“A deserted island…a lost man…memories of a fatal crash…a book written by a dying explorer.” Two years in the making, the highly anticipated Indie remake of the cult mod Dear Esther arrives on PC. Dear Esther immerses you in a stunningly realised world, a remote and desolate island somewhere in the outer Hebrides. As you step forwards, a voice begins to read fragments of a letter: "Dear Esther..." - and so begins a journey through one of the most original first-person games of recent years. Abandoning traditional gameplay for a pure story-driven experience, Dear Esther fuses it’s beautiful environments with a breathtaking soundtrack to tell a powerful story of love, loss, guilt and redemption. Winner of 2012 IGF Excellence in Visual Art. Supported by Indie Fund.

Review RSS Feed PurpleGaga27 says
1 PurpleGaga27

Apr 19th, 2012 7 people agree 4 people don't

This game is not a game and the game length is almost as long as a movie. It's not worth the price tag for such a remake like this and should have deserved watching this through YouTube without the need to walk and play through a boring tale without the usual purpose of gameplay.

ComradeWinston says
1 ComradeWinston

Oct 17th, 2013 5 people agree 3 people don't

Pretty, pretentious and more of a slideshow than a game.

yahgiggle says
1 yahgiggle

Jan 2nd, 2013 5 people agree 3 people don't

This sucks its not even a game why are they even calling it a game who knows its more like a book that your inside you cant do anything but walk around thats it i would give this thing a 0 but i cant it wont let me i think the high ratings are fake

systemguy9 says
1 systemguy9

Dec 29th, 2013 2 people agree 1 person doesn't

Terrible "game" with no gameplay. I can't stand all these dumb hipsters giving it 10/10.

plysek says
1 plysek

Apr 26th, 2012 7 people agree 6 people don't

Total crap and waste of time, basicly a boring map sold as a game. They say it's art, you need to be mature to understand.. ********. There is a lot of games that looks better than this while delivering some kind of enjoyable gameplay were dear easther fails to. Sorry but it's 1/10 for me.

ShouldBeNew says
1 ShouldBeNew

Feb 26th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

The one's that use minus karma on the 1/10 reviews are idiots. This game is nothing! It's just a **** game without gameplay! And not even that. Why should anyone get this? IT IS SHORT! I don't recommend it to anyone! And anyone who is rating this game 10/10, 9/10, etc. is an idiot! The one's who rate 1/10 or 2/10 are telling the truth.

StrifeSilver says
1 StrifeSilver

Apr 26th, 2012 7 people agree 7 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

This is not a game, it's a cutscene

Dune_Jumper says
1 Dune_Jumper

Aug 1st, 2012 4 people agree 5 people don't

Bad game, not because it doesn't have guns or monsters, in fact I thought it would be GOOD for those reasons. I stand corrected. I didn't pay for a two hour game that is just a guy talking in riddles. I payed for a great story that I could really get into, because that's what it was meant to be. At the end all I was saying was "Huh? What? Is it over? What happened?" and to be honest, the graphics are horrible, Sure, it's great for the Source engine, but Source came out 2004, this game was released in 2012 people! If you want to walk around a countryside with good graphics, then get Skyrim. Also it only has two hours of gameplay. And even if it was longer, it wouldn't be any better because there isn't even any gameplay to speak of!
Gameplay: N/A
Next gen graphics: N/A
Anyone who gives this game a score of 7/10 is lying. Anyone who gives this game a score of 10/10 IS LYING. I cannot recommend this game to anyone.

NaturalGlitch says
1 NaturalGlitch

Jan 21st, 2014

No review provided

Super_Searcher says
1 Super_Searcher

Jan 4th, 2014

No review provided

Community Rating

Average

8.2

166 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.