“A deserted island…a lost man…memories of a fatal crash…a book written by a dying explorer.” Two years in the making, the highly anticipated Indie remake of the cult mod Dear Esther arrives on PC. Dear Esther immerses you in a stunningly realised world, a remote and desolate island somewhere in the outer Hebrides. As you step forwards, a voice begins to read fragments of a letter: "Dear Esther..." - and so begins a journey through one of the most original first-person games of recent years. Abandoning traditional gameplay for a pure story-driven experience, Dear Esther fuses it’s beautiful environments with a breathtaking soundtrack to tell a powerful story of love, loss, guilt and redemption. Winner of 2012 IGF Excellence in Visual Art. Supported by Indie Fund.

Review RSS Feed annatorv31 says
10 annatorv31

Nov 5th, 2012 3 people agree 2 people don't

Amazing story,
Amazing graphics,
Amazing atmosphere,
And amazing sounds.
"Dear Esther" stands as one of my all-time favorite game, (along with LBA2 ;)). Apart from the aesthetically pleasing side of "DE", with hindsight it became an enigma, that encounters an urge to decipher...

Held says
10 Held

Feb 19th, 2012 5 people agree 4 people don't

I've already enjoyed the mod and so I had to buy the game. It took me 1-2 hours to play through and I guess it was the money worth. The visual is breath taking and that was the only negativ point about the mod. Now the project "Dear Esther" is quite perfect.

If you support these guys with buying their game, you'll put an example that quality should stand at the top of every video game. Maybe some big will recognize...

yarow12 says
10 yarow12

Jun 14th, 2013 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

An engaging tale that sent chills through my spine at times and left me wishing it would never end.

rogansimanjuntak says
10 rogansimanjuntak

May 13th, 2013 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

Beautiful graphics
░░░░░░░░░░░░▄▄
░░░░░░░░░░░█░░█
░░░░░░░░░░░█░░█
░░░░░░░░░░█░░░█
░░░░░░░░░█░░░░█
███████▄▄█░░░░░██████
▓▓▓▓▓▓█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
▓▓▓▓▓▓█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
▓▓▓▓▓▓█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
▓▓▓▓▓▓█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
▓▓▓▓▓▓█████░░░░░░░░░█
██████▀░░░░▀▀██████▀

INDUSTRIALIST says
10 INDUSTRIALIST

Apr 8th, 2013 0 people agree 2 people don't

Good level design and sound!

Neckromorph says
10 Neckromorph

Feb 27th, 2013 0 people agree 2 people don't

Dear Esther surprised me. When I first heard news of it and what it was about, I partialy knew what to expect. Looking at some of the screenshots I could see that it had amazing visuals and a very somber atmosphere, which is what I like. To some people, Dear Esther isn't a normal game, but more like an experience. Rather than having an objective or some kind of enemy to defeat, Dear Esther tells a story as you walk through the game, and that's it.

Dear Esther has a deep feeling of sorrow and regret. The melancholy story and gloomy atmosphere go along perfectly with each other. It starts off with the character looking for answers, looking for way to be with what he once lost. As the story progresses, he talks of people from his past, jumping from one story to the others. There's a great amount of abiguity, forcing you to try and piece together the story yourself, but that's part of what gives this game it's charm.

For me, Dear Esther truely is a unique game, a real masterpiece. Dear Esther surprised me because I didn't expect such an amazing and beautiful experience to come with it. Definitely one of, and maybe even my favorite game of all time.

KittyBubbles says
10 KittyBubbles

Jan 18th, 2013 0 people agree 2 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

This game surprised me.
Amazing graphics, almost like real life...
A nice storyline, with a unexpected ending.

Razziey95 says
10 Razziey95

Jul 20th, 2012 0 people agree 4 people don't

very scary game

cyberkiller40 says
10 cyberkiller40

Jun 3rd, 2012 0 people agree 4 people don't

Wonderful, marvelous, beautiful... I can't find the proper words to describe this... Game? No, not really - it's more like an interactive book or a movie. But it's awesome, no doubts about it.

Hint: if you liked 'Donnie Darko' or similar movies then get this & play ASAP!!!

mrtootwiggles says
10 mrtootwiggles

May 1st, 2012 0 people agree 4 people don't

amazing/ awesome/ epic/ 3p1c/ just pure awesome
beautiful visual effects amazing caves and beutifully written storyline

Community Rating

Average

8.2

166 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.