Earth, 2019. A team of US scientists makes a frightening discovery on an island in the South China Sea, and all contact with them is lost when the North Korean government quickly seals off the area. The United States responds by dispatching an elite team of nanotech-suited Delta Force operatives, and tensions quickly rise to boiling point. But when a massive alien ship reveals itself in the middle of the island, generating an immense force sphere that freezes a vast portion of the area, the two warring factions must unite, fighting epic battles through tropical jungle, flash-frozen wastes, and finally in the heart of the alien ship itself for the ultimate zero-G showdown.

Review RSS Feed Lenox47 says
7 Lenox47

Aug 19th, 2010 7 people agree 4 people don't

In the video game world, if there is a class apart is the FPS.

Often poorly designed, too often nag and sometimes too vague. And yet, some of them stand out. Like Doom in his time or Castle Wolfestein, Crysis captivated gamers with its originality, but especially by its graphic quality.

Because let's face it, Crysis is nothing more than a technology showcase. Far from being bad, the gameplay is still pretty bland and ultimately it was almost like being cheated. The famous aircraft carrier bug will have made a crisis more ...

Despite this, the innovative idea of Nanosuit managed to cover the major part of the recurring problems of the game:

- The AI is often clumsy, see no logical
- The difficulty, even in the Delta remains one level Casual Gamer
- And the story is just trite and without any personality

So of course we would welcome the quality of Aliens, they would still have to be originals. And I do not even use the engine, just disappointing.

And it is surely the worst point of the game physics engine with extraordinary ability could be exploited much more and yet physics has little interest in the end because very often apart.

However, we congratulate the quality of level design and the soundtrack, be careful and original, it still brings a lot to the ambience. Finally, the sound of aliens are just frigid and that's the charm in the second part of the game

Finally, a game neither good nor bad, but that will not be remembered. However, the engine is simply gargantuan. And on this point, Crytek has hit very hard!


Lenox

juxtapose519 says
7 juxtapose519

Jun 28th, 2011 3 people agree 1 person doesn't

Crysis may have been a technical achievement, but as a game it was disappointingly average. The beautiful locales and crisp graphics were overshadowed by repetitive and uninventive gameplay. There's nothing that really sets Crysis apart from any other shooter. Running through jungle after jungle shooting things is only fun for so long. I got bored after only a few hours and moved on.

Nikolai_Svyslotskiy says
7 Nikolai_Svyslotskiy

Aug 25th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Nice visuals, much freedom. Though has too much stolen ideas to be as special as they say.

SancHardTR says
7 SancHardTR

Jul 6th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Bad:Singleplayer story mode sucks and boring,dont takes lot of time to finish ( for me xD ),Difficulties are too easy.

Peoples are able to use Cheats in game (singleplayer and multiplayer)

Multiplayer is boring a bit.OBJECTIVE IS "GET ALL OF AREAS THEN TAKE NUCLEAR WEAPON,GO TO YOUR ENEMY BASE AND DESTROY IT"

Good:Graphics at last settings,animations a bit,HUD,weapons that can be edited (adding scope chancing it etc by pressing X button),Multiplayer is really better than playing singleplayer story but its not really good too.We are able to drive vehicles like ships(boats),VTOL,Helicopter.

brenosaurusrex says
7 brenosaurusrex

Sep 17th, 2012 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

Even though this game is like 5 years old I only recently got a computer good enough to play it without everything looking like blobs of ****. Considering all the hype that surrounds the Crysis franchise and their creatively named CryEngine, I found the game to be a bit of a dissapointment. The guns were mostly underpowered, and I had more luck defeating enemies using fists rather than a firearm, which really defeats the point of a first person shooter, also considering you're fighting goddamn aliens you really need to be packing some serious firepower. However the story was compelling enough to get me to play the campaign for a decent length of time, before I realised that turning to multiplayer wasn't an option because nobody ******* plays online anymore.

9696ayhan says
7 9696ayhan

Apr 25th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

a solid game with wonderful grapics

cryman says
7 cryman

May 20th, 2011 1 person agrees 1 person doesn't

I enjoyed this game, but I have to say, it was lacking in several aspects. To people who say it is original, I ask, what's original about it, exactly? Sure, it has great graphics, and you can actually see your legs, but what, exactly, is original about this game?

Moving on to more positive aspects of the game, I thought they did a fine job of changing the scenery when it was starting to get too repetitive. However, the game was also very difficult, not as difficult as Far Cry, mind you, but hard enough to give advanced gamers a good run for their money. If you enjoy difficult games, or don't mind dying or running out of bullets fairly often, then you should feel fine playing this game.

The story is shallow to say the least, and it has one too many cliches, but it was still fairly interesting. A few times I wished I could actually affect how the story played out, but then I realized I was playing a FPS, not on the holodeck.

All in all, this was a good game, worth the 7.50 I payed for it. It wasn't as open-world as I expected it to be, but I was glad it didn't constantly lock me into steel corridors that were confusing to navigate. If you enjoy FPSs, get this game. If not, then...look at the screenshots. If nothing else, this is a beautiful game.

chainer8472 says
7 chainer8472

May 11th, 2011 1 person agrees 1 person doesn't

Crysis is just technology demo which don't properly work even on hardware from 2011. It looks good, but you can have some graphic issues like invisible objects. Restarting game works most time.
Gameplay is good too, but you will wring out whole fun in couple of hours. After that it is common FPS game. But at first, it is fun to annoy enemies using suit modes. In quite huge and relatively free to move world is using vehicles enjoyable feature. I mean it is not corridor with invisible walls.
This game cannot be compared with top FPS games due to poor physics engine and common gameplay, but still it is better than corridor FPS.
Classic AAA price is overvaluated, but if you get it for bargain price, then it is good purchase.

lisac2k says
7 lisac2k

Jun 12th, 2014

No review provided

Garyn Dakari says
7 Garyn Dakari

Apr 14th, 2013

No review provided

Community Rating

Average

9.1

773 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.