“A deserted island…a lost man…memories of a fatal crash…a book written by a dying explorer.” Two years in the making, the highly anticipated Indie remake of the cult mod Dear Esther arrives on PC. Dear Esther immerses you in a stunningly realised world, a remote and desolate island somewhere in the outer Hebrides. As you step forwards, a voice begins to read fragments of a letter: "Dear Esther..." - and so begins a journey through one of the most original first-person games of recent years. Abandoning traditional gameplay for a pure story-driven experience, Dear Esther fuses it’s beautiful environments with a breathtaking soundtrack to tell a powerful story of love, loss, guilt and redemption. Winner of 2012 IGF Excellence in Visual Art. Supported by Indie Fund.

Review RSS Feed PurpleGaga27 says
1 PurpleGaga27

Apr 19th, 2012 7 people agree 4 people don't

This game is not a game and the game length is almost as long as a movie. It's not worth the price tag for such a remake like this and should have deserved watching this through YouTube without the need to walk and play through a boring tale without the usual purpose of gameplay.

ComradeWinston says
1 ComradeWinston

Oct 17th, 2013 5 people agree 3 people don't

Pretty, pretentious and more of a slideshow than a game.

yahgiggle says
1 yahgiggle

Jan 2nd, 2013 5 people agree 3 people don't

This sucks its not even a game why are they even calling it a game who knows its more like a book that your inside you cant do anything but walk around thats it i would give this thing a 0 but i cant it wont let me i think the high ratings are fake

systemguy9 says
1 systemguy9

Dec 29th, 2013 2 people agree 1 person doesn't

Terrible "game" with no gameplay. I can't stand all these dumb hipsters giving it 10/10.

ShouldBeNew says
1 ShouldBeNew

Feb 26th, 2014 1 person agrees 1 person doesn't

The one's that use minus karma on the 1/10 reviews are idiots. This game is nothing! It's just a **** game without gameplay! And not even that. Why should anyone get this? IT IS SHORT! I don't recommend it to anyone! And anyone who is rating this game 10/10, 9/10, etc. is an idiot! The one's who rate 1/10 or 2/10 are telling the truth.

plysek says
1 plysek

Apr 26th, 2012 7 people agree 7 people don't

Total crap and waste of time, basicly a boring map sold as a game. They say it's art, you need to be mature to understand.. ********. There is a lot of games that looks better than this while delivering some kind of enjoyable gameplay were dear easther fails to. Sorry but it's 1/10 for me.

StrifeSilver says
1 StrifeSilver

Apr 26th, 2012 7 people agree 7 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

This is not a game, it's a cutscene

NaturalGlitch says
1 NaturalGlitch

Jan 21st, 2014

No review provided

Super_Searcher says
1 Super_Searcher

Jan 4th, 2014

No review provided

Qwer90 says
1 Qwer90

Nov 30th, 2012

No review provided

Community Rating

Average

8.2

164 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.