Darkout is a sandbox, with strategy and survival components. One of the clearest influences present in the game comes from titles like Minecraft or Terraria, sandbox platformers where the player can build up facilities and modify his environment at will. But in Darkout there are some interesting points that make it worth to look at, starting by the importance that light has in the game. System Requirements -OpenGL Graphics card that can display at least 1024x768 res (Nvidia 8000 series or better) -2 Gig Ram -Fully compatible with Windows XP SP3 / Vista / Windows 7 -Intel Pentium Core 2 Duo 1.3 Ghz or Better -2.5 Gig HDD Space -.NET Framework 2.0 DARKOUT GREENLIGHT PAGE: bit.ly/195QTUS Darkout Gameplays / Tutorials playlist on Youtube (daily updates): bit.ly/155YwGW Darkout F.A.Q.s bit.ly/15A5lxu

Review RSS Feed sturmkoenig2k says
8 sturmkoenig2k

Feb 4th, 2013 4 people agree 0 people don't

Beautyful game.

LexieTanium says
9 LexieTanium

Feb 10th, 2013 8 people agree 5 people don't

Now for some review:

First, expect more awesome updates because they originally asked for $500 donations and ended w. 5000

I created a full game review in my blog that will hopefully give you all enough information to help you guys decide weather the game is for you or not. I included some beginner's tip, breakdown on the game's features and content, I also put their future plans and upcoming contents and work in progress in there, as welll as the retailers you can get the game from and why I think the game is worth paying 14.99.

Here's my blog, darkout had kindly shared it in their social networking sites so I hope you guys find it helpful and useful.

Lexietgamereyeballsgr.blogspot.com

=) enjoy.

ZephaniahGrey says
3 ZephaniahGrey

Feb 12th, 2013 2 people agree 0 people don't

Can't quite give this a 10/10 because it is still a largely unfinished game. Still in what most would call "beta" most of the basic systems are firmly in place, but there's still a lot of work and tweeking to do. On it's own merrits though, it's a damn good game. Fans of Terraria will find a lot to love here, and a lot of new systems, such as researching, and power distribution have been added, making this game a well defined evolution over it's predecessors.

The reason that it at leasts gets that 9/10 is the devs. They're very active with the community, often responding to messages and making appearances on the message boards. They're also still hard at work to make the game better, releasing frequent updates. Simply said, this is a good game that only looks to get better.

The only thing it truly feels wanting of is multiplayer. While I don't think EVERY game should be multiplayer, something about the creative sandbox style just begs to be shared with friends. I won't take points away for what a game is not, but it is something for the devs to think on.

UPDATE: Wow, all this time later and what was a promising, fun, and original game has decended into a developement hell out of which it may never climb. Constant team changes, poor design decisions, and just a lack of clear progress has left this game that I was obsessed with for a good week, in the dust bin. I've tried resurecting my interest in this game several times, but playing just feels like a chore and progress through the world seems uninteresting at best. I kind of feel bad because of my initial love for this game, but now... I can't even bring myself to load it up. Sorry devs, but good luck on digging yourself out of the hole you've designed yourself into. My advice: scrap a lot and rework things. ESPECIALLY CRAFTING.

fluffy-pants-bob says
10 fluffy-pants-bob

Feb 11th, 2013 2 people agree 0 people don't

yep, i just love such games and i really like Darkout. of course it's not a completely review, it's just an opinion but anyway, i just want to thank you for this beautiful game =)

nprussell says
9 nprussell

Jan 25th, 2013 2 people agree 0 people don't

Great concept; great game. Crashes loads though.

PedroKoF says
8 PedroKoF

Feb 1st, 2013 3 people agree 1 person doesn't

I can not put a 9 because it lacks many things and polish yet, but as this looks great, 8 I think it's a good note as this game by now.

Brogggggerrrs says
9 Brogggggerrrs

Jan 31st, 2013 3 people agree 1 person doesn't

A very cool game with tons of ambiance and atmosphere. When it's finished I think it could rival Terraria. I hope the dev's will continue to build on the game's creepy / silent hillish aura, as that's what sets it apart. A tutorial for new players : Youtube.com

Good luck in the darkness!

Mistress69 says
9 Mistress69

Feb 2nd, 2013 4 people agree 2 people don't

A dark moody sci-fi sandbox full of promise.
If you liked games like Minecraft or Terraria you'll likely love this.
Devs are very responsive and patch very frequently.
Well worth your time and investment.

Rbanninga says
10 Rbanninga

Jan 18th, 2013 4 people agree 2 people don't

So far the mood alone has been worth the price of admission. If you like Sandbox games like Terraria and Minecraft with a dash of Limbo then your in for a treat.

pacotaco says
9 pacotaco

Jan 18th, 2013 4 people agree 2 people don't

Good so far. If this gets more polish and tweaking in a good way the rating will go up. I like the lighting and the alien worlds you have created. Thanks for making this game fellas!

Community Rating

Average

8.8

237 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.