Dawning is a surreal platformer about a stroll through the forest. Originally intended for the October Challenge of 2012, no final release was made, and Dawning was expanded upon in the following months.

Review RSS Feed DevanMist says
8 DevanMist

Oct 20th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

This game runs very smoothly and features a very cool visual style of simplistic graphics, very unique in its appearance. While I'm not into the idea of the "Slender" type monster that randomly appears, this game featured many other little touches like hidden areas to make it stand above the average slender game. I would greatly enjoy seeing a full version of this game made.

limec13cz says
2 limec13cz

Apr 23rd, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

whats the point of game, you keep wallking and cant die? game looks good but is totaly boring.

Ronsn says
8 Ronsn

Apr 14th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

a small Game; a good Idea implemented well. Thx

foadiron says
5 foadiron

Apr 11th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Irritating platformer consisting of endless slogging back and forth through empty locations to get keys for doors that are miles away (assuming it's the right key in the first place). There's also the annoyance of a 'scary' and very noisy creature that keeps appearing to make you jump, but only the first few times and then he just becomes a nuisance. Also, I know it's retro and all that but you'd have to go back over 25 years to find graphics this bad (although they do possess a certain simplistic charm).

AurorusVox says
6 AurorusVox

Mar 24th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

Game was interesting, art direction was nice and the lack of narrative was actually very fitting here. Had my heart beating for the first few minutes. But after that, it failed to frighten and became more of a walking-back-and-forth simulator.

+ Nice concept
+ Nice art direction
- Stops being scary quickly

lfulvipes says
7 lfulvipes

Mar 16th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Not bad, but a little lacking. I really enjoy this type of graphical style, and it made it pretty intuitive as far as what you can / can not interact with.

I think the only real issue is the lack of goal; other than the desire to see it through there's no compelling reason to want to continue. This sort of made going back and forth feel like a bit of a chore. Not that the lack of narrative is an issue - I think it works very well here, leaving a lot open to the imagination.

Perhaps it would help if the slenderman thing were actually pursuing you as opposed to popping in randomly. While it did give a startle, I felt like I would be completely safe as long as I paid attention as I moved.

stinkytaco says
10 stinkytaco

Mar 12th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

The Dev is a cool guy

megadriver says
7 megadriver

Mar 9th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Don't lose your head ...

binarycocoa says
10 binarycocoa

Mar 7th, 2013 1 person agrees 1 person doesn't

I really like the art style and the sound effects match the game very well. It's a casual game and an excellent change of pace from the other games I have. There's also quite a bit of little things to discover that adds quite a bit to it.

JordanUnderneath says
5 JordanUnderneath

Mar 7th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Dawning is full of repetative jump scares, but it has an appealing art style. See my full video review on YouTube: Youtube.com

Community Rating

Average

6

29 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.