more dialogue. It's very much a remake.

If you havn't played the mod , I highly suggest playing this. This is particularly true for people who want some originality in games.

WARNING: There is very little gameplay. The focus is very poetic and metaphorical. <highly atmospheric.

starfleet86 says
9 starfleet86

May 18th, 2013 1 person agrees 2 people don't

This game is amazing.

I played only one session and beat the game. It definitely is short, but the narrative is amazing. It confused me at first, and I am still wondering. I am not going to give spoilers, but this is a hell of a game. The storytelling is one that is not clear, but gives clues. I pieced together the information to figured out what happened, which makes this possibly the best story a game could have that I've played. It was very compelling and moving, and I got tears in my eyes when I first pieced it together.

The graphics aren't the best, but that does not ruin the atmosphere of the game. The only difference between this and the mod is the graphics and (I think) part of the ending. There was no extra voice-overs (from what I know).

The voice acting was great.

All in all, this is a much have. There is so much to learn in this, and I don't think I discovered them all. I just had a wonderful time with this game. Sure, this game isn't for all, but for those who are in love with story telling and some story puzzles and clues, it is an amazing "game".

gazornonplat says
9 gazornonplat

Jul 29th, 2012 1 person agrees 3 people don't

I can't recommend this to everyone, and it's not without flaw, but this is quite easily the best written and most narratively innovative game I've ever played.

You guys took a significant risk by doing something so different, and as such there are a few small flaws, such as parts where I wasn't sure whether falling down a hole would kill me or not, but that doesn't detract from the fact that this is a wonderful, wonderful experience.

Thank you.

Res1 says
9 Res1

Feb 14th, 2012 1 person agrees 4 people don't

A beautiful and engaging experience! with beautiful visuals and an amazing well written storyline. My only complaint would be (even though I understood everything) is that the mod requires quite a skilled english vocabulary to understand most of the storyline which can be bad as not all of the players will be able to understand everything, causing confusion and issues with certain buyers.

Overall I recommend this to anyone who wants a unique and engrossing experience that will stick in your head for a long time.

Community Rating

Average

8.2

164 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.